CCR calls on the government to step up protection for trafficked persons and migrant workers at risk

Printer-friendly version

Canadian Council for Refugees
Media release

For immediate release
19 February 2020

CCR calls on the government to step up protection for trafficked persons and migrant workers at risk

On the eve of Ontario Human Trafficking Awareness Day, the Canadian Council for Refugees (CCR) renews its call for the federal government to take action to protect non-citizens in Canada who have been trafficked.

Canada must amend its laws to provide effective protection for persons who have been trafficked, recognizing that trafficking can take many different forms. Stronger recourses, based on human rights, are essential so that trafficked persons can win justice.

‘’Canada’s policies don’t provide adequate protection for people who have lived through the ordeal of trafficking,” said Dorota Blumczynska, CCR President. “Survivors have to navigate an imperfect system just to get temporary protection in Canada, and the chances of permanence are distant. We need changes to immigration legislation to make sure the rights of trafficked persons are fully protected.”

People who have experienced human trafficking too often struggle to receive necessary services. Canada’s new National Strategy to Combat Human Trafficking (2019-2024) provides an opportunity to ensure a comprehensive and integrated response to human trafficking across all provinces.

Forced labour happens regularly in Canada, but too often goes unrecognized because the government and the courts are reluctant to acknowledge how people are deceived and coerced into situations of labour trafficking.

The recent experiences of more than 60 migrant workers caught in a network of labour exploitation in Wasaga∕Barrie highlight the scale of the problem. Ontario has the most reported cases of human trafficking in Canada. On February 21, the CCR is in Windsor, Ontario for an International Migrants Trafficking Forum that seeks to raise awareness about exploitation taking place in our communities.

The CCR invites other organizations to call on the federal government to adopt a holistic approach to human trafficking that addresses root causes, protects rights, provides permanent status and offers access to justice and to services.

-30-

Read the Canadian Council for Refugees five central policy demands and anti-trafficking advocacy strategy: ccrweb.ca/en/anti-trafficking-advocacy

Contact:

Aude Lecouturier, Communications Coordinator, Canadian Council for Refugees, 514-277-7223, ext.1, 514-602-2098 (cell), media@ccrweb.ca

Le CCR appelle le gouvernement à renforcer la protection des personnes ayant subi la traite et des travailleurs migrants à risque.

Version imprimable

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés
Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 19 février 2020

Le CCR appelle le gouvernement à renforcer la protection des personnes ayant subi la traite et des travailleurs migrants à risque.

À la veille de la Journée ontarienne de sensibilisation à la traite des personnes, le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés (CCR) demande de nouveau au gouvernement fédéral de prendre des actions pour protéger les non-citoyens au Canada qui ont subi la traite.

Le Canada doit modifier ses lois pour offrir une protection réelle aux personnes qui ont subi la traite et doit reconnaitre que la traite peut prendre des formes diverses. Des recours plus efficaces, basés sur les droits humains, sont essentiels pour que les personnes ayant subi la traite obtiennent justice.

« Les politiques canadiennes n’offrent pas une protection adéquate pour les personnes ayant subi l’horreur de la traite, » à déclaré la Présidente du CCR Dorota Blumczynska. « Les survivant-e-s doivent naviguer un système imparfait juste pour obtenir une protection temporaire au Canada, et les chances d’obtenir un statut permanent sont faibles. Nous avons besoin de changements dans la réglementation pour s’assurer que les droits des personnes ayant subi la traite sont pleinement respectés. »

Les personnes qui ont subi la traite humaine luttent trop souvent pour recevoir les services dont ils ont besoin. La nouvelle Stratégie nationale de lutte contre la traite des personnes 2019-2024 offre une occasion de mettre en place une approche globale et intégrée à la traite des personnes dans tout le Canada.

Le travail forcé se produit au quotidien au Canada mais trop souvent il n’est pas reconnu car le gouvernement et les tribunaux sont réticents à reconnaitre que des individus sont trompés et contraints dans des situations de traite pour des fins de travail.

La récente expérience de plus de 60 travailleurs et travailleuses migrant-e-s piégé-e-s dans un réseau d’exploitation à Wasaga∕Barrie illustre l’ampleur du problème. L’Ontario a le plus grand nombre de cas rapportés de traite des personnes au Canada. Le 21 février, le CCR sera à Windsor, Ontario, pour un Forum international sur la traite des migrants qui vise à sensibiliser à l’exploitation qui a lieu dans nos communautés.

Le CCR invite d’autres organismes à demander au gouvernement fédéral d’adopter une approche holistique de la traite des êtres des personnes qui s’attaque aux causes profondes, protège les droits, offre un statut permanent et un accès à la justice et aux services.

-30-

Lisez (en anglais) les cinq revendications politiques principales et la stratégie contre la traite du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés : ccrweb.ca/en/anti-trafficking-advocacy

Contact:

Aude Lecouturier, Coordinatrice des communications, Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés, 514-277-7223, poste.1, 514-602-2098 (cell), media@ccrweb.ca