Vulnerable refugees in Libya need protection

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees

Media release

For immediate release
15 March 2011

Vulnerable refugees in Libya need protection

Canadian organizations today expressed grave concerns about refugees in Libya, some of whom have connections to Canada.

An already bad situation in Libya for refugees has become dramatically worse since the outbreak of the internal conflict. While other foreign nationals fleeing the fighting can be repatriated, refugees, including many from Somalia and Eritrea, have nowhere to go.

Sub-Saharan Africans are particularly vulnerable in Libya. Reports that the Gaddafi regime is using mercenaries from sub-Saharan Africa have reinforced existing racial discrimination, leading to vicious attacks on black Africans. Many refugees are in hiding.

8,000 refugees were registered in Libya with the UNHCR, and 3,000 more are seeking asylum. A significant number are in detention.

Tesfay [not his real name] is living with seven other Eritreans in a room in Tripoli. Four have been accepted in principle for resettlement to Canada. Since the beginning of the revolt they have only once dared leave the room. They give money to an elderly Libyan woman who buys food for them. They are running out of money because it is not safe to go out for work.

Tesfay fled Eritrea over two years ago. He was imprisoned several times in Libya before he was granted a UN refugee identity card. His aunt lives in Saskatoon, and is part of a group sponsoring him.

Some refugees have managed to escape Libya and are stranded in one of the neighbouring countries. Last week the Italian government evacuated 58 Eritreans from Tripoli.

Canada has already been active in its response to the Libyan crisis, including granting $5 million in humanitarian aid. Canadian immigration officials have been working to respond to people in Libya with applications to come to Canada.

The Canadian Council for Refugees calls on the Canadian government to take a leading role internationally to ensure that the response to the Libya crisis gives due priority to the particular needs and vulnerability of refugees.

In particular, the Canadian government should:

  • Work with other governments and international organizations to promote the evacuation and protection of all affected refugees.
  • Include refugees with a pending application to Canada in measures to evacuate Canadian citizens.
  • Fast-track refugee and immigration applications to Canada from refugees affected by the Libyan crisis.

This call is endorsed by the following other organizations: Amnesty International Canada, the Eritrean Canadian Community Centre of Metropolitan Toronto (ECCC), Somali Cause, the Canadian Arab Federation, Jesuit Refugee Service Canada, the Roman Catholic Diocese of Saskatoon, Manitoba Interfaith Immigration Council, Palestine House, Gospel of Love Church (Toronto), the Eritrean community in Nova Scotia, the New Brunswick African Association (NBAA) and the Eritrean Catholic Geez Rite Community Chaplaincy.

Contacts:

Colleen French, Canadian Council for Refugees: 514-277-7223 ext. 1, 514-476-3971 (cell), email cfrench@ccrweb.ca

Further information:
UNHCR, Responding to the Libya Crisis, http://www.unhcr.org/pages/4d7755246.html

JRS release, A coordinated EU response to the Libyan crisis is needed now, JRS urges EU governments to prioritise the needs of the most vulnerable refugees, 8 March 2011, http://www.jrs.net/news_detail?TN=NEWS-20110307041713

Amnesty International release, Fears grow for Libya migrants as thousands flee, 2 March 2011, AI Index: PRE01/098/201, http://www.amnesty.org/en/for-media/press-releases/fears-grow-libya-migrants-thousands-flee-2011-03-02

Somali Cause release, A Call to Rescue the Stranded Somali Refugees in Libya, 11 March 2011, http://www.somalicause.org/?p=145

Human Rights Concern Eritrea release, The Tragedy of Eritrean Refugees Caught Up in Libyan Uprising, 25 February 2011, http://www.hrc-eritrea.org/article.php?id=162

Les réfugiés vulnérables se trouvant en Libye ont besoin de protection

Version imprimable

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés

Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

Les réfugiés vulnérables se trouvant en Libye ont besoin de protection

Le 15 mars 2011 - Plusieurs organisations canadiennes ont exprimé aujourd’hui de graves préoccupations au sujet des réfugiés en Libye, dont certains ont des liens avec le Canada.

Déjà difficile, la situation pour les réfugiés en Libye s’est considérablement détériorée depuis le début du conflit interne. Alors que d’autres ressortissants étrangers fuyant les combats peuvent être rapatriés, les réfugiés, incluant notamment des Somaliens et des Érythréens, ont nulle part où aller.

Les Africains subsahariens sont particulièrement vulnérables en Libye. Les informations selon lesquelles le régime de Kadhafi aurait eu recours à des mercenaires en provenance de l’Afrique sub-saharienne ont renforcé la discrimination raciale déjà existante. Des Africains noirs ont été la cible d’attaques brutales. De nombreux réfugiés sont contraints de se cacher.

8 000 réfugiés ont été enregistrés auprès du HCR en Libye, et 3 000 autres sont demandeurs d’asile. Un nombre important est en détention.

Tesfay [nom fictif] demeure avec sept autres Érythréens dans une chambre à Tripoli. Quatre d’entre eux ont été acceptés en principe pour la réinstallation au Canada. Depuis le début de la révolte, ils n’ont osé quitter la chambre qu’une seule fois. Ils donnent de l’argent à une femme âgée libyenne qui achète de la nourriture pour eux. Ils sont à court d’argent, car il est trop dangéreux pour eux d’aller au travail.

Tesfay a fui l’Érythrée il y a deux ans. Il a été emprisonné à plusieurs reprises en Libye avant d’obtenir une carte d’identité de réfugié des Nations Unies. Sa tante vit à Saskatoon et fait partie d’un groupe qui le parraine.

Certains réfugiés ont réussi à s’enfuir de la Libye et sont bloqués dans l’un des pays voisins. La semaine dernière, le gouvernement italien a évacué 58 Érythréens depuis Tripoli.

Le Canada a déjà été actif dans sa réponse à la crise libyenne, notamment en octroyant 5 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire. Les agents d’immigration canadiens s’efforcent de répondre aux personnes en Libye qui ont déposé une demande auprès du Canada.

Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés demande au gouvernement canadien de prendre un rôle de premier plan à l’échelle internationale pour s’assurer que la réponse à la crise en Libye donne la priorité nécessaire aux besoins et à la vulnérabilité particuliers des réfugiés.

Le gouvernement canadien devrait notamment :

  • Collaborer avec d’autres gouvernements et avec les organisations internationales pour promouvoir l’évacuation et la protection de tous les réfugiés touchés.
  • Inclure dans les mesures pour évacuer les citoyens canadiens tous les réfugiés qui ont une demande en instance au Canada.
  • Accélérer les demandes d’immigration au Canada de la part des réfugiés touchés par la crise en Libye.

Cette demande est soutenue par les organisations suivantes : Amnesty International Canada,  Eritrean Canadian Community Centre of Metropolitan Toronto (ECCC), Somali Cause, la Fédération canado-arabe, le Service jésuite aux réfugiés Canada, Le diocèse catholique romain de Saskatoon, Manitoba Interfaith Immigration Council, Palestine House, Gospel of Love Church (Toronto) et la communauté érythréenne en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Contacts :

Colleen French, Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés : 514-277-7223 poste 1, 514-476-3971 (cellulaire), courriel : cfrench@ccrweb.ca


Pour de plus amples informations (en anglais) :

HCR, Responding to the Libya Crisis, http://www.unhcr.org/pages/4d7755246.html

Communiqué, JRS, A coordinated EU response to the Libyan crisis is needed now, JRS urges EU governments to prioritise the needs of the most vulnerable refugees, 8 mars 2011, http://www.jrs.net/news_detail?TN=NEWS-20110307041713

Communiqué, Amnesty International, Fears grow for Libya migrants as thousands flee, 2 mars 2011, AI Index: PRE01/098/201, http://www.amnesty.org/en/for-media/press-releases/fears-grow-libya-migrants-thousands-flee-2011-03-02

Communiqué, Somali Cause, A Call to Rescue the Stranded Somali Refugees in Libya, 11 mars 2011, http://www.somalicause.org/?p=145

Communiqué, Human Rights Concern Eritrea, The Tragedy of Eritrean Refugees Caught Up in Libyan Uprising, 25 février 2011, http://www.hrc-eritrea.org/article.php?id=162