Camp Ashraf

Printer-friendly version
Resolution number: 
7
May 2009
Whereas: 
  1. There are 3,400 Iranian dissidents in Iraq at Camp Ashraf who were granted protected persons status under the Fourth Geneva Convention by the Multinational Forces in Iraq. In December 2008 protection of the Camp was handed over to the Government of Iraq;
  2. In January 2009, Iraqi National Security Adviser Mowaffak al Rubaie threatened to make life “intolerable” for the residents of Camp Ashraf in order to spur them to leave Iraq;
  3. Among Al Rubaie’s threats was the forcible relocation of the residents from the Camp, where they have lived for more that two decades and constructed a fully developed town, to an empty desert near the Saudi Arabia border;
  4. Both Amnesty International (AI Index: MDE 14/012/2009, 20 April 2009) and the European Parliament (resolution April 24, 2009) have protested Al Rubaie’s threat of intolerable treatment;
  5. The recent introduction of a large Iraqi police force into Camp Ashraf despite the presence of both the Iraqi and US military at the Camp has alarmed the international community;
  6. George Okoth-Obbo, Director of International Protection, UNHCR, in March 2007 asked the Government of Iraq to refrain from any action that could endanger the life or security of the residents of Camp Ashraf such as their forcible displacement inside Iraq;
Therefore be it resolved: 

That the CCR:

  1. Call on the Government of Canada to oppose forcible relocation or any other mistreatment of the residents of Camp Ashraf in violation of international standards, and to assert that the protection and humane treatment of the residents of Camp Ashraf is a matter of international concern which justifies monitoring by the Multinational Forces while they remain in Iraq and afterwards by the international community once the Multinational Forces leave.
  2. Ask the UNHCR to reiterate its 2007 statement about forcible displacement in light of the current situation.
Working Group: 
Overseas Protection and Resettlement

Le Camp Ashraf

Version imprimable
Numéro de résolution: 
7
mai, 2009
Attendu que: 
  1. Il y a 3 400 dissidents iraniens en Irak au Camp Ashraf, qui se sont vus reconnaître le statut de personnes protégées en vertu de la quatrième Convention de Genève par la Force multinationale en Irak.  En décembre 2008 la protection du camp a été transférée au gouvernement de l’Irak
  2. En janvier 2009, le conseiller à la sécurité nationale de l’Irak, Mowaffak al Rubaie, a menacé de rendre « intolérable » la vie des résidents du camp Ashraf, afin de les inciter à quitter l’Irak;
  3. Al-Rubaie a menacé entre autres de déplacer de force les résidents du camp, où ils vivent depuis plus de deux décennies et où ils ont construit une ville pleinement développée, vers une zone désertique près de la frontière de l’Arabie saoudite;
  4. Tant Amnistie internationale (AI Index: MDE 14/012/2009 20 avril 2009) que le Parlement européen (résolution 24 avril 2009) ont protesté contre la menace de traitement intolérable faite par Al Rubaie;
  5. La récente introduction d’une importante force policière irakienne au camp Ashraf malgré la présence des militaires irakiens et états-uniens au camp a alarmé la communauté internationale;
  6. George Okoth-Obbo, directeur de la Protection internationale, HCR, a demandé en mars 2007 au gouvernement de l’Irak de s’abstenir de toute action qui pourrait mettre en danger la vie ou la sécurité des résidents du camp Ashraf tel leur déplacement forcé à l’intérieur de l’Irak;
Il est résolu: 

Que le CCR :

  1. Demande au gouvernement du Canada de s’opposer à tout transfert forcé ou à tout autre mauvais traitement des résidents du camp Ashraf qui violerait les normes internationales, et de déclarer que la protection et le traitement humain des résidents du camp Ashraf préoccupent la communauté internationale et justifient donc une surveillance par la force multinationale pendant leur présence en Irak et ensuite par la communauté internationale après le départ de la force multinationale.
  2. Demande au HCR de réitérer sa déclaration de 2007 au sujet du déplacement forcé à la lumière de la situation actuelle.
Groupe de travail: 
Protection outremer et réinstallation