Federal Court rules refugees in Cairo unfairly rejected by Canada

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees

Press release

For immediate release

6 May 2011

Federal Court rules refugees in Cairo unfairly rejected by Canada

 

The Canadian Council for Refugees today welcomed the Federal Court’s ruling that four Eritrean refugees were unfairly refused by the Canadian visa office in Cairo.

The four cases are representative cases of a group of 40 Eritreans, all rejected by the same visa officer.

In four judgments issued May 5, 2011, the Federal Court overturned the visa officer’s decision in each case. Among the errors found by the Court were that:

  • The visa officer failed to consider the fact that the applicant had been found to be a refugee by the UNHCR;
  • The visa officer failed to assess relevant risks of persecution, including on the basis of gender persecution, military desertion and departure from Eritrea without a permit;
  • Many of the visa officer’s findings of lack of credibility were unreasonable.

For example, the visa officer did not believe two applicants were Pentecostal, and therefore at risk of persecution, because they were unable to name the “seven gifts of the Holy Spirit”. The Court ruled this an inappropriate and arbitrary test, and noted that the visa officer admitted that she knew little of the Pentecostal faith and how it is practised in Eritrea.

The visa officer also found implausible the ratios of guards to prisoners claimed by two applicants who had escaped imprisonment in Eritrea, and therefore rejected their stories. The court ruled that the officer’s finding of implausibility was “pure speculation or conjecture”.

The CCR has been raising concerns about refusals of Eritreans at Cairo since the fall of 2009. In March 2010 the CCR released a detailed report of 17 such refusals, highlighting many of the same errors as the Federal Court.

The CCR has longstanding concerns about the quality of refugee decision-making at visa offices overseas. While the cases at issue were decided by one particular visa office, the CCR believes they reflect systemic shortcomings. Visa officers are often inadequately trained, decisions are rarely reviewed by the courts or monitored internally, and there are few witnesses to interviews, which are not recorded. The system thus lacks accountability.

The four individuals whose decisions were overturned are now entitled to a new decision by a different visa officer. With respect to the other individuals in this group, the CCR hopes that a settlement can be reached quickly, leading to them also being granted new hearings.

These cases demonstrate the need for a mechanism to correct obviously flawed decisions by visa officers, without requiring lengthy and expensive court processes. Most refugees outside Canada have no means of bringing an application to the Federal Court.

The refugees whose cases were unfairly rejected have been forced to endure acute hardship in Cairo. They face limited legal rights, arrest and harassment by authorities, sexual harassment and routine racial discrimination. Several of these refugees recently shared with the CCR some of the difficulties of their lives, as documented in  Eritrean refugees awaiting Federal Court decision suffer acute hardship in Cairo.

 

For further information, please contact:
Colleen French, Canadian Council for Refugees: 514 277-7223 ext. 1, cfrench@ccrweb.ca


Federal Court decisions:

2011 FC 519
2011 FC 520
2011 FC 521
2011 FC 522


See also the following CCR publications:

Report, Concerns with refugee decision-making at Cairo, 31 January 2010

Release and backgrounder, Eritrean refugees awaiting Federal Court decision suffer acute hardship in Cairo, 5 April 2011

Release, Refugees overseas denied a fair hearing, CCR report shows, 25 March 2010 

Release, Disturbing upsurge in rejections of Eritrean refugees in Cairo by Canada, 30 November 2009

La Cour fédérale statue que le Canada a injustement rejeté des réfugiés au Caire

Version imprimable

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés
Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

La Cour fédérale statue que le Canada a injustement rejeté des réfugiés au Caire

Le 6 mai 2011 - Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés a salué aujourd’hui la décision de la Cour fédérale à l’effet que quatre réfugiés érythréens ont été injustement refusés par le bureau canadien des visas au Caire.

Les quatre cas sont représentatifs d’un groupe de 40 Erythréens, tous rejetés par la même agente des visas.

Dans quatre arrêts rendus le 5 mai 2011, la Cour fédérale a infirmé la décision de l’agente des visas dans chaque cas. La Cour a relevé, entre autres, les erreurs suivantes :

  • L’agente des visas n’a pas tenu compte du fait que le demandeur avait été reconnu comme réfugié par le HCR;
  • L’agente des visas a omis d’évaluer des risques pertinents de persécution, y compris la persécution liée au genre, à la désertion militaire et au départ de l’Érythrée sans permis;
  • Dans plusieurs cas, l’agente des visas a conclu de façon déraisonnable à un manque de crédibilité.

À titre d’exemple, l’agente des visas n’a pas cru deux demandeurs qui se disaient pentecôtistes, et donc à risque de persécution, parce qu’ils étaient incapables de nommer les « sept dons de l’Esprit Saint ». La Cour a jugé ce test inapproprié et arbitraire, et a noté que l’agente des visas a admis qu’elle connaissait peu la foi pentecôtiste et la façon dont elle est pratiquée en Érythrée.

L’agente des visas a également trouvé peu vraisemblable l’affirmation de deux demandeurs concernant le ratio gardien/détenu dans une prison érythréenne qu’ils avaient fuie. Le tribunal a jugé que la conclusion de l’agente était « de la pure spéculation ou des conjectures ».

Depuis l’automne 2009, le CCR soulève des préoccupations à l’égard du refus dans les dossiers d’Érythréens au Caire. En mars 2010, le CCR a publié un rapport détaillé sur 17 de ces cas refusés, mettant en évidence bon nombre des erreurs soulignées par la Cour fédérale.

Le CCR se préoccupe depuis longtemps de la qualité de la prise de décision concernant les réfugiés, aux bureaux des visas canadiens outremer. Même si les décisions sont prises à un bureau des visas, elles reflètent selon le CCR des lacunes systémiques. Certains agents ne disposent pas d’une formation suffisante, les décisions sont rarement révisées à l’interne ou par les tribunaux, les entrevues sont rarement faites en présence de témoins, et elles ne sont pas enregistrées. Le système manque donc d’imputabilité.

Le dossier des quatre individus dont la décision a été annulée sera maintenant revu par un autre agent des visas. Dans le cas des autres personnes du groupe, le CCR espère un règlement rapide leur assurant à eux aussi une nouvelle audience.

Ces cas démontrent la nécessité d'un mécanisme pour corriger les décisions manifestement erronées prises par des agents des visas, sans devoir recourir à de longues et coûteuses procédures judiciaires. La plupart des réfugiés à l'extérieur du Canada n'ont pas les moyens de présenter une requête à la Cour fédérale.

Les réfugiés injustement rejetés ont été forcés de vivre de graves difficultés au Caire. Leurs droits sont limités, ils font face à l’arrestation et au harcèlement par les autorités, à la discrimination raciale quotidienne, et au harcèlement sexuel. Plusieurs de ces réfugiés ont récemment confié au CCR les difficultés de leur vie quotidienne, tel que documenté dans Des réfugiés érythréens vivent de graves difficultés au Caire.

Contact :

Colleen French, coordonnatrice de la communication du CCR, (514) 277-7223 poste 1, cfrench@ccrweb.ca


Les décisions de la Cour fédérale (en anglais) :

2011 FC 519
2011 FC 520
2011 FC 521
2011 FC 522


À consulter également :

Rapport (en anglais), Concerns with refugee decision-making at Cairo, 31 janvier 2010

Communiqué et document d’information, En attente d’une décision de la Cour fédérale, des réfugiés érythréens vivent de graves difficultés au Caire, 5 avril 2011

Communiqué, Les réfugiés outremer n’ont pas accès à un traitement équitable, 25 mars 2010

Communiqué, Inquiétante vague de rejet par le Canada de réfugiés érythréens au Caire, 30 novembre 2009