People without status

Printer-friendly version
Resolution number: 
December 2001

The CCR has adopted Resolution 12 of May 2001;

Therefore be it resolved: 

That the CCR:

  1. Adopt the principal demand of the Comité d’action des sans statut [Action Committee of the People without Status] which calls on the Canadian government to grant automatic landing to those persons refused refugee status who are from one of the five moratorium countries (Afghanistan, Algeria, Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda) three years after they made their refugee claim in Canada. This is a way of regularizing the status of people who currently are without status.
  2. Undertake to advocate for and promote this position to the Canadian government authorities in order to urge them to adopt a policy on the lines of the above demand.
Working Group: 
Inland Protection