Fall Consultation 2020

The CCR Fall Consultation will take place on-line 26 November - 11 December on the theme of: Challenges and beyond: thriving in the era of a pandemic.

As we all grapple with the reverberations of the pandemic, refugees, refugee claimants, migrants and newcomers face a unique set of challenges. So do those working to support them.

Through these trials and tribulations, what does it look like to survive and to thrive? This consultation will highlight key issues affecting vulnerable communities as well new opportunities emerging in the midst of a health crisis. Participants will share strategies, tools and resources to move beyond the challenges.

Registration now open! 

Workshops, CCR consultation, Fall 2020

"Early" sessions begin at:

12pm Eastern 
1:30pm Newfoundland
1pm Atlantic
11am Central
10am Mountain
9am Pacific

"Late" sessions begin at:

2:30pm Eastern 
4pm Newfoundland
3:30pm Atlantic
1:30pm Central
12:30pm Mountain
11:30am Pacific

All sessions last 90 minutes (unless otherwise indicated).

  • Opening plenary with keynote speaker Senator Ratna Omidvar | 26 Nov 2020 | Early
  • Creating ally ship: Indigenous perspectives on welcoming newcomers | 26 Nov 2020 | Late
  • Addressing refugee determination issues during COVID | 27 Nov 2020 | Early
  • Innovative Approaches to Housing | 27 Nov 2020 | Late
  • Security Inadmissibility: Lives in Limbo | 30 Nov 2020 | Early
  • Family Reunification Challenges | 30 Nov 2020 | Late
  • Root causes of displacement | 1 Dec 2020 | Early
  • Walk a Mile in These Shoes | 1 Dec 2020 | Late
  • The US-Canada border in the age of COVID | 2 Dec 2020 | Early
  • Anti-Black racism – inequities in systems | 2 Dec 2020 | Late
  • Family or Stranger? Who Canada Welcomes | 3 Dec 2020 | Early
  • Youth Engagement Sustainability Toolkit Launch: Sharing key lessons and important questions to consider | 3 Dec 2020 | Late
  • Dealing with the Pandemic: Quarantining and Beyond | 4 Dec 2020 | Early
  • Anti-trafficking: seeking remedies and protection | 4 Dec 2020 | Late
  • Rethinking Boundaries: A Fireside Chat with IRCC | 7 Dec 2020 | Early
  • Changing perceptions by centring newcomer voices | 7 Dec 2020 | Late
  • Overseas Protection and Resettlement Working Group meeting | 8 Dec 2020 | Early
  • Immigration and Settlement Working Group meeting | 8 Dec 2020 | Late
  • Inland Protection Working Group meeting | 9 Dec 2020 | Early
  • The Global Refugee Regime: Options for the Never-to-be-resettled | 9 Dec 2020 | Late
  • Caucus: International Medical Graduates | 10 Dec 2020 | Early
  • Caucus: African Refugee Network | 10 Dec 2020 | Late
  • Annual General Meeting | 11 Dec 2020 | Early