Canadian Council for Refugees E-Chronicle Vol. 6 #1, 8 April 2011

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

CONTENTS:

a) Proposed timelines for refugee appeal completely unworkable: Take action
b) Stranded in Egypt: Refused refugee sponsorship cases before Federal Court
c) The Future of Colombian Refugees in Canada
d) Proposal to End Source Country Class
e) New Rules for Migrant Workers in Canada
f)  Vulnerable Refugees in Libya Need Protection
g) Register now for the CCR 2011 Spring Consultation in Hamilton
h) New from the CCR: Refugee rights and Canada’s election - Questions for candidates
i)  Faces of the CCR: Taro Hashimoto, CCR Youth Network

-----

a) Proposed timelines for refugee appeal completely unworkable: Take action

Take ActionRegulations proposed by the government would make the refugee appeal meaningless.

In June 2010, Parliament approved changes to Canada’s refugee determination system (Bill C-11) that finally guarantee refugees a right to an appeal on the merits. However, these changes are not yet in effect and crucial elements of the new process must be decided through Regulations.

On March 19, 2011, the government formally proposed regulations giving refugee claimants just 15 days, from the day they receive a negative decision, to file their appeal, with all the submissions (technically speaking, 15 days to “file and perfect the application”).

It is completely impossible in most cases for refugees to meet a 15-day deadline. A rich refugee who already has a lawyer might conceivably be able to do it, but for anyone else, it is not possible. Just to get legal aid coverage can take more than 15 days. With the fast time-lines of the new refugee determination system, few claimants are likely to have received a work permit by the time of the IRB decision, so most will require legal aid.

A 15-day deadline for filing and perfecting an appeal will:

  • Mean that wrong decisions will go uncorrected and refugees may be sent back to persecution, torture or death.
  • Hurt in particular the most vulnerable refugees, including survivors of torture, children and youth, refugees who don’t speak English or French, women with children.
  • Make the Refugee Appeal Division a huge waste of money – the decision-makers won’t have any proper submissions to consider.

Join the CCR in calling for Regulations that:

  • Give claimants appealing a negative decision a minimum of 15 days to file the application to the Refugee Appeal Division and 30 days to perfect (complete) the application. (The same as the current timelines for judicial review at the Federal Court).

Send your comments on the government’s proposal by Monday 18 April to: Jennifer.Irish@cic.gc.ca.

Read about the proposed regulations at http://bit.ly/eGGqES

b) Stranded in Egypt: Refused refugee sponsorship cases before Federal Court

Eritrean refugees unfairly refused by Canada struggle to survive in Cairo, the Canadian Council for Refugees reported in early April.  A year and a half after their rejection by Canada’s Cairo office, their cases was finally heard by the Federal Court in Toronto.

Seventeen refused applicants were interviewed recently about their lives in Cairo since being refused by Canada. Among the problems they highlighted were:

  • Problems in earning a living. Domestic work is almost the only work available to refugees.
  • Routine racial discrimination, in some cases involving assault.
  • Sexual harassment and violence.
  • Lack of access to health care.
  • Arrest and harassment by authorities, and limited legal rights.
  • Increased vulnerability since the unrest in Egypt.
  • Lack of hope for the future.

In March 2010 the CCR released a report analyzing decisions made at Cairo in this group of cases. The report revealed serious problems with decision-making, including lack of basic knowledge of realities in the refugees’ country of origin, basic errors in applying the refugee definition, and multiple flaws in credibility assessments.

The Federal Court recognized in January that there are serious issues with these refusals, granting leave to the group that now includes over 40 cases. The Court heard three lead cases from the group on April 6. Lawyers representing the Eritreans highlighted the visa officer’s inadequate analysis of the applicants’ religious beliefs and a failure to take into account country conditions in Eritrea, especially related to women, political prisoners and those fleeing forced military service.

To read what the Eritreans interviewed said about their situation, go to: Eritrean refugees awaiting Federal Court decision suffer acute hardship in Cairo

For more information about the CCR concerns over these refusals see:
Media Release, Eritrean Refugees awaiting Federal Court decision suffer acute hardship in Cairo, 5 April 2011
Media Release, Refugees overseas denied a fair hearing, CCR report shows, 25 March 2010
Report, Concerns with refugee decision-making at Cairo, 31 January 2010

c) The Future of Colombian Refugees in Canada

Colombian refugeesIn November 2010, the Canadian Council for Refugees (CCR) joined the Refugee Council USA (RCUSA) in an NGO delegation to gather information about Colombian refugees in Panama and Ecuador. The CCR in addition visited Colombia, in order to gather information relating to the Canadian Source Country Class program and on the human rights situation within the country.

The CCR’s participation was motivated by the fact that Colombians represent one of the top nationalities seeking refuge in Canada, both as refugee claimants and as resettled refugees, and by concerns relating to difficulties in the resettlement of Colombians and to the declining acceptance rate for Colombian refugee claimants in Canada.

Through a series of interviews in Colombia, the delegation explored whether Colombians in fact have a decreased need of protection. The delegation learned that while Colombia is now indeed safer for some, for others the danger remains. The FARC (Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia) and the paramilitary have changed significantly, but retain the ability to persecute their enemies throughout the country. The various security forces (army, police and state security) commit human rights abuses. People who are threatened in one region may not be safe, even in Bogota, because of the growth in informant networks and surveillance, and the inadequacy of government protection programs.

The delegation also found that an “expert” whose opinion has been relied on in many negative Immigration and Refugee Board decisions does not claim to have current knowledge of the matter on which he is cited.

The visits in Panama and Ecuador highlighted the vulnerability of the many Colombian refugees in those countries. The delegation recommends that Canada increase resettlement of Colombians from both those countries, as well as directly from Colombia, with a focus on women at risk. The Canadian immigration authorities are also encouraged to develop ties with civil society in order to inform themselves about the realities on the ground, both within Colombian and in the countries of refuge.

The report of the delegation is available at: http://ccrweb.ca/sites/ccrweb.ca/files/ccr_colombia_report_2011.pdf

d) Proposal to End Source Country Class

On 19 March, the government published proposed changes to the regulations that would eliminate the Source Country Class. This class currently allows Canada to resettle people facing persecution directly out of their country of origin. Many Colombians in particular have benefitted from the class in recent years: the CCR’s new report on Colombia recommends that the class be used to resettle more Colombians.

The CCR was surprised to learn of the government proposal. As noted in the Canada Gazette, the CCR was consulted in relation to the Source Country Class – but about how to improve it, not whether to eliminate it! The CCR has long recommended that the Class be available in any country, rather than limited to a list of countries, and that it be made effective in Africa, where many people face persecution and could benefit from Canada’s protection.

Eliminating the Source Country Class would close a door on an opportunity for some persecuted persons to flee a dangerous situation, without having to attempt a risky escape across a border – and without having to turn to smugglers.

Anyone concerned about the proposal to eliminate the Source Country Class should send comments by April 18 to Debra.Presse@cic.gc.ca.

The proposed change is found here: http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/2011/2011-03-19/html/reg3-eng.html

An article on the topic: Canada to scrap one avenue for refugees, Elizabeth Thompson, 21 March 2011, Vancouver Sun, http://www.vancouversun.com/news/Canada+scrap+avenue+refugees/4476507/story.html

e) New Rules for Migrant Workers in Canada

Migrant workersThe CCR has expressed its disappointment over recent changes to the Temporary Foreign Worker Regulations that do not adequately protect migrant workers. The changes came into force on 1 April 2011.

Temporary Foreign Workers provide cheap labour, but are offered little protection. Employers who fail to comply with their obligations towards the workers are rarely penalized. Workers are also denied access to many important services such as language instruction, and in most cases to permanent residence in Canada.

The CCR is aware of many cases of abuse and difficult conditions faced by Temporary Foreign Workers in Canada – workers who are contributing to the Canadian economy. The government said that the new measures are intended to protect Temporary Foreign Workers from abuse and exploitation, but they fail to solve the problem, Canada is increasingly using Temporary Foreign Workers to fill permanent jobs. The number of workers admitted to Canada on temporary visas has doubled in recent years.

The CCR believes that Canada should use immigration as a nation-building strategy and give migrant workers access to permanent residency, rather than using them as a disposable source of labour.

For more information, read the press release and backgrounder at: http://ccrweb.ca/en/bulletin/11/03/23
For more information about the CCR’s position and campaign to protect the rights of migrant workers, see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/migrant-workers

f) Vulnerable Refugees in Libya Need Protection

In mid-March, the CCR together with other Canadian organizations expressed grave concerns about refugees in Libya, some of whom have connections to Canada.

An already bad situation in Libya for refugees has become dramatically worse since the outbreak of the internal conflict. While other foreign nationals fleeing the fighting can be repatriated, refugees, including many from Somalia and Eritrea, have nowhere to go.

Sub-Saharan Africans are particularly vulnerable in Libya. Reports that the Gaddafi regime is using mercenaries from sub-Saharan Africa have reinforced existing racial discrimination, leading to vicious attacks on black Africans. Many refugees are in hiding.

Canada has already been active in its response to the Libyan crisis, including granting $5 million in humanitarian aid. Canadian immigration officials have been working to respond to people in Libya with applications to come to Canada.

The CCR calls on the Canadian government to take a leading role internationally to ensure that the response to the Libya crisis gives due priority to the particular needs and vulnerability of refugees.

In particular, the Canadian government should:

  • Work with other governments and international organizations to promote the evacuation and protection of all affected refugees.
  • Include refugees with a pending application to Canada in measures to evacuate Canadian citizens.
  • Fast-track refugee and immigration applications to Canada from refugees affected by the Libyan crisis.

For more information and statements from other organizations, see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/bulletin/11/03/15

g) Register now for the CCR 2011 Spring Consultation in Hamilton

60th anniversary of the Refugee ConventionFrom 26 to 28 May 2011, people concerned for refugees and immigrants from across Canada will be gathering in Hamilton for the Canadian Council for Refugees 2011 (CCR) Spring Consultation on the theme Honouring Refugee Rights: 60th anniversary of the Refugee Convention

Discussions will address issues that challenge refugees, immigrants, advocates and community workers.

Information about the Consultation and online registration forms are available at: http://ccrweb.ca/meetings  Register before 6 May for reduced fees!

h) New from the CCR: Refugee rights and Canada’s election - Questions for candidates

With the 2011 federal election taking place on 2 May, now is a good time to raise issues affecting refugees and newcomers with political candidates.  Where do they stand?

Check out the CCR’s suggestions of some questions to ask candidates in the 2011 federal elections. You are welcome to adopt and adapt any or all of these questions for your own materials.

In most cases you will only have the opportunity to ask one or two questions, so you will need to choose where to place your priority. The questions are not listed in order of priority.

A list of questions and references is available online: http://ccrweb.ca/en/suggested-election-questions-2011

i) Faces of the CCR: Taro Hashimoto, CCR Youth Network

Taro HashimotoTaro Hashimoto currently works with an aboriginal arts organization in Edmonton, Alberta and has been working with refugee youth in various community programs for the past 8 years.  He is connected to several local and regional committees and initiatives working for the success and well-being of refugee and immigrant youth, as well as all youth in the community.

Taro has become an advocate for newcomer youth with difficulties arising from lost or stolen identification after seeing top students, young mothers, parentless youth and young men shut out of schools, employment opportunities, daycare support, disability support and other public programs. “I always thought that other youth settlement workers must be seeing this too! When I heard some community workers mention it, I was quick to speak up and found many stories and similar situations were out there.”

What exactly is at stake? When newcomer youth lose or have incorrect identity documents (for example, a wrong date-of-birth or an incorrectly spelled name), they are often stuck in a long, complicated and costly process to replace or correct their identity documents. This is especially true for those who are not supported by family or guardians, and who are trying to establish their independence and self-reliance. Without proper documents, some youth have not been able to go to school due to registration or funding requirements, while others have not been able to set up a bank account or arrange living accommodation. The danger is that this may lead to youth becoming transient, suffering mental health challenges, or even resorting to crime or other risky behaviours.

What can you do? If you or someone you know has had a problem because of lost or incorrect identity documents, please send an email to: youthID@ccrweb.ca to share what you know.  This will help us to learn more about the nature and extent of the problem, and hopefully to find solutions.

According to Taro, “Even just talking about the issue with youth and frontline workers helps to raise awareness.  Why not start a local dialogue by asking the question: ‘Do you know how not having the correct identity documents can ruin the life of newcomer youth?’ Hopefully, we can make things easier for everyone.  Ultimately, it means that many newcomer youth can become more active, more successful and thrive.”

For more information about newcomer youth and ID issues or about other CCR Youth Network campaigns, check out the campaign discussion board at: http://forum.ccrweb.ca

-----

Looking for other ways to stay in touch with the CCR and refugee and immigration issues?  Subscribe to receive updates from the CCR on Twitter and Facebook:

To join the CCR on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ccrweb
To follow the CCR on Twitter: http://twitter.com/ccrweb
To view CCR videos on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/ccrwebvideos

Chronique du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés vol. 6 no. 1, 8 avril 2011

Version imprimable

CONTENU :

a)              Les délais proposés pour l’appel des réfugiés sont totalement irréalisables! Passez à l’action
b)             Abandonnés en Égypte: des réfugiés refusés devant la Cour fédérale
c)              L’avenir des réfugiés colombiens au Canada
d)             Proposition d’éliminer la Catégorie des “pays sources”
e)              De nouvelles règles pour les travailleurs migrants au Canada
f)              Les réfugiés vulnérables se trouvant en Libye ont besoin de protection
g)             Inscrivez-vous maintenant pour la Consultation du printemps du CCR à Hamilton
h)             Nouveauté du CCR : Élection et droits des réfugiés - Questions aux candidats
i)               Les visages du CCR : Taro Hashimoto, Réseau des jeunes du CCR
-----

a) Les délais proposés pour l’appel des réfugiés sont totalement irréalisables! Passez à l’action

Passez à l'actionUn règlement proposé par le gouvernement rendrait l’appel des réfugiés inutile.

En juin 2010, le Parlement a approuvé des modifications au système canadien du statut de réfugié (le projet de loi C-11) qui accordent finalement aux réfugiés un appel sur le fond. Toutefois, ces changements ne sont pas encore en vigueur et des éléments essentiels de la nouvelle procédure doivent être précisés par un règlement.

Le 19 mars 2011, le gouvernement a officiellement proposé le texte d’un règlement qui donnerait aux demandeurs d’asile 15 jours, à partir du jour où ils reçoivent une décision négative, pour déposer leur demande d’appel, incluant tous les arguments (en termes techniques, les 15 jours sont pour « interjeter et mettre en état » l’appel).

Dans la plupart des cas, il est complètement impossible pour les réfugiés de respecter un tel délai de 15 jours. Peut-être qu’un réfugié riche qui a déjà un avocat pourrait le faire, mais pour les autres, cela n’est pas possible. Uniquement pour recevoir l’aide juridique, il faut prévoir plus de 15 jours. Les délais prévus pour le nouveau système d’asile étant très courts, les demandeurs seront peu susceptibles d’avoir reçu un permis de travail au moment de la décision de la CISR et la plupart auront donc besoin d’aide juridique.

Un délai de 15 jours pour interjeter et mettre en état un appel :

•    Signifiera que de mauvaises décisions ne seront pas corrigées et que les réfugiés pourront être refoulés vers la persécution, la torture ou la mort.

•    Nuira notamment aux réfugiés les plus vulnérables, dont les survivants de la torture, les enfants et les jeunes, les réfugiés qui ne parlent ni anglais ni français, les femmes avec enfants.

•    Fera de la Section d’appel des réfugiés un énorme gaspillage d’argent – les décideurs n’auront pas d’arguments adéquats à étudier.

Joignez-vous au CCR pour demander que les règlements :

•    Offrent aux demandeurs qui font appel d’une décision négative un minimum de 15 jours pour déposer la demande à la Section d’appel des réfugiés et 30 jours pour mettre en état  (compléter) la demande. (Les mêmes délais s’appliquent actuellement aux demandes de contrôle judiciaire à la Cour fédérale).

Envoyez vos commentaires sur la proposition du gouvernement d’ici le lundi 18 avril à Jennifer.Irish@cic.gc.ca.

Lisez à propos de la réglementation proposée à : http://bit.ly/hH5Dze

b) Abandonnés en Égypte: des réfugiés refusés devant la Cour fédérale

Des réfugiés érythréens injustement refusés par le Canada survivent péniblement au Caire, a signalé le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés au début d’avril. Un an et demi après leur rejet par le bureau canadien au Caire, leur cause a finalement été entendue par la Cour fédérale à Toronto.

Des entrevues menées avec dix-sept demandeurs refusés au sujet de leurs conditions de vie au Caire suite à la décision négative du Canada ont permis de souligner les problèmes suivants :

  • La difficulté de gagner sa vie. Le travail domestique est pratiquement le seul travail possible pour les réfugiés.
  • La discrimination raciale quotidienne, impliquant parfois des agressions.
  • Le harcèlement et la violence sexuels.
  • Le manque d’accès aux soins de santé.
  • L’arrestation et le harcèlement par les autorités, et des droits limités.
  • Une vulnérabilité accrue depuis les troubles en Égypte.
  • Le manque d’espoir pour l’avenir.

En mars 2010, le CCR a rendu public un rapport analysant les décisions prises au Caire dans ce type de cas. Le rapport révèle de sérieux problèmes dans la prise de décision, dont un manque de connaissances de base des réalités du pays d’origine des réfugiés, des erreurs élémentaires dans l’application de la définition de réfugié, et de multiples failles dans l’évaluation de la crédibilité.

La Cour fédérale a reconnu en janvier que ces refus soulèvent de sérieuses questions, en accordant l’autorisation au groupe qui comprend actuellement plus de 40 cas. La Cour a entendu trois cas types du groupe le 6 avril. Les avocats qui représentent les Érythréens ont souligné l’analyse insuffisante de l’agent des visas accordée aux croyances religieuses des demandeurs, ainsi que l’absence de prise en compte de la situation qui prévaut en Érythrée, notamment en ce qui concerne les femmes, les prisonniers politiques et les personnes qui fuient le service militaire forcé.

Pour lire les propos des réfugiés interviewés, voir le document d’information : Des réfugiés érythréens vivent de graves difficultés au Caire

Pour de plus amples renseignements à propos des preoccupations du CCR voir :

Communiqué, En attente d’une décision de la Cour fédérale, des réfugiés érythréens vivent de graves difficultés au Caire, 5 avril 2011

Communiqué, Les réfugiés outremer n’ont pas accès à un traitement équitable, 25 mars 2010

Rapport du CCR (en anglais), Concerns with refugee decision-making at Cairo, 31 janvier 2010

c) L’avenir des réfugiés colombiens au Canada

des réfugiées colombiennesEn novembre 2010, le CCR a fait partie d’une délégation d’ONG, avec le Refugee Council USA (RCUSA), visant à recueillir des informations sur les réfugiés colombiens au Panama et en Équateur. Le CCR a également visité la Colombie, afin de recueillir des informations relatives à la Catégorie canadienne des personnes de pays sources et sur la situation des droits humains dans le pays.

Le CCR tenait à participer parce que les Colombiens représentent l’une des principales nationalités qui cherchent refuge au Canada, en tant que demandeurs d’asile et réfugiés réinstallés. Le CCR est également préoccupé par les difficultés des Colombiens en matière de réinstallation et par la baisse du taux d’acceptation des demandeurs d’asile colombiens au Canada.

Par le biais d’une série d’entrevues en Colombie, la délégation a cherché à savoir si le besoin de protection des Colombiens a diminué dans les faits. La délégation a appris que, bien que la Colombie est maintenant plus sûre pour certains, le danger demeure pour d’autres. Les FARC (Forces armées révolutionnaires de Colombie) et les paramilitaires ont sensiblement changé, mais conservent la capacité de persécuter leurs ennemis à travers le pays. Les différentes forces de sécurité (armée, police et sécurité de l’Etat) commettent des violations des droits. Les personnes qui sont menacées dans une région ne sont pas nécessairement en sécurité, même à Bogota, en raison de la croissance des réseaux d’informateurs et de la surveillance, et du manque de programmes de protection du gouvernement.

La délégation a également constaté qu’un «expert» dont l’opinion a été invoquée dans de nombreuses décisions négatives de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié, ne prétend pas avoir des connaissances à jour sur la question pour laquelle il est cité.

La visite au Panama et en Équateur a souligné la vulnérabilité de nombreux réfugiés colombiens dans ces pays. La délégation recommande que le Canada augmente la réinstallation de Colombiens de ces deux pays, ainsi que directement à partir de la Colombie, avec un accent sur les femmes à risque. Les autorités canadiennes de l’immigration sont également encouragées à développer des liens avec la société civile afin de s’informer de la réalité sur le terrain, tant à l’intérieur de la Colombie que dans les pays de refuge.

Le rapport de la délégation est disponible à : http://ccrweb.ca/sites/ccrweb.ca/files/ccr_colombia_report_2011.pdf (en anglais seulement)

d) Proposition d’éliminer la Catégorie des “pays sources”

Le 19 mars, le gouvernement a publié une proposition de modification à la réglementation qui éliminerait la Catégorie des personnes de pays sources. Cette catégorie permet actuellement au Canada de réinstaller des personnes victimes de persécution directement de leur pays d’origine. Beaucoup de Colombiens, en particulier, ont bénéficié de cette catégorie au cours des dernières années : le nouveau rapport du CCR sur la Colombie recommande que cette catégorie soit utilisée pour réinstaller plus de Colombiens.

Le CCR a été surpris par la proposition du gouvernement. Tel qu’indiqué dans la Gazette du Canada, le CCR a été consulté en ce qui concerne la Catégorie des personnes de pays sources - mais sur la façon de l’améliorer, pas de savoir s’il fallait l’éliminer! Le CCR recommande depuis longtemps que la catégorie soit accessible peu importe le pays, plutôt que de se limiter à une liste de pays, et qu’elle soit efficace en Afrique, où de nombreuses personnes font face à la persécution et pourrait bénéficier de la protection du Canada.

L’élimination de la Catégorie des personnes de pays sources fermerait la porte à certaines personnes persécutées qui veulent fuir une situation dangereuse, sans avoir à risquer de traverser la frontière –  et sans avoir à recourir à des passeurs.

Toute personne préoccupée par la proposition d’éliminer la Catégorie des personnes de pays sources doit faire parvenir ses commentaires avant le 18 avril à Debra.Presse@cic.gc.ca.

Le changement proposé est disponible à :

http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/2011/2011-03-19/html/reg3-fra.html

Un article sur le sujet: Canada to scrap one avenue for refugees, Elizabeth Thompson, 21 mars 2011, Vancouver Sun, http://www.vancouversun.com/news/Canada+scrap+avenue+refugees/4476507/story.html

e) De nouvelles règles pour les travailleurs migrants au Canada

travailleurs migrantsLe CCR a exprimé sa déception face aux modifications récentes des réglements concernant les travailleurs migrants qui ne suffiront pas à les protéger.  Ces changements sont entrés en vigueur le 1er avril 2011.

Les travailleurs temporaires constituent une main d’œuvre bon marché mais se voient offrir des protections limitées. Les employeurs qui manquent à leurs obligations envers ces travailleurs sont rarement pénalisés. Les travailleurs se voient refuser l’accès à de nombreux services tels que les cours de langue et dans la plupart des cas, l’accès à la résidence permanente au Canada.

Le CCR est au courant de nombreux cas d’abus et de conditions difficiles vécus par certains travailleurs temporaires – travailleurs qui contribuent à l’économie du Canada. Le gouvernement avait déclaré que les nouvelles mesures étaient conçues pour améliorer la protection des travailleurs des risques de mauvais traitements et d’exploitation, mais elle ne résoudent en rien ces problèmes.

Le Canada utilise de plus en plus les travailleurs étrangers temporaires pour combler une demande de main d’œuvre permanente. Le nombre de travailleurs admis au Canada dans le cadre d’un visa temporaire a doublé au cours des dernières années.

Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés croit que le Canada doit employer l’immigration comme stratégie pour bâtir la nation, et offrir aux travailleurs migrants un accès à la résidence permanente au lieu de les utiliser comme une source de travail jetable.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le communiqué de presse et le document d’information à : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/bulletin/11/03/23

Pour plus d’amples informations à propos de la position et du campagne du CCR pour la protection des droits des travailleurs migrants, voir : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/travailleurs-migrants

f) Les réfugiés vulnérables se trouvant en Libye ont besoin de protection

En mi-mars, le CCR et plusieurs autres organisations canadiennes ont exprimé de graves préoccupations au sujet des réfugiés en Libye, dont certains ont des liens avec le Canada.

Déjà difficile, la situation pour les réfugiés en Libye s’est considérablement détériorée depuis le début du conflit interne. Alors que d’autres ressortissants étrangers fuyant les combats peuvent être rapatriés, les réfugiés, incluant notamment des Somaliens et des Érythréens, ont nulle part où aller.

Les Africains subsahariens sont particulièrement vulnérables en Libye. Les informations selon lesquelles le régime de Kadhafi aurait eu recours à des mercenaires en provenance de l’Afrique sub-saharienne ont renforcé la discrimination raciale déjà existante. Des Africains noirs ont été la cible d’attaques brutales. De nombreux réfugiés sont contraints de se cacher.

Le Canada a déjà été actif dans sa réponse à la crise libyenne, notamment en octroyant 5 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire. Les agents d’immigration canadiens s’efforcent de répondre aux personnes en Libye qui ont déposé une demande auprès du Canada.

Le CCR demande au gouvernement canadien de prendre un rôle de premier plan à l’échelle internationale pour s’assurer que la réponse à la crise en Libye donne la priorité nécessaire aux besoins et à la vulnérabilité particuliers des réfugiés.

Le gouvernement canadien devrait notamment :

  • Collaborer avec d’autres gouvernements et avec les organisations internationales pour promouvoir l’évacuation et la protection de tous les réfugiés touchés.
  • Inclure dans les mesures pour évacuer les citoyens canadiens tous les réfugiés qui ont une demande en instance au Canada.
  • Accélérer les demandes d’immigration au Canada de la part des réfugiés touchés par la crise en Libye.

Pour plus d’amples informations et des declarations d’autres organisations, voir : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/bulletin/11/03/15

g) Inscrivez-vous maintenant pour la Consultation du printemps du CCR à Hamilton

603 anniversaire de la ConventionDu 26 au 28 mai 2011, les personnes qui se préoccupent défenseurs des droits des réfugiés et des immigrants des quatre coins du Québec et du Canada se réuniront à Hamilton, pour la Consultation du printemps 2011 du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés (CCR) sur le thème Les droits des réfugiés à l’honneur : 60 ans de la Convention sur les réfugiés

Le contenu de la conférence sera axé sur les défis auxquels sont confrontés les réfugiés, les immigrants, les militants et les travailleurs communautaires au Canada.

Des informations et le formulaire d’inscription sont disponibles à http://ccrweb.ca/fr/reunionsInscrivez-vous avant le 6 mai pour profiter du tarif réduit!

h) Nouveauté du CCR : Élection et droits des réfugiés - Questions aux candidats

À l’approche du scrutin fédéral le 2 mai prochain, c’est un bon moment de soulever des enjeux touchant les réfugiés et les nouveaux arrivants auprès des candidats aux élections fédérales.  Comment se situent-ils par rapport à ces enjeux?

Le CCR vous propose des questions à poser aux candidats aux élections fédérales de 2011. Vous êtes invités à adopter et à adapter ces questions dans vos propres documents.

Vous pouvez habituellement poser une ou deux questions seulement : vous devez donc choisir quelle est votre priorité. Les questions ne sont pas en ordre de priorité.

Une liste de questions et des documents de reference est diponible en ligne à : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/questions-elections-2011

i) Les visages du CCR : Taro Hashimoto, Réseau des jeunes du CCR

Taro HashimotoTaro Hashimoto travaille présentement avec un organisme autochtone dans le domaine des arts à Edmonton, en Alberta et a travaillé avec des jeunes réfugiés dans différents programmes communautaires pour les 8 dernières années. Il fait partie de plusieurs initiatives et comités locaux et régionaux oeuvrant pour la réussite et le bien-être des jeunes réfugiés et immigrants, ainsi que tous les jeunes de la communauté.

Taro est devenu un défenseur des jeunes nouveaux arrivants aux prises avec des difficultés liées à la perte ou au vol de leurs documents d’identité. Il a vu trop d’excellents étudiants, de jeunes mères, de jeunes orphelins et de jeunes hommes ne pas avoir accès à l’école, au travail, à la garderie, au soutien pour les personnes handicapées et à d'autres programmes publics. « J'ai toujours pensé que les autres intervenants en intégration auprès des jeunes devait aussi le voir! Quand j'ai entendu des travailleurs communautaires en parler, je me suis empressé de prendre la parole et j’ai trouvé de nombreuses histoires et de situations similaires. »

Qu'est-ce qui est en jeu? Lorsque les jeunes nouveaux arrivants perdent leurs documents d'identité ou que ceux-ci comportent des erreurs (tel qu’une mauvaise date de naissance ou un nom mal orthographié), ils sont souvent pris dans un processus long, compliqué et coûteux pour remplacer ou corriger leurs documents d'identité. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour ceux qui n’ont pas le soutien de la famille ou de tuteurs, et qui tentent d'établir leur indépendance et leur autonomie. Sans les documents appropriés, certains jeunes ne peuvent aller à l'école en raison des exigences d’inscription ou de financement, tandis que d'autres ne sont pas en mesure d’ouvrir un compte bancaire ou de se trouver un logement. Le danger est que cela peut conduire des jeunes à ne pas avoir de domicile fixe, à des problèmes de santé mentale, ou même à des comportements délinquants ou d'autres comportements à risque.

Que pouvez-vous faire? Si vous ou quelqu'un que vous connaissez a eu un problème à cause de documents d'identité perdus ou incorrects, veuillez envoyer un courriel à: youthID@ccrweb.ca  afin de partager ce que vous savez. Cela nous aidera à comprendre la nature et l'étendue du problème, et éventuellement à trouver des solutions.

Selon Taro, « le fait de simplement soulever la question auprès des jeunes et des intervenants de première ligne contribue à la sensibilisation. Pourquoi ne pas commencer un dialogue local en posant la question: «Savez-vous que le fait de ne pas avoir les bons documents d'identité peut ruiner la vie des jeunes nouveaux arrivants?  J'espère que la situation pourra s’améliorer pour tout le monde. En fin de compte, cela signifie que de nombreux jeunes nouveaux arrivants peuvent devenir plus actifs, réussir mieux et se développer ».

Pour plus d'informations sur les jeunes nouveaux arrivants et les questions liées aux documents d'identité ou sur les autres campagnes du Réseau des jeunes du CCR, consultez le forum de discussion de la campagne à: http://forum.ccrweb.ca

-----

Vous cherchez d’autres moyens de rester en contact avec le CCR et les enjeux touchant les réfugiés et les immigrants? Abonnez-vous aux mises à jour du CCR sur Twitter et Facebook:

Pour joindre le CCR sur Facebook : http://facebook.com/ccrweb

Pour joindre le CCR sur Twitter : http://twitter.com/ccrweb

Pour voir des vidéos du CCR sur YouTube : http://www.youtube.com/ccrwebvideos