Changes to the Temporary Foreign Worker Program Leave Workers Unprotected

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees

Media Release

For immediate release
23 March 2011

Changes to the Temporary Foreign Worker Program Leave Workers Unprotected

The Canadian Council for Refugees today expressed its disappointment that upcoming changes to the Temporary Foreign Worker Regulations do not adequately protect migrant workers.  The changes come into force on 1 April 2011.

“There are many documented cases of abuse and difficult conditions faced by Temporary Foreign Workers in Canada – workers who are contributing to the Canadian economy,” said CCR President Wanda Yamamoto. “The upcoming changes do not solve the problem, even though the government has stated that the new measures are intended to protect Temporary Foreign Workers from abuse and exploitation.”

“It seems clear to us that the changes are geared towards employers’ interests and ensuring that migrant workers don’t stay in Canada,” stated Ms. Yamamoto. “Abusive employers and recruiters are still not being held accountable. The government must implement a mandatory monitoring system for employers and recruiters of Temporary Foreign Workers, in order to ensure they are not being exploited in Canada.”

Temporary Foreign Workers provide cheap labour, but are offered few protections. Employers who fail to comply with their obligations towards the workers are rarely penalized. Workers are also denied access to many important services such as language instruction, and in most cases to permanent residence in Canada.

Canada is increasingly using Temporary Foreign Workers to fill permanent jobs. The number of workers admitted to Canada on temporary visas has doubled in recent years. Traditionally Canada has welcomed immigrants on a permanent basis, with most becoming citizens. The shift to temporary migration marks a dramatic change in Canadian immigration policy, yet there has been little public debate.

The Canadian Council for Refugees believes that Canada should use immigration as a nation-building strategy and give migrant workers access to permanent residency, rather than using them as a disposable source of labour.

For more information please see backgrounder.

Contact: Colleen French, Canadian Council for Refugees: 514-277-7223 ext. 1, 514-476-3971 (cell), email cfrench@ccrweb.ca

-----

Backgrounder: Temporary Foreign Worker Program Regulatory Changes April 2011

 Principal changes to be implemented April 1st 2011:

  • Two-year ban on employers who are found to have significantly violated the terms of their agreement with the worker. The assessment of employers takes place when the employer applies for a new work permit application. There are many ways for the employer to reverse a negative assessment.
  • Four-year limit on the stay of Temporary Foreign Workers, followed by a four-year period during which they are not allowed to work in Canada.
  • More rigorous assessment of the genuineness of an employer’s work offer.

What are the shortcomings of these changes?

  • While these changes were announced as measures to protect workers from exploitation, there is still no mandatory monitoring system to uncover cases of abuse. The current mechanism for monitoring employers is an entirely voluntary Monitoring Initiative launched by HRSDC in 2009. A voluntary monitoring system is not effective.
  • The four-year limit on migrant workers ensures that a revolving door of migrant workers willing to accept inferior wages and working conditions will be available to Canadian employers.

Time-limits on migrant workers are intended to reinforce the temporary nature of the program. However, much of the labour demand is permanent. Addressing long-term labour needs via short-term “disposable” labour creates a two-tiered society, with a growing population of workers who have fewer rights than others, treated as useful only for their labour.

CCR considers that:

  • The government must implement a mandatory monitoring system for employers of temporary migrant workers, and pursue prosecutions of those who violate the law.
  • Any time limits should be placed on employers, not workers, to prevent employers from using temporary workers with fewer rights to meet long-term labour demands.

For more information, please visit: http://ccrweb.ca/en/migrant-workers

Les modifications au Programme des travailleurs étrangers temporaires laissent les travailleurs sans protection

Version imprimable

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés

Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

Les modifications au Programme des travailleurs étrangers temporaires laissent les travailleurs sans protection

Le 23 mars 2011 - Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés exprime aujourd’hui sa déception face aux prochaines modifications aux règlements concernant les travailleurs étrangers temporaires, modifications qui ne suffiront pas à protéger les travailleurs migrants. Ces changements doivent entrer en vigueur le 1er avril 2011.

« On a largement documenté les nombreux cas d’abus et de conditions difficiles vécus par certains travailleurs temporaires – travailleurs qui contribuent à l’économie du Canada », a déclaré Wanda Yamamoto, présidente du CCR. « Bien que le gouvernement déclare que ces nouvelles mesures sont conçues pour améliorer la protection des travailleurs des risques de mauvais traitements et d’exploitation, les modifications à venir ne résoudront en rien ces problèmes. »

« Il nous semble évident que ces changements ont été faits dans l’intérêt des employeurs et afin de s’assurer que les travailleurs migrants ne restent pas au Canada », a déclaré Mme Yamamoto. « Des employeurs et recruteurs abusifs continuent à ne pas être tenus responsables de leurs actes. Le gouvernement doit adopter un système de surveillance obligatoire des employeurs et des recruteurs de travailleurs étrangers temporaires afin de s’assurer que ces travailleurs ne soient pas victimes d’exploitation au Canada. »

Les travailleurs temporaires constituent une main d’œuvre bon marché mais se voient offrir des protections limitées. Les employeurs qui manquent à leurs obligations envers ces travailleurs sont rarement pénalisés. Les travailleurs se voient refuser l’accès à de nombreux services tels que les cours de langue et dans la plupart des cas, l’accès à la résidence permanente au Canada.

Le Canada utilise de plus en plus les travailleurs étrangers temporaires pour combler une demande de main d’œuvre permanente. Le nombre de travailleurs admis au Canada dans le cadre d’un visa temporaire a doublé au cours des dernières années. Traditionnellement, les immigrants arrivent au Canada avec un statut permanent et la plupart deviennent citoyens. Ce virage vers la migration temporaire constitue un changement radical de la politique d’immigration du Canada, effectué sans véritable débat public.

Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés croit que le Canada doit employer l’immigration comme stratégie pour bâtir la nation, et offrir aux travailleurs migrants un accès à la résidence permanente au lieu de les utiliser comme une source de travail jetable.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le document d’information.

Contact: Colleen French : 514-277-7223 poste 1, 514-476-3971 (cell), courriel cfrench@ccrweb.ca

-----

Document d’information : Changements réglementaires au Programme de travailleurs étrangers temporaires avril 2011

Les principales modifications qui seront mises en vigueur le 1er avril 2011 :

  • Une suspension de deux ans pour les employeurs coupables de violations significatives des termes de leur accord avec le travailleur. L’évaluation a lieu lorsque l’employeur fait une demande pour une nouvelle demande de permis de travail. L’employeur peut renverser une évaluation négative de plusieurs façons.
  • La limite du séjour des Travailleurs migrants temporaires est fixée à quatre ans, suivie d’une période de quatre ans durant laquelle il ne leur est pas permis de travailler au Canada.
  • Une évaluation plus rigoureuse de l’authenticité des offres de travail de l’employeur.

Quelles sont les lacunes dans ces modifications?

  • Alors que ces changements sont supposés protéger les travailleurs contre l’exploitation, il n’y a toujours pas de système obligatoire de surveillance permettant de découvrir de tels abus.
  • Le moyen actuel de surveiller les employeurs est l’Initiative de suivi auprès des employeurs lancée par RHDCC en 2009, programme auquel les employeurs peuvent participer sur une base volontaire. Un système de surveillance sur une base volontaire n’est pas efficace.
  • La limite de durée de quatre ans assure aux employeurs canadiens une rotation de travailleurs migrants acceptant des salaires et des conditions de travail inférieurs.

La limite de séjour a pour objectif de renforcer la nature temporaire du programme. Cependant, le besoin de main d’œuvre est permanent. Répondre à une demande permanente de travailleurs par une main-d’œuvre jetable crée une société à deux vitesses, avec une population grandissante de travailleurs utilisés exclusivement pour leur travail sans qu’ils aient les mêmes droits que les autres.

 CCR considère que:

  • Le gouvernement doit mettre en œuvre un système de surveillance obligatoire pour les employeurs de travailleurs migrants temporaires et poursuivre ceux qui violent la loi.
  • Les limites de durée doivent s’appliquer aux employeurs afin d’éviter que ceux-ci n’utilisent les travailleurs migrants pour combler des demandes de main d’œuvre permanentes et à long-terme.

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez visiter : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/travailleurs-migrants

Mars 2011