Thank you for participating in the CCR Fall Consultation in Niagara Falls, 30 Nov – 2 Dec 2017

Subject: Thank you for participating in the CCR Fall Consultation in Niagara Falls, 30 Nov - 2 Dec 2017

We would like to thank you for participating in the Canadian Council for Refugees’ Fall Consultation in Niagara Falls. We hope that your experience at the Consultation was a rewarding one and we look forward to working with you in the future.


We are posting presentations and other resources from many of the workshops in the ‘Members’ area of the CCR website, at: We are adding presentations as they come in, so you might want to check in again later.

Are you with a CCR member organization and you don’t yet have an account?  Set one up following the instructions at: Your organization is not yet a CCR member?  Please consider joining:

Participants who are not CCR members can also access the presentations on a temporary basis (until mid-January) using the user name: participant, password: Fall2017.

Conference Evaluations

Your feedback about the Consultation is very important to us!  If you already submitted the evaluation form – many thanks.

If not, please take a few moments to fill in the online form at:

Alternatively you can fill out the yellow ‘Evaluation form’ in your conference pack and submit it by email (scanned) to, by fax to (514) 277-1447 or by mail to the CCR office (6839A Drolet #301, Montréal QC, H2S 2T1).

Your input helps us to make improvements for future Consultations.

News from the Annual General Meeting

We are pleased to announced that several new Executive members were elected at the Annual General Meeting, including Claire Roque as President, and Dorota Blumczynska as Vice-President.

In addition, the CCR members approved a resolution on Criminality and Double Punishment.

Conference report

We will be preparing a brief summary report of workshops. When completed, it will be posted on the CCR recent information page, and at (lower down, under Consultation Reports)

More on the CCR Youth Network

If you were inspired by seeing the youth in action, you might want to keep updated on the CCR Youth Network. Join the network by liking the Facebook page ( and by joining the Youth Network listserv by sending an email to: (the listserv is open to all).

Upcoming consultations

We hope to see you and your colleagues at the International Refugee Rights Conference in Toronto, 7 – 9 June 2018. Look for more information at:

Support the CCR

If you felt inspired by the work done by the CCR, please consider becoming a Friend of the CCR or making a donation so we can continue our work.

Conference Photos

An online collection of photos from the Consultation is available at:


The Canadian Council for Refugees gratefully acknowledges financial support for the consultation from: the Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration of Ontario, the Fort Erie Culture Committee, the Brock University Social Justice Research Institute, and all our donors.

We also underline the donations and services of: Fort Erie Multicultural Centre, YMCA of Niagara, Niagara Folk Arts Multicultural Centre, Anglican Diocese of Niagara, Greater Fort Erie Secondary School, Welland Heritage Council, Centre de Santé Communautaire Hamilton-Niagara, Niagara Chapter for Native Women, Town of Fort Erie, City of Niagara Falls, City of Welland, and the City of St. Catharines.

The workshops were organized by many active and diligent volunteers across Canada, and we are grateful for their contribution. We also thank the panellists and moderators, on whom the consultation’s success depends. Our gratitude also goes to the local volunteers, whose contribution is invaluable and whose goodwill and devotion we truly appreciate. The consultation couldn't have happened without you!

We wish to thank the members of the Local Organizing Committee for their commitment, time and energy: Melissa Austin, Rhiannon Barry, Jeff Burch, Lisa Garlent, Lynn Hannigan, Rosemary Legge, Maria Londono, Roy McGregor, Janet Madume, Martha Mason, Emmanuel Mompongo, Rev. Bill Mous, Melenie Neamtz, Bonaventure Otshudi, Roxanne Russell, Rev. Bill Thomas, and Mariah Walker