Canadian Council for Refugees E-Chronicle Vol. 5 #7, 1 November 2010

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

 CONTENTS:

e)         Faces of the CCR: Andrew Saa Gbongbor, Fredericton

-          Contact your MP about Bill C-49
-          Changes from Bill C-11 explained
-----
 No to Bill C-49

a)      No to C-49 – the anti-smuggling bill that punishes refugees

 
The Canadian Council for Refugees has expressed its grave concern that many of the measures in Bill C-49 fail to honour our obligations towards refugees and would result in refugees being treated unfairly. Despite the government’s claims that it is targeting smugglers, the people who will suffer if this bill is passed are the people fleeing persecution, including children.
  
Among the measures that appear particularly unfair are the following:
  • Expanded powers to detain some refugee claimants for long periods. The CCR notes that children are among those affected by already existing powers of detention. Refugee children should not be detained.
  • Keeping some recognized refugees in long-term limbo, by denying them the right for five years to apply for permanent residence, and therefore for reunification with their children, in violation of the Convention on the Rights of the Child. Children left behind overseas are at risk while waiting to be reunited with their parents who are refugees in Canada.
  • Denial of freedom of movement for some refugees, in violation of the Refugee Convention. This provision would prevent, for example, a person from visiting family members who have taken refuge in third countries.
  • Denial of family reunification rights for some refugees. This provision would prevent, for example, a person from being able to sponsor a spouse they married after arrival in Canada. 
An outline of the CCR’s main concerns with Bill C-49 is available at http://ccrweb.ca/en/c49-key-concerns.
 
For a list of organizations calling for the defeat of Bill C-49, see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/organizations-calling-defeat-bill-c-49
 
Join the CCR’s call to elected official to vote against Bill C-49 at second reading. Contact your Member of Parliament (MP) by telephone or email as soon as possible. For suggestions of what to say, see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/c-49-contact-your-mp
 
Please pass on this call to action to others!
 
For additional information on Bill C-49 and how it would impact refugees, see the web page on the bill: http://ccrweb.ca/en/c49
 

b)     Canada’s stateless children

 
Chloe GoldringSnug in the womb of her mother in April 2009, Chloe couldn’t know that a change in Canadian law was about to make her stateless.
 
Chloé was born in July 2009 in Belgium, to an Algerian mother and a Canadian father. She is denied Canadian citizenship because her father was born outside Canada to a Canadian father. Nor is Chloé eligible for citizenship under Algerian or Belgian law, leaving her stateless. Without a citizenship, she cannot travel outside Belgium.
 
The 2009 change to Canadian law is described by the government as protecting “the value of citizenship by limiting citizenship by descent to one generation outside Canada.” 
 
How does this protect the value of citizenship, especially for people like Chloe Goldring?
 
For the rest of Chloé’s story and how it exemplifies a problem in the law that creates statelessness, read the CCR blog entry at: http://ccrweb.ca/en/canadas-stateless-children
   
For more information on the April 2009 changes to the Citizenship Act, see CCR, Canadian Citizenship: Impact of Changes
 
You can hear Mr Goldring discussing his family’s difficult situation on a recent edition of The Current (CBC radio). 
 
For more information on statelessness and Canada’s role, see Statelessness and Canada: An introduction
 
 

c)      CCR Consultation in Calgary: Register before November 5th to take advantage of reduced registration fees

 
Fairness - L'équité pour tousFrom 24 to 26 November 2010, refugee and immigrant rights advocates from across Canada will be gathering in Calgary for the Canadian Council for Refugees (CCR) Fall 2010 Consultation, on the theme Fairness – L’équité pour tous.
 
The consultation is an excellent opportunity for all interested to exchange ideas on barriers refugees and newcomers to Canada face before, at and after their arrival in Canada.  Consultation participants include: refugees, immigrants, representatives of community organizations, youth advocates, government, UNHCR, academics and international guests.
 
Consultation discussions will address issues that challenge refugees, immigrants, advocates and community workers.  In addition to larger plenary sessions, workshops and working sessions will produce strategies for further collaboration and specific actions. The workshops cover a broad range of themes and deal with current issues and cutting edge perspectives. There’s something to interest everyone. 
 
Descriptions of workshop sessions: Are you wondering what the CCR Consultation workshops will be about?  Short descriptions of all Consultation workshops are now available online at:  http://ccrweb.ca/sites/ccrweb.ca/files/workshopsen.pdf or on the Consultation webpage. Please share this information with others who would like to participate.
 
Information about the consultation and online registration forms are now available at: http://www.ccrweb.ca/meetings. Register before 5 November to take advantage of the reduced fees!
 

d)     For refugee participants – Apply now to the Amina Malko Fund and the Refugee Leadership Development Programs

 
Is your organization a member of the CCR? Do you know someone with refugee experience involved with your group who has skills, talents and ideas to share with the CCR? Are there refugees involved with your organization who would like to become more involved in the CCR?
 
Take advantage of this opportunity: The application process for the 2011 CCR Amina Malko Refugee Participation Fund and the Refugee Leadership Development Program is now open.
 
Information and application forms for these programs are available at:
 
- Amina Malko Refugee Participation Fund: http://ccrweb.ca/en/amina-malko-application
 
- Refugee Leadership Development Program http://ccrweb.ca/en/refugee-leadership
 
Application deadline: Thursday, December 9th. Please pass on this information to those who are affiliated with a CCR member organization and who are interested in applying.
 

e)      Faces of the CCR: Andrew Saa Gbongbor, Fredericton

 
Saa AndrewAndrew S. Gbongbor (commonly known as Saa Andrew) is a Youth Facilitator at the Multicultural Association of Fredericton and a recent university graduate, having arrived as a refugee from Sierra Leone in 2004. He has seen many changes since then – having to find his own way as a newly-arrived refugee youth. Saa Andrew has a passion for sharing his own experience with others to “help them find their way. I know what they are going through.” 
 
From his work, he mentions some specific challenges for newcomer youth in the Maritimes: finding suitable part-time work and balancing work, school and community participation. Saa Andrew is a big advocate of what he calls mutual accommodation: enabling newcomer youth and Canadian-born youth to learn from each other and to understand differences. “Integration is a work-in-progress, but youth need to have their own free space to understand differences and to increase understanding.” True to this philosophy, Saa Andrew will soon be accompanying youth to a social justice mini-camp organized by the Atlantic Council for International Cooperation.
 
Saa Andrew has recently come on board as a CCR Youth Network Representative. His goals: to learn from other local youth groups elsewhere in Canada and to create refugee rights leaders in the Fredericton area, especially among teachers. “Refugee rights need to be taught in schools to increase understanding among youth groups. We need to push advocacy efforts out to other local groups too.” What’s his advice to other youth who want to become human rights and peace advocates? “You need to be open to fight for change. Don’t be afraid to speak out.”
 
For more information about the CCR Youth Network and Andrew Saa’s fellow Youth Representatives, see: http://www.ccrweb.ca/en/youth/youth-network
 

f)       New from the CCR

 
-          Contact your MP about Bill C-49
 
No to Bill C-49The Canadian Council for Refugees is calling on its members and allies to speak out against Bill C-49, a bill that claims to target smuggling, but effectively attacks refugees.
 
Bill C-49 is presently being debated at second reading in the House of Commons, so it is a critical time to get in touch with your Member of Parliament and urge her/him to vote AGAINST Bill C-49. A vote on the bill at second reading is expected soon, so contact your MP as quickly as possible!
 
For suggested actions, model texts to copy and paste and to find out how to contact your Member of Parliament, see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/c-49-contact-your-mp
 
-          Changes from Bill C-11 explained
 
Changes to the Refugee System – What C-11 Means is a summary of key changes in Bill C-11 – passed by Parliament in summer 2010, including changes to the law governing refugee protection in Canada, and principal issues still to be decided. The document is intended to explain the changes already adopted and to provide suggestions of points to advocate for over the coming months.

Changes to the Refugee System – What C-11 Means is available on the CCR website at: http://ccrweb.ca/sites/ccrweb.ca/files/c11_summary.pdf
 
-----
 
Looking for other ways to stay in touch with the CCR and refugee and immigration issues? Subscribe to receive updates from the CCR on Twitter and Facebook:
 
To join the CCR on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ccrweb
To follow the CCR on Twitter: http://twitter.com/ccrweb
To view CCR videos on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/ccrwebvideos

Chronique du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés Vol. 5 #7, 1er novembre 2010

Version imprimable

***
CONTENU :

Contactez votre député à propos du Projet de loi C-49
Projet de loi C-11 - Conséquences pour le système des réfugiés
-----
 
Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés a exprimé sa vive préoccupation concernant le projet de loi C-49, dont de nombreuses mesures vont à l’encontre de nos obligations envers les réfugiés et se traduiraient par un traitement injuste des réfugiés.  Le gouvernement affirme que le projet de loi vise les passeurs, mais ce sont les personnes fuyant la persécution, dont des enfants, qui souffriront si le projet de loi est adopté.
 
Les mesures suivantes semblent particulièrement injustes :
  • Des pouvoirs élargis de détenir certains demandeurs d’asile pendant de longues périodes. Le CCR note que les enfants sont déjà touchés par les pouvoirs de détention actuels. Les enfants réfugiés ne doivent pas être détenus.
  • Le maintien dans un vide juridique à long terme de certains réfugiés reconnus, en leur refusant le droit de demander la résidence permanente, incluant la réunification avec leurs enfants, en violation de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant. Les enfants laissés à l’étranger sont confrontés à des risques en attendant d’être réunis avec leurs parents qui sont des réfugiés au Canada.
  • Le déni de la liberté de circulation pour certains réfugiés, en violation de la Convention sur les réfugiés. Cette disposition empêcherait, par exemple, une personne de rendre visite aux membres de sa famille qui ont trouvé refuge dans un tiers pays.
  • Le déni du droit à la réunification familiale pour certains réfugiés. Cette disposition empêcherait par exemple, une personne de parrainer son conjoint s’ils se sont mariés après son arrivée au Canada.
Un survol des préoccupations majeures du projet de loi C-49 est disponible à : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/c49-preoccupations-majeures
 
Consultez une liste de groupes qui demandent le rejet du projet de loi : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/organisations-demandant-rejet-projet-loi-c49
 
Joignez-vous à l’appel du CCR aux élu-e-s à voter contre le projet de loi C-49 en deuxième lecture. Contactez voter député-e par téléphone ou par courriel dès que possible. Pour des suggestions de points à aborder, voir : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/c49-contactez-votre-depute
 
Veuillez diffuser cet appel à l’action dans vos réseaux.
 
Pour plus d’informations sur le projet de loi C-49 et ses impacts sur les réfugiés, voir la page web : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/c49
 
 
Chloe GoldringEn avril 2009, bien au chaud dans le ventre de sa mère, Chloé ne pouvait pas savoir qu’une modification à la loi canadienne était sur le point de la rendre apatride.
 
Chloé est née en juillet 2009 en Belgique, d’une mère algérienne et d’un père canadien. Elle se voit refuser la citoyenneté canadienne parce que son père est né à l’extérieur du Canada d’un père canadien. Chloé n’est pas non plus admissible à la citoyenneté selon les lois algériennes et belges : elle est donc apatride. Sans citoyenneté, elle ne peut pas sortir de la Belgique. 
 
Selon le gouvernement canadien, la modification apportée à la loi en 2009 vise à «  préserver la valeur de la citoyenneté canadienne pour les générations futures » en limitant « la transmission de la citoyenneté par filiation à la première génération née à l’étranger. » 
 
Comment cela préserve-t-il la valeur de la citoyenneté, surtout pour les personnes comme Chloe Goldring?
 
Pour connaître plus sur l’histoire de Chloé et ce qu’elle nous apprend d’un problème dans la loi qui crée l’apatridie au Canada, lisez le blogue du CCR à : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/les-enfants-apatrides-canada
 
Pour plus d’informations sur les modifications apportées en avril 2009 à la Loi sur la citoyenneté, voir Citoyenneté canadienne : conséquences des modifications
 
Vous pouvez écouter M. Goldring discuter de la situation difficile à laquelle fait face sa famille en anglais sur The Current (CBC). 
 
Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les cas d’apatrides et le rôle du Canada, voir L’apatridie et le Canada : une introduction
 
 
 
L'équité pour tousDu 24 au 26 novembre 2010, les défenseurs des droits des réfugiés et des immigrants des quatre coins du Canada se réuniront à Calgary pour la Consultation d’automne du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés, sur le thème L’équité pour tous
 
La consultation offrira une occasion unique d’explorer ensemble comment bâtir des communautés accueillantes pour les réfugiés et les immigrants au Canada. Parmi les participants, on retrouvera des réfugiés, des immigrants, des jeunes, des représentants d’ONG, du gouvernement et du HCR, des universitaires et des invités internationaux. 
 
Lors de la consultation, les discussions traiteront des enjeux affectant les réfugiés, les immigrants, les militants et les intervenants. En plus des sessions plénières, les ateliers et les rencontres des Groupes de travail généreront des stratégies pour des collaborations plus poussées et des actions concrètes.  
 
Lisez les descriptions des ateliers : Posez-vous des questions sur le contenu des ateliers de la Consultation?  De courtes descriptions de tous les ateliers sont maintenant disponibles en ligne à : http://ccrweb.ca/sites/ccrweb.ca/files/workshopsfr.pdf  ou à la page web de la Consultation. Merci de partager ces informations avec d’autres personnes qui souhaiteraient participer.
 
L’information au sujet de la consultation et le formulaire d’inscription en ligne sont maintenant disponibles à: http://www.ccrweb.ca/reunions Inscrivez-vous avant le 5 novembre afin de bénéficier des frais réduits!
 
 
Est-ce que votre organisme est membre du CCR? Connaissez-vous une personne ayant un vécu de réfugié qui a des talents et des idées à partager avec le CCR? Y a-t-il des réfugiés impliqués au sein de votre organisme qui aimerait s'impliquer d'avantage au CCR?

Profitez de cette occasion : L'appel de candidatures pour l'année 2011 du Fonds Amina Malko destiné à soutenir la participation des réfugiés et du Programme de développement des capacités de leadership des réfugiés est maintenant ouvert. Des renseignements et des formulaires de demande sont disponibles à :

Fonds Amina Malko destiné à soutenir la participation des réfugiés
http://ccrweb.ca/fr/demande-amina-malko

Programme de développement des capacités de leadership des réfugiés
http://ccrweb.ca/fr/leadership-des-refugies

La date limite pour la soumission des candidatures est le jeudi 9 décembre. Veuillez partager ces informations avec celles et ceux qui sont affiliés avec un membre du CCR et qui seront intéressés à participer et à poser leur candidature.­
 
 
Saa AndrewAndrew S. Gbongbor (communément dénommé Saa Andrew) est moniteur pour les jeunes à l’Association multiculturelle de Fredericton et un nouveau diplomé universitaire, étant arrivé de Sierra Léone comme réfugié en 2004. Depuis, il a vécu beaucoup de changements, puisqu’il avait besoin de trouver son propre chemin comme jeune réfugié nouvellement arrivé. Il a maintenant la passion de partager sa propre expérience avec d’autres pour les « aider à trouver leur propre chemin. Je sais ce qu’ils traversent. »
 
En se basant sur son expérience de travail, il mentionne des défis spécifiques auxquels les jeunes nouveaux arrivants font face dans les Maritimes : trouver un emploi à temps partiel adéquat, et trouver un équilibre entre le travail, l’école, et la participation communautaire. Saa Andrew est un défenseur de ce qu’il nomme l’accommodation mutuelle : donner l’occasion aux jeunes nouveaux arrivants et aux jeunes nés au Canada d’apprendre les uns des autres et de comprendre leurs différences. «  L’intégration est un processus, mais les jeunes ont besoin d’avoir un espace libre où ils peuvent comprendre leurs différences et accroître leur compréhension. » Fidèle à cette philosophie, Saa Andrew va bientôt accompagner des jeunes à un mini-camp de justice sociale organisé par le Conseil atlantique pour la coopération internationale.
 
Saa Andrew s’est récemment embarqué comme représentant du Réseau des jeunes du CCR. Ses objectifs : apprendre des autres groupes de jeunes provenant d’ailleurs au Canada et créer des leaders de la défense des droits des réfugiés dans la région de Fredericton, surtout parmi les enseignants. « Il y a un besoin d’enseigner les droits des réfugiés dans les écoles afin d’accroître la compréhension que les groupes de jeunes ont de ces droits. Nous avons aussi besoin d’encourager d’autres groupes à lutter pour la défense des droits des réfugiés. » Quel conseil a-t-il à donner aux jeunes qui veulent devenir défenseurs des droits humain et de la paix? « Vous devez être ouverts à l’idée de lutter pour le changement. N’ayez pas peur de prendre la parole. »
 
-          Contactez votre député à propos du projet de loi C-49
 
Non au Projet de loi C-49Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés demande à ses membres et aux alliés d’exprimer vivement leurs préoccupations par rapport au projet de loi C-49, une loi qui prétend s’adresser au passage clandestin, mais qui constitue une attaque contre les réfugiés.
 
Le projet de loi C-49 est actuellement en deuxième lecture à la Chambre des communes. Il est donc un moment propice pour contacter votre député-e et l’exhorter à voter CONTRE le projet de loi C-49. Le vote sur ce projet de loi pourrait avoir lieu bientôt – alors merci de contacter votre député-e aussitôt que possible!
 
Pour des actions suggérées, des textes modèles à copier et pour trouver les coordonnées de votre député-e, voir : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/c49-contactez-votre-depute
 
-          Projet de loi C-11 - Conséquences pour le système des réfugiés
 
Projet de loi C-11 – Conséquences pour le système des réfugiés est un résumé des changements majeurs apportés par le Projet de loi C-11 – adopté par le Parlement en été 2010, y compris des changements à la législation concernant la protection des réfugiés au Canada, et les enjeux principaux qui doivent encore être décidés. Le document explique les changements qui ont déjà été adoptés et suggère des points à aborder dans les prochains mois dans la défense des droits des réfugiés.

Projet de loi C-11 - Conséquences pour le système des réfugiés est disponible sur le site web du CCR à : http://ccrweb.ca/sites/ccrweb.ca/files/c11_summary_fr.pdf
 
-----
 
Vous cherchez d’autres moyens de rester en contact avec le CCR et les enjeux touchant les réfugiés et les immigrants? Abonnez-vous aux mises à jour du CCR sur Twitter et Facebook:

Pour joindre le CCR sur Facebook : http://facebook.com/ccrweb
Pour joindre le CCR sur Twitter : http://twitter.com/ccrweb
Pour voir des vidéos du CCR sur YouTube : http://www.youtube.com/ccrwebvideos