2. Access to H&C

Nov 2019
Whereas:
  1. In the midst of the largest refugee crisis in history, conditions in countries of origin around the world are ever fluid and can change within a matter of days; 
  2. Conditions in countries of origin which may not amount to persecution may still place individuals in severe hardship (for example, climate-related catastrophes); 
  3. H&C applications are the only applications for permanent residence in Canada in which the best interests of the child must be taken into account;
  4. Canada has a legal obligation under the Convention on the Rights of the Child and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights to provide effective remedies to ensure the respect of these rights;
  5. Persons who may face severe hardships in their countries of origin are barred from accessing H&C applications for one year following the final determination of their refugee claim; and
  6. Delays in processing of H&C applications are leading to more people, including families and children, being removed from Canada prior to consideration of the best interests of the child and other humanitarian and compassionate factors raised by their cases;
Therefore be it resolved:

that the CCR call for people seeking protection in Canada to have access to humanitarian and compassionate considerations at any stage of their legal process following arrival in Canada, and in any event prior to removal.

Working Group:

4. Access to an appeal on humanitarian grounds (criminality cases)

May 2011
Whereas:
  1. Permanent residents who are found to be inadmissible on grounds of serious criminality or organized crime are denied access to the Immigration Appeal Division;
  2. Convention refugees in Canada can be removed for reasons of serious criminality if there is a danger opinion against them;
Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR call for refugees and permanent residents facing removal on the basis of serious criminality or organized crime to have access to the IAD for consideration of humanitarian and compassionate factors.

Working Group:

6. Decision-making on H&C applications

Nov 2010
Whereas:
  1. H&C applications are the only applications for permanent residence in Canada in which the best interests of the child and the right to family unity are taken into account;
  2. Canada has legal obligations under the Convention on the Rights of the Child and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights to provide effective remedies to ensure the respect of these rights;
  3. Delays in processing of H&C applications are leading to more and more people being removed from Canada prior to the examination of pending H&C applications;
  4. Under Bill C-11, it is the government’s intention to remove failed claimants very quickly following their refusal;
  5. Bill C-11 provides for fixed timelines for every stage of the refugee process;
Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR advocate for a commitment from CIC to rule on H&C applications within a fixed time frame of four months from the time of filing of the H&C application or, if a removal date is set before that, prior to the scheduled removal date.

Working Group:

12. Concurrent processing of family members of persons accepted on H&C grounds

May 2009
Whereas:
  1. Concurrent processing of family members of persons accepted on H&C grounds in Canada was abolished in 2004;
  2. This has resulted in a significant delay in family reunification for persons accepted on H&C grounds;
  3. Many of these people have compelling humanitarian and compassionate considerations and/or were wrongly refused refugee status;
Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR recommend an amendment of the Regulations to restore provision for concurrent processing of family members of persons accepted on H&C grounds.

Working Group:

4. Priority processing for H&C applications involving best interests of the child

Nov 2008
Whereas:
  1. Canada is signatory to the Convention on the Rights of the Child;
  2. Timely family reunification and a full and timely assessment of a child’s best interest are fundamental elements of Canada’s obligations under the said Convention;
  3. In February 2005, the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration implemented a program to reduce the processing times of sponsorships of spouses living abroad and to prevent, where possible, the separation of spouses in Canada;
  4. A child’s interests and rights are of equal or greater concern;
Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR advocate in favour of a policy providing that:

  1. A humanitarian and compassionate application involving the best interests of any child facing removal, or whose parents face removal, receive a full and proper assessment prior to potential removal from Canada;
  2. Applications for permanent residence based on humanitarian and compassionate grounds, made either inland or abroad, that invoke the best interests of a child living abroad be processed in priority; an accelerated priority should be given to those applications which invoke risk concerns to the child living abroad.
Working Group:

11. H&C and medical inadmissibility

Nov 2005
Whereas:
  1. Section 25(1) of IRPA grants the Minister broad discretionary authority to exempt an inadmissible person from any provisions of the Act or Regulations, if there are humanitarian and compassionate reasons for doing so;
  2. The Regulations severely restrict this broad discretionary authority by requiring persons who are approved in principle for landing on H&C grounds to meet all admissibility requirements in order to be landed, including medical admissibility;
  3. A person who receives a positive H&C decision and who is found medically inadmissible is refused landing and may face removal from Canada to a place where their life is at risk, or, if granted a temporary resident permit (TRP) for three years, may then be denied provincial health insurance coverage during the three year TRP period and thus face a risk to their life due to inability to access adequate medical care in Canada;
  4. Applying the criterion of medical inadmissibility to a person who has been granted approval in principle on H&C grounds constitutes discrimination contrary to section 15 of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and is an improper fettering of the Minister’s discretion under section 25(1) of IRPA;
Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR request an amendment to the Regulations requiring that a person who is granted approval in principle for landing on H&C grounds be exempt from medical admissibility criteria and be landed without delay.

Working Group:

15. H&C decisions and Canadian values

Nov 2004
Whereas:
  1. There is considerable discontent with the current decision-making process with regards to humanitarian and compassionate considerations inside Canada and the lack of respect for fundamental family rights or significant establishment in Canada;
  2. There is great concern that the criteria of the best interest of the child is not being applied in a liberal and just fashion in humanitarian decisions by CIC decision-makers.
Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR request that:

  1. The criteria for deciding on humanitarian and compassionate requests in the IP-5 Manual be modified to read “unusual and undeserved hardship” with the addition of “or sufficient family ties.”
  2. The departmental police and guidelines be modified so that, in the absence of significant countervailing factors, the following categories will benefit from a favourable presumption in analysis of humanitarian applications:
    a) Married couples with a valid relationship will not be separated by removal during the processing of the permanent residence.
    b) Applicants with Canadian children will be generally accepted for permanent residence in Canada.
    c) Applicants with over five years in Canada of continuous presence are generally allowed to stay in Canada.
    d) Applicants with children who have become culturally acclimated to Canada and have over three years Canadian schooling should generally be accepted for residence.> e) Applicants whose removal would create significant disruption to a Canadian employer or to other Canadian employees should warrant humanitarian considerations.
    f) Torture or rape victims should not normally be sent back to the country where they suffered rape or torture. Serious risk of re-traumatisation must be an important humanitarian concern.
Working Group:

12. Statelessness

Nov 2003
Whereas:
  1. Stateless people are in a vulnerable situation because they have no protection from a state;
  2. IRPA does not specify stateless persons as a group needing protection or eligible for landing on humanitarian and compassionate grounds.
Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR:

  1. Strongly urge the Minister to amend IRPA to include statelessness as a ground for protection (both in Canada and for resettlement).
  2. In the alternative, use the authority of subsection 25(1) to establish "protection of stateless persons" as a public policy category for permanent residence and amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations to include statelessness as a ground for resettlement to Canada.
  3. As an interim measure urge CIC to amend the Immigration Manual, Chapter IP5, to include statelessness as a factor for landing in H&C applications. ID requirements and establishment requirements should be waived in view of the special hardships faced by stateless persons.

14. Risk Assessment - Timing and Forum

Nov 1995
Whereas:
  1. Citizenship and Immigration Canada is currently studying the process by which humanitarian and compassionate reviews are done;
  2. CIC is also studying the process for assessing the risks a rejected refugee claimant may face should she/he be removed from Canada;
  3. One proposal which is receiving serious consideration by CIC is to have CIC officials make decisions about claimants' refugee claims, humanitarian and compassionate applications and risk assessments prior to the matter being referred to the IRB;
Therefore be it resolved:

that the CCR:

  1. Oppose refugee claims being determined at any stage by way of administrative process;
  2. Support the proposition that refugee claims should be determined by the IRB, an independent quasi-judicial body;
  3. Support the proposition that decisions about humanitarian and compassionate claims and risk assessment should be made after a determination of a person's refugee claim;
  4. Support the proposition that the IRB is the best available body to make the initial decision about the risks a person may face should that person be removed from Canada or to deal with a re-opening for changes of conditions.
Working Group:

2. Accès aux considérations d’ordre humanitaire

nov 2019
Whereas:
  1. Au cœur de la plus grande crise de réfugiés de l’histoire, les conditions de vie des pays d’origine dans le monde évoluent constamment et peuvent changer en quelques jours à peine.
  2. Les conditions dans les pays d’origine qui ne constituent peut-être pas une persécution peuvent néanmoins placer les individus dans une situation extrêmement difficile (par exemple, des catastrophes liées au climat);
  3. Les demandes de considérations d’ordre humanitaire sont les seules demandes de résidence permanente au Canada dans lesquelles l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant doit être pris en compte;
  4. En vertu de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant et du Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques, le Canada a l’obligation légale de prévoir des recours efficaces pour assurer le respect de ces droits;
  5. Les personnes qui risquent d’être confrontées à de graves difficultés dans leur pays d’origine sont interdites de déposer des demandes de considérations d’ordre humanitaire pendant un an après la décision finale concernant leur demande d’asile; et
  6. Les retards dans le traitement des demandes d’ordre humanitaire entraînent l’expulsion du Canada de plus en plus de personnes, y compris des familles et des enfants, avant que l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant et les autres facteurs d’ordre humanitaire soulevés par leur situation ne soient pris en compte;
Therefore be it resolved:

que le CCR demande que les personnes qui demandent la protection au Canada aient accès aux considérations d’ordre humanitaire à toutes les étapes de leur cheminement légal depuis leur arrivée au Canada et, quoi qu’il en soit, avant leur renvoi.

Working Group:

4. Accès à un appel pour motifs humanitaires (cas de criminalité)

mai 2011
Whereas:
  1. Les résidents permanents qui sont jugés inadmissibles pour des raisons de grande criminalité ou de crime organisé se voient refuser l’accès à la Section d’appel de l’immigration;
  2. Les réfugiés au sens de la Convention au Canada peuvent être renvoyés pour des raisons de grande criminalité s’il y a un avis de danger à leur encontre;
Therefore be it resolved:

Que le CCR demande que les réfugiés et les résidents permanents faisant face au renvoi sur la base de grande criminalité ou de crime organisé aient accès à la SAI pour tenir compte de facteurs d’ordre humanitaire.

Working Group:

6. La prise de décisions pour les demandes de considérations humanitaires

nov 2010
Whereas:
  1. Les demandes de considérations humanitaires (CH) sont les seules demandes de résidence permanente au Canada qui tiennent compte de l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant et du droit au regroupement familial;
  2. Le Canada a l’obligation légale en vertu de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant et du Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques de prévoir des recours efficaces pour assurer le respect de ces droits;
  3. Les retards dans le traitement des demandes CH font que de plus en plus de personnes sont renvoyées du Canada avant l’examen de leur demande CH en instance;
  4. En vertu du projet de loi C-11, l’intention du gouvernement est de renvoyer les demandeurs d’asile déboutés très rapidement après leur refus;
  5. Le projet de loi C-11 prévoit des délais fixes pour chaque étape du processus de demande d’asile;
Therefore be it resolved:

Que le CCR demande à CIC de statuer sur les demandes CH dans un délai fixe de quatre mois à compter de la date de dépôt de la demande CH ou avant la date prévue de renvoi, si elle est antérieure.

Working Group:

12. Le traitement simultané de membres de la famille des personnes acceptés pour des motifs humanitaires

mai 2009
Whereas:
  1. Le traitement simultané de membres de la famille des personnes acceptés au Canada pour des motifs humanitaires a été aboli en 2004;
  2. Ceci a eu comme conséquence des retards importants dans la réunification familiale des personnes acceptées pour des motifs humanitaires;
  3. Beaucoup de ces personnes ont des considérations d’ordre humanitaire convaincantes et/ou se sont vues refuser incorrectement le statut de réfugié;
Therefore be it resolved:

Que le CCR recommande un amendement au Règlement afin de rétablir la possibilité du traitement simultané des membres de la famille des personnes acceptés pour des motifs humanitaires.

Working Group:

4. Traitement prioritaire des demandes de motifs humanitaires qui impliquent l’intérêt supérieur d’un enfant

nov 2008
Whereas:
  1. Le Canada est signataire de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant;
  2. La réunification familiale dans les meilleurs délais et une évaluation complète et diligente de l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant sont au cœur des obligations du Canada en vertu de ladite Convention;
  3. En février 2005, le ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration a mis en place un programme visant à réduire les délais de traitement des parrainages de conjoint vivant à l’étranger et à éviter, lorsque possible, la séparation des conjoints au Canada;
  4. L’intérêt et les droits de l’enfant sont une préoccupation égale sinon plus importante;
Therefore be it resolved:

Que  le CCR militera en faveur d’une politique à l’effet que :

  1. les demandes de motifs humanitaires qui impliquent l’intérêt supérieur de tout enfant menacé de renvoi ou dont les parents sont menacés de renvoi, soient pleinement évaluées avant le renvoi potentiel du Canada;
  2. les demandes de résidence permanente fondées sur des motifs humanitaires, qu’elles soient déposées au Canada ou à l’étranger, qui invoquent l’intérêt supérieur d’un enfant vivant à l’étranger, soient traitées de façon prioritaire; une priorité accélérée devrait être accordée aux demandes qui invoquent des préoccupations relatives au risque pour un enfant qui vit à l’étranger.  
Working Group:

11. Les raisons humanitaires et la non-admissibilité pour des raisons médicales

nov 2005
Whereas:
  1. l’alinéa 25 (1) de la LIPR accorde au ministre un large pouvoir discrétionnaire qui permet d’exempter les personnes inadmissibles de toute disposition de la Loi ou du Règlement sur la base de raisons d’ordre humanitaire;
  2. le Règlement restreint considérablement ce pouvoir discrétionnaire en exigeant des personnes auxquelles on accorde en principe la résidence permanente pour des raisons d’ordre humanitaire de répondre à toutes les conditions d’admissibilité, y compris des conditions d’admissibilité médicales, en vue d’obtenir la résidence permanente;
  3. une personne qui est admise pour des raisons d’ordre humanitaire, mais qui est inadmissible pour des raisons médicales se voit refuser la résidence permanente et se trouve exposée au risque d’être renvoyée du Canada vers un lieu où sa vie est en danger; et que, dans le cas où elle obtient un permis de séjour temporaire de trois ans, elle risque de se voir refuser l’assurance-maladie provinciale durant les trois ans de validité de son permis de séjour temporaire et de voir ainsi sa vie mise en péril à cause de son incapacité d’accéder aux soins médicaux adéquats au Canada;
  4. l’application du critère de non admissibilité pour des raisons médicales à une personne qui a reçu une approbation de principe pour des raisons d’ordre humanitaire constitue une discrimination allant à l’encontre de l’alinéa 15 de la Charte des droits et libertés et qui représente une sérieuse entrave au pouvoir discrétionnaire attribué au ministre en vertu de l’alinéa 25(1) de la LIPR;
Therefore be it resolved:

Que le CCR demandera l’amendement du Règlement stipulant qu’une personne qui a obtenu une approbation de principe concernant la résidence permanente soit exemptée du critère d’admissibilité médicale et reçoive la résidence permanente dans les meilleurs délais.

Working Group:

15. Les décisions pour motifs humanitaires et les valeurs canadiennes

nov 2004
Whereas:
  1. le grand mécontentement concernant le processus actuel de prise de décision relatif aux considérations d’ordre humanitaire à l’intérieur du Canada; et attendu le manque de respect à l’égard des droits fondamentaux des familles ou de l’établissement confirmé au Canada;
  2. la grande crainte que le critère relatif au meilleur intérêt de l’enfant ne soit pas appliqué de manière généreuse et juste, lorsque les décideurs de CIC rendent leur décision dans des cas humanitaires;
Therefore be it resolved:

Que le CCR demandera que :

  1. les critères de prise de décision relative au cas basé sur des motifs humanitaires, tel que stipulé dans le guide IP5 soient modifiées en ajoutant à la phrase « difficulté inhabituelle et injustifiée » l’expression «  ou des liens familiaux suffisants ».
  2. la politique et les directives ministérielles soient modifiées afin que les catégories suivantes bénéficient d’une présomption favorable, lors de l’analyse de la demande fondée sur des motifs humanitaires, en l’absence de facteurs significatifs qui les contrebalancent : i)   les couples mariés dont larelation est authentique ne devront pas séparés à causede renvoi durant le traitement de la demande de résidence permanente;  ii)   les demandeurs ayant des enfantscanadiens devront, en général, être acceptés enqualité de résidents permanents au Canada;  iii)   les demandeurs ayant passéplus de cinq ans d’affilée au Canada devront, en général,être autorisés à demeurer au Canada;  iv)   les demandeurs ayant des enfantsqui se sont culturellement adaptés au Canada et qui y ont passéplus de trois années de scolarisation au Canada devraient, en général,être acceptés en qualité de résidents permanentsau Canada;  v)   les demandeurs dont le renvoi causeraitdes pertubations importantes pour un employeur ou pour d’autres employéscanadiens devraient bénéficier des considérations humanitaires;  vi)   les victimes de la torture ou duviol ne devraient normalement pas être renvoyées au pays oùelles les ont subis.  Un sérieux risque d’être ànouveau traumatisé devrait être une importante préoccupationd’ordre humanitaire.
Working Group:

12. Apatridie

nov 2003
Whereas:
  1. Les personnes apatrides se trouvent dans une situation vulnérable, car elles ne bénéficient pas de la protection d’un État;
  2. La LIPR ne définit pas les personnes apatrides comme un groupe ayant besoin de protection ou étant admissible au statut de résident permanent pour des raisons humanitaires;
Therefore be it resolved:

Que le CCR:

  1. Exhorte vivement le Ministre à amender la LIPR afin d’y inclure l’apatridie comme une motif de protection (aussi bien au Canada que dans le cadre de réinstallation).
  2. Recoure, subsidiairement, à l’alinéa 25 (1) afin de définir la « protection des apatrides » comme une catégorie d’intérêt publique permettant l’accès à la résidence permanente et d’amender le Règlement sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés afin d’y inclure l’apatridie comme motif de réinstallation.
  3. À titre de mesure intérimaire, exhorte CIC à amender le Guide de l’immigration, chapitre IP5, afin d’y inclure l’apatridie comme l’un des facteurs favorisant la résidence permanente dans le cas des demandes de motifs humanitaires. Les personnes apatrides devraient être exemptées des obligations relatives à la présentation de documents et à l’établissement, à cause des difficultés particulières qu’elles affrontent.

14. Évaluation des risques - quand et où

nov 1995
Whereas:
  1. CIC étudie actuellement la procédure selon laquelle les révisions pour raisons humanitaires sont effectuées;
  2. CIC étudie également la procédure d'évaluation des risques auxquels un demandeur non reconnu du statut de réfugié peut faire face s'il devait être expulsé du Canada;
  3. CIC envisage sérieusement la proposition de donner aux fonctionnaires de CIC la possibilité de prendre des décisions sur les revendications du statut de réfugié, les demandes pour raisons humanitaires et les évaluations, avant de les soumettre à la CISR;
Therefore be it resolved:

que le CCR:

  1. S'opposera à ce que les revendications du statut de réfugié soient déterminées, à quelque étape que ce soit, selon une procédure administrative;
  2. Soutiendra la proposition selon laquelle les revendications du statut de réfugié devraient être déterminées par la CISR, un organe quasi-judiciaire indépendant;
  3. Soutiendra la proposition selon laquelle les décisions relatives aux revendications pour raisons humanitaires ainsi que les évaluations de risques devraient être prises après la détermination de la revendication du statut de réfugié;
  4. Soutiendra la proposition selon laquelle la CISR est le meilleur organe disponible pour prendre la décision initiale sur les risques encourus par une personne, au cas où elle devrait être expulsée du Canada et pour s'occuper d'une réouverture en raison de changements de circonstances.
Working Group: