5. 2014 Protocol to the Forced Labour Convention

Nov 2014
Whereas:
  1. The General Conference of the International Labour Organization (ILO) adopted a new protocol to the Forced Labour Convention in June 2014 in order to address gaps in the implementation of the Convention, and to protect vulnerable workers from abuse;
  2. Canadian labour laws fail to adequately protect migrant workers, leaving them at risk of abuse, conditions of forced or compulsory labour, exploitation and human trafficking; this is a growing yet preventable problem;
Therefore be it resolved:

that the CCR call upon the government of Canada to ratify the 2014 Protocol to the Forced Labour Convention, and to implement all of its provisions.

3. Optional Protocol to the Convention Against Torture

Jun 2006
Whereas:
  1. There is now an optional protocol to the Convention against Torture which provides for on-site visits to detention centres around the world and which is open to signatures by member states;
  2. This protocol will not come into effect until 20 countries have ratified it and only six have currently ratified it;
Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR call upon the Canadian government and urge our sister organizations to ask for other governments to ratify the Optional Protocol of the Convention against Torture so that this can come into effect as soon as possible.

Working Group:

2. International mechanisms for human rights and the new Human Rights Council

Jun 2006
Whereas:
  1. The Human Rights Commission of the United Nations has ceased to exist and the new Human Rights Council has come into existence;
  2. There are a large number of Special Rapporteurs and special procedures whose existence depends on resolutions of the Human Rights Commission and whose expertise we do not want to lose;
Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR call upon the Canadian government and other governments to support the renewal of all of the current mandates of Special Rapporteurs and special non-conventional procedures of the United Nations in order not to lose their expertise.

Working Group:

27. Refugee claims by children and the Hague convention

Nov 2003
Whereas:

Recent family court decisions in B.C. and Ontario have provided that a child who comes under the jurisdiction of the Hague Convention and who is a refugee claimant in Canada could be returned to the country where she fears persecution prior to a determination of the refugee claim;

Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR work with the UNHCR and with the UN committee that monitors the Hague Convention and with the Departments of Justice of the provinces which are parties to the Hague Convention to ensure that these two international covenants are applied in a manner that does not interfere with a child's right to have a refugee claim determined and not to be refouled to a country where she has a well-founded fear of persecution.

Working Group:

11. Human rights training

Dec 2000
Whereas:
  1. The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights in its report invited Canada to draw on the resources of the OAS human rights system;
  2. Training for IRB members in international human rights law is not given by a competent arms-length human rights body;
Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR call on the IRB to:

  1. Pay the IACHR to provide training in international human rights law for the IRB members and RCOs;
  2. Open their training sessions to the CCR and members of the bar.
Working Group:

12. Federal Court and international human rights obligations

Jun 1997
Whereas:
  1. The Federal Court of Canada has been extremely reticent to apply the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and international human rights obligations in the judicial review process for refugee claimants and non-residents;
  2. Immigration and refugee practitioners are frustrated with the negative attitude of the Federal Court to refugee and immigration issues;
  3. The Federal Court leave requirements and the process for certification for appeal to the Federal Court of Appeal afford less access to the Court by refugee claimants and immigrants than the average Canadian has to appeal a conviction for a traffic ticket;
  4. The news media and notes produced before the Supreme Court of Canada have shown that there have been improper contacts between the Ministry of Justice and the Federal Court and there are currently inquiries by the Canadian Judicial Council and the Ministry of Justice;
Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR:

  1. Demand that the independence of the Federal Court be reaffirmed and that, more particularly, contacts between the government and its quasi-judicial bodies and the Federal Court without the presence of the opposing parties or non-governmental organizations cease immediately and that the current inquiries be expanded to include such contacts;
  2. Express its concern to the Minister of Justice that the Federal Court is not consistently applying the Charter and our international human rights obligations and that it is overly restrictive in its application of judicial review in its handling of immigration and refugee matters and ask the Minister of Justice to commission an independent study on the effectiveness of the judicial review remedy;
  3. Ask that the federal government appoint judges to the Federal Court who have an immigration and refugee law background, particularly those who are members of the immigration bar.
Working Group:

23. American Convention on Human Rights

Nov 1995
Whereas:
  1. Canada is a member of the Organization of American States which has developed a human rights instrument, the American Convention on Human Rights;
  2. Canada has entered economic agreements with the U.S. and Mexico and plans to enter a joint asylum granting agreement with the U.S.;
  3. Mexico has ratified, and the U.S. has signed, the American Convention on Human Rights;
  4. The Convention offers enhanced protections for non-citizens with respect to certain rights, notably family rights and procedural rights;
Therefore be it resolved:

that the CCR:

  1. Urge Canada to ratify the American Convention on Human Rights;
  2. Invite the Network on International Human Rights to hold discussions with a view to increasing awareness of the functioning of the OAS human rights system and thereby encouraging such ratification.
Working Group:

24. Convention on the Rights of Migrant Workers

Nov 1995
Whereas:

 the consequences of migration include serious abuses and injustices for migrant workers, especially migrant women and children;

Therefore be it resolved:

that the CCR call on the Canadian government to ratify the Convention on the rights of all migrant workers and their families.

22. Non-citizens and international human rights treaties

Nov 1995
Whereas:
  1. Canada, through its government, its parliament and its courts, has habitually neglected United Nations Covenants and Conventions of justice in its treatment of non-citizens who came to Canada seeking protection;
  2. Specifically, it has neglected to enact legislation in Parliament to embody in Canadian law the Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the Covenant on Social and Cultural Rights, the Convention on the Rights of the Child, and the Convention against Torture;
  3. As a consequence, habeas corpus and other elements of due process guaranteed to Canadians by the Charter of Rights and Freedoms are often denied by Canadian civil servants and Canadian courts to non-citizens who came to Canada seeking protection;
  4. Further, such non-citizens have no simple and effective legal means of enforcing such rights;
  5. As a further consequence, many such people have been deported from Canada in violation of one or more of the above UN Covenants and Conventions;
  6. The Immigration Act and court decisions based on it are inconsistent with Canada's obligations under UN human rights treaties;
Therefore be it resolved:

 that the CCR:

  1. Call upon the Parliament and Government of Canada forthwith to incorporate all the above United Nations Covenants and Conventions into Canadian law, and in particular into the Immigration Act and Regulations, directing all Canadian civil servants and courts to enforce them;
  2. Write to the Ministers of Justice and of Citizenship and Immigration and the chair of the parliamentary committee on Human Rights and Disabled Persons advising them of the problem and urging them to establish a mechanism to monitor Canada's compliance with its international human rights treaty obligations and to make an annual report to parliament (such a report to include such matters as the status of international cases submitted from Canada and any legislative or other measures taken);
  3. Request all Chief Justices to organize training sessions for judges on the interpretation and application of Canada's international human rights treaties, with international participation.
Working Group:

12. Convention on the rights of the child

Nov 1994
Whereas:
  1. The Canadian Council of Churches and the Inter-Church Committee for Refugees have cooperated in the preparation of a brief submitted by ICCR to the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child about non-citizen children;
  2. The CCR meets regularly with senior immigration officials;
Therefore be it resolved:

That the CCR support the thrust of the Brief submitted by ICCR and raise the major recommendations of the Brief at its meeting with officials, namely:

  1. providing training programs on the Convention for the various actors in immigration procedures;
  2. allowing the children of non-citizens to benefit from the Canadian Human Rights Act as of right;
  3. introducing provisions of the Convention into the Immigration Act and Regulations relating to overseas procedures; children in hearings and interviews; family reunion procedures; and access to essential health and social services.
Working Group:

5. Le Protocole de 2014 relatif à la Convention sur le travail forcé

nov 2014
Whereas:
  1. La Conférence générale de l'Organisation internationale du Travail (OIT) a adopté en juin 2014 un nouveau protocole relatif à la Convention sur le travail forcé afin de combler les lacunes dans la mise en œuvre de la Convention, et de protéger les travailleurs vulnérables contre les mauvais traitements;
  2. Le droit canadien du travail ne protège pas adéquatement les travailleurs migrants, et les expose donc à un risque de mauvais traitements, de conditions de travail forcé ou obligatoire, d’exploitation et de traite des personnes; il s’agit d’un problème croissant, mais évitable;
Therefore be it resolved:

que le CCR demande au gouvernement du Canada de ratifier le Protocole de 2014 relatif à la Convention sur le travail forcé, et de mettre en œuvre toutes ses dispositions.

3. Protocole optionnel à la Convention contre la torture

juin 2006
Whereas:
  1. Il y a maintenant un protocole optionnel à la Convention contre la Torture qui prévoit les visites sur les lieux des centres de détention autour du monde et qui est ouvert aux signatures par les États membres;
  2. Ce protocole n’entrera pas en vigueur avant que 20 pays ne l’aient ratifié et qu’actuellement seulement six l’ont ratifié;
Therefore be it resolved:

Que le CCR appellera le gouvernement canadien et encouragera nos organisations sœurs à demander à d’autres gouvernements de ratifier le protocole optionnel à la Convention contre la Torture afin qu’il puisse entrer en vigueur le plus rapidement possible.

Working Group:

2. Les mécanismes internationaux des droits humains et le nouveau Conseil des droits de l’homme

juin 2006
Whereas:
  1. La Commission des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies a cessé d’exister et un nouveau Conseil des droits de l’homme a vu le jour;
  2. Il y a un grand nombre de Rapporteurs spéciaux et de procédures spéciales dont l’existence dépend des résolutions de la Commission des droits de l’homme et dont on ne veut pas perdre l’expertise;
Therefore be it resolved:

Que le CCR appellera le gouvernement canadien et d’autres gouvernements à appuyer le renouvellement de tous les mandats actuels des Rapporteurs spéciaux et des procédures spéciales extra-conventionnelles des Nations Unies afin que leur expertise ne soit pas perdue.

Working Group:

27. Les demandes d’asile faites par les enfants et la convention de la Haye

nov 2003
Whereas:

Les récentes décisions de tribunaux de la famille de la C.-B. et de l’Ontario ont stipulé qu’une enfant venant sous le couvert de la Convention de la Haye et qui est demandeur d’asile au Canada pourrait être renvoyée au pays où elle craint la persécution avant toute décision concernant sa demande d’asile;

Therefore be it resolved:

Que le CCR travaille avec le HCR et avec le Comité des Nations Unies chargé de surveiller la convention de la Haye et avec les ministères de la Justice des provinces qui sont signataires de la Convention afin de s’assurer que les pactes de ces deux organes internationaux sont appliqués d’une manière qui n’interfère pas avec le droit de l’enfant d’avoir une décision sur sa demande d’asile et de ne pas être refoulé vers un pays où il a des craintes bien fondées d’être persécuté.

Working Group:

11. La formation en droits de la personne

déc 2000
Whereas:
  1. Dans son rapport, la Commission inter-américaine des droits de l'homme (CIADH) a invité le Canada à puiser dans les ressources du système des droits de la personne de l'OÉA;
  2. La formation sur la loi internationale en matière des droits de la personne que reçoivent les commissaires de la CISR n'est pas offerte par une instance des droits de la personne compétente et indépendante;
Therefore be it resolved:

Que le CCR fasse appel à la CISR pour :

  1. Payer le CIADH pour fournir aux commissaires de la CISR et aux ACR la formation sur la loi internationale en matière des droits de la personne;
  2. Que les sessions de formation soient ouvertes au CCR et aux membres du barreau.  
Working Group:

12. La cour fédérale et les obligations internationales relatives aux droits de la personne

juin 1997
Whereas:
  1. La Cour fédérale du Canada a été extrêmement réticente à appliquer la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et les obligations internationales relatives aux droits de la personne dans le processus de révision juridique s'appliquant aux demandeurs du statut de réfugié et aux non-résidents;
  2. Les intervenants des secteurs de l'immigration et des réfugiés ressentent des frustrations face à l'attitude négative de la Cour fédérale quant aux questions de réfugiés et d'immigration;
  3. Les exigences des permissions de la Cour fédérale et le processus pour la certification d'une demande en appel à la Cour fédérale d'appel font en sorte que les demandeurs du statut de réfugié et les immigrants ont moins de chances que la plupart des Canadiens à en appeler d'une condamnation pour une infraction au code de la route;
  4. Les informations véhiculées par les médias et les notes présentées à la Cour suprême du Canada ont fait état d'échanges déplacés entre le Ministre de la Justice et la Cour fédérale; et le Conseil juridique canadien et le Ministre de la Justice mènent actuellement des enquêtes;
Therefore be it resolved:

Que le CCR:

  1. demande que l'indépendance de la Cour fédérale soit réaffirmée et, plus précisément, que les échanges entre le gouvernement et ses instances quasi-juridiques et la Cour fédérale, sans la présence des parties adverses ou d'organisations non gouvernementales, cessent immédiatement et que les enquêtes actuellement en cours soient étendues pour couvrir ces échanges;
  2. exprime sa préoccupation au Ministre de la Justice à l'effet que la Cour fédérale n'applique pas la Charte ainsi que nos obligations internationales en matière de droits de la personne de façon uniforme et qu'elle est trop étroite dans son application de la révision juridique dans le traitement de questions d'immigration et de réfugiés, et demande au Ministre de la Justice de mettre sur pied une étude indépendante sur l'efficacité du recours à la révision juridique;
  3. demande que le gouvernement fédéral nomme à la Cour fédérale des juges qui ont une formation en droit d'immigration et des réfugiés, particulièrement ceux qui sont spécialisés en la matière.
Working Group:

23. Convention américaine relative aux droits de l'homme

nov 1995
Whereas:
  1. Le Canada est membre de l'Organisation  des états américains, qui a élaboré la Convention américaine relative aux Droits de l'Homme, un instrument des droits de la personne;
  2. Le Canada a conclu des accords économiques avec les États‑unis et le Mexique et prévoit de conclure avec les É.U. une entente conjointe sur l'octroi de l'asile;
  3. Le Mexique a ratifié, et les États‑unis ont signé, la Convention américaine relative aux Droits de l'Homme;
  4. La Convention offre une protection accrue aux non-citoyens en ce qui concerne certains droits, notamment les droits de la famille et de procédure;
Therefore be it resolved:

que le CCR:

  1. Recommandera instamment au Canada de ratifier la Convention américaine relative aux Droits de l'Homme;
  2. Invitera le Réseau des droits de la personne au plan international à organiser des discussions afin d'accroître la prise de conscience sur le fonctionnement du système des droits de la personne de l'OÉA et d'encourager ainsi une telle ratification.
Working Group:

22. Les non-citoyens et les traités internationaux sur les droits de la personne

nov 1995
Whereas:
  1. Le Canada, par l'intermédiaire de son gouvernement, a généralement négligé les pactes et conventions d'équité des Nations Unies dans son traitement des non-citoyens qui sont venus chercher protection au Canada;
  2. Il a en particulier négligé de promulguer au Parlement une législation pour mettre en application dans la loi canadienne le Pacte relatif aux droits civils et politiques, le Pacte relatif aux droits sociaux et culturels, la Convention sur les droits de l'enfant, et la Convention contre la torture;
  3. Comme conséquence, l'habeas corpus et d'autres éléments des voies de droit régulières, garantis aux Canadiens par la Charte des droits et libertés, sont souvent refusés par les fonctionnaires et les tribunaux canadiens aux non-citoyens venus chercher protection au Canada;
  4. De plus, de tels non-citoyens qui sont venus au Canada n'ont pas de moyens légaux simples et efficaces pour faire valoir de tels droits;
  5. Comme conséquence supplémentaire, un nombre important de personnes de ce type sont déportées du Canada en violation d'un ou plusieurs des pactes et conventions de l'ONU ci-dessus;
  6. La loi sur l'immigration et les décisions des tribunaux fondées sur celle-ci ne sont pas conformes aux obligations du Canada selon les pactes relatifs aux droits de l'Homme de l'ONU;
Therefore be it resolved:

que le CCR:

  1. Réclamera du Parlement et du gouvernement du Canada qu'ils incorporent immédiatement les pactes et conventions de l'ONU ci-dessus dans la loi canadienne, et en particulier dans la loi et les règlements sur l'immigration, en donnant des directives à tous les fonctionnaires et tribunaux canadiens pour qu'ils les mettent en application;
  2. Écrira aux ministres de la Justice et de la Citoyenneté et de l'immigration ainsi qu'au président du comité parlementaire sur les droits de la personne et les conditions des personnes handicappées pour les aviser du problème et leur recommander instamment de mettre en place un mécanisme pour s'assurer que le Canada se conforme à ses obligations envers les traités internationaux et d'en faire un rapport annuel au parlement (un tel rapport doit inclure des sujets tels que la situation des cas internationaux soumis du Canada et toute mesure législative ou autre qui a été prise);
  3. Demandera aux juges en chef d'organiser des sessions de formation pour les juges sur l'interprétation et l'application des traités internationaux des droits de la personne du Canada, avec une participation internationale.
Working Group:

12. Convention sur les droits des enfants

nov 1994
Whereas:
  1. Le Conseil canadien des églises et le Comité inter-églises pour les réfugiés ont participé à la préparation d'un mémoire soumis par le Comité inter-églises pour les réfugiés au Comité des Nations Unies pour les droits des enfants au sujet des enfants non-citoyens;
  2. Le CCR rencontre régulièrement des hauts fonctionnaires de l'immigration;
Therefore be it resolved:

Que le CCR soutiendra les grandes lignes du mémoire du CIÉR et présentera les principales recommandations qui y figurent lors de sa réunion avec des fonctionnaires, notamment:

  1. offrir des programmes de formation sur la Convention à l'attention des divers acteurs dans les procédures d'immigration;
  2. permettre aux enfants des personnes qui n'ont pas la citoyenneté canadienne de bénéficier, comme d'un droit, de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne;
  3. intégrer des dispositions de la Convention à la Loi sur l'immigration et aux règlements se rapportant aux procédures à l'étranger, aux enfants pendant les audiences et les entrevues, aux procédures pour la réunion des familles et à l'accès aux services sociaux et aux services essentiels de santé.
Working Group: