Canadian Council for Refugees E-Chronicle Vol. 7 #3, 8 June 2012

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Current issue and campaign pages:

Protect Refugees from Bill C-31

Speak out against cuts to the Interim Federal Health program this June 18th

What We Want for Refugees: Four faces, four values

Upcoming CCR meetings in 2012:

Summer Working Group meetings, Friday, September 7 and Saturday September 8, Montreal

Fall Consultation, Thursday, November 29 - Saturday, December 1, Toronto

Canadian Council for Refugees E-Chronicle Vol. 7 #3, 8 June 2012

CONTENTS:

  1. Update on Bill C-31: CCR comments on amendments, return to the House of Commons
  2. Government information on refugee healthcare changes misleading, may be fatal
  3. Are you a youth advocate? Live outside of Montreal? Apply to participate in the CCR’s Youth Action Gathering!
  4. Federal government ends immigration agreements with BC and Manitoba: CCR comments
  5. CCR Spring Consultation: Conclusions and next steps
  6. Faces of the CCR: Chloe Raxlen, CCR Youth Coordinator

---

  1. Update on Bill C-31: CCR comments on amendments, return to the House of Commons

No to Bill C-31Bill C-31 was sent back to the House of Commons on 14 May 2012, after being revised by the Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration. For the revised text of the bill, see: http://bit.ly/KHrumi. To read the amendments passed, see: http://bit.ly/HJTwgZ.

On 9 May 2012, the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration announced changes to Bill C-31, Protecting Canada’s Immigration System Act. While the CCR welcomes changes that improve protection for refugees in Canada, the majority of the CCR’s key concerns with the bill remain, including:

  • Provisions to designate ‘irregular arrivals’ (also referred to as ‘designated arrivals’) and ’safe countries’ (also referred to as ‘designated countries of origin’) that discriminate simply because of a person’s origin or method of arrival
  • Speedy and inflexible timelines that prevent people from telling their stories and preparing their cases properly
  • A five-year ban on permanent residence applications and family reunification for “irregular arrivals” once they are recognized as refugees
  • Mandatory detention for some claimants

Even with the changes that the Minister proposes, Bill C-31 will make refugee protection in Canada dangerously vulnerable to political whims, rather than ensuring a fair and independent decision on refugee claims.

The announced changes provide for:

  • Detention reviews for detained, ‘irregular arrival’ refugee claimants within 2 weeks and then after 6 months. While shorter than Bill C-31’s initial 1-year review, this will still mean that refugee claimants, including minors, who have done nothing wrong, will be detained with costly financial and mental health consequences. Legal experts have also indicated that this change will not comply with requirements under the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.
  • No automatic loss of permanent residence status for accepted refugees due to a change of circumstances in their country of origin, removing provisions for what was described as ‘conditional permanent residence.’

Unfortunately, other amendments represent a step backwards with respect to restrictions for claimants from ‘safe countries’ applying for a Pre-Removal Risk Assessment (PRRA). In its original form, Bill C-31 put in place a 12-month bar; the amended version of the bill will increase this to 36 months. This change renders the PRRA ineffective.

Contact Senators on the Social Affairs, Science and Technology Committee

The next stop for Bill C-31 is the Senate. Senators, like MPs, have the responsibility to adopt laws that comply with the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and international law. Contact senators on the Committee to let them know about your concerns with the bill, urging them to speak out and to vote against it.

Go Public: Talk about the impacts of Bill C-31 with neighbours, friends and others in your community

Demonstrating the human impacts of this bill is one of the best ways to speak out against it. Talk to friends about the potential impacts on individual refugee claimants. Show your opposition to the Bill in public demonstrations. Use individual stories when talking to the media. Each story, each case can convince others that Bill C-31 is a bad policy for refugees and for Canadians.

Groups in cities across the country have started to organize weekly vigils about Bill C-31 and its impacts. To see how you can do something similar, follow https://www.facebook.com/stopbillc31

Speak out against Bill C-31 through social media networks

If you use Facebook and Twitter, use your social networks to speak out against Bill C-31. For more information on how to get involved (and for model tweets!), see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/social-media-c31

Background:

On 16 February 2012, the government issued Bill C-31 to reform Canada’s refugee determination system.

The CCR is seriously concerned that Bill C-31 will create a two-tier system of refugee protection in Canada. It makes refugee protection in Canada dangerously vulnerable to political whims, rather than ensuring a fair and independent decision about who is a refugee. It also includes costly measures to detain refugee claimants and to revoke the status of refugees who are now permanent residents.

Bill C-31 must be withdrawn and replaced with legislation which is fair, affordable, and independent, and which complies with the Charter and Canada’s international obligations.

Despite efforts by the opposition to make amendments to the bill, the government is determined to push it through Parliament quickly. It presented a motion to limit debate on Bill C-31, which saw the bill voted on and sent to a parliamentary standing committee for study very quickly. The Government wants to see the bill adopted by June 30.

For more information, and all of the resources listed above, see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/refugee-reform

  1. Government information on refugee healthcare changes misleading, may be fatal

The Canadian government’s recent announcement on changes to the Interim Federal Health Program is based on misleading information. This is all the more deplorable because the stakes are a matter of life and death to many refugee claimants, resettled refugees (with government assistance or privately sponsored), and other protected persons in Canada.

In its public information, Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) presents the changes as aimed at reducing “extra” healthcare coverage supposedly provided to refugee claimants, compared with what Canadians receive. In fact the government’s own figures show that the per capita cost for refugee claimants under the IFHP is only about 10% of the average per capita cost for Canadians. In response to a 2010 access to information request, CIC provided a figure of $46 per month ($552 per year) for IFHP costs per refugee claimant. By comparison, according to CIC’s own figures, the current overall per capita cost for health and social services for Canadians is $6,141.

Further, refugee claimants do not have access to provincial healthcare plans as they require acceptance as a refugee or as a permanent resident to be eligible. They will be left without medication coverage under the IFHP and without access to provincial plans. There has been no prior consultation with non-governmental stakeholders on these drastic changes and, it appears, no prior consultation with provincial governments either.

The minister’s announcement will, as well, take away these benefits from those refugees selected overseas by the government and resettled in Canada - some of whom are referred to Canada for protection because of their medical needs. When Canada selects refugees with high medical needs and brings them to Canada, as the government has been doing for a number of years, then it also bears a responsibility to make sure those medical needs are cared for once the refugees are here.

The CCR calls upon the Canadian government to immediately suspend these changes, scheduled to enter into effect on 30 June 2012, and to hold consultations with all concerned stakeholders on any future changes.

Take Action against cuts to health care for refugees, refugee claimants and others this June 18th!

Join healthcare providers in cities across Canada in a National Day of Action against the cuts to the Interim Federal Health program this 18 June. Find out what is happening in a city near you at: http://www.doctorsforrefugeecare.ca/day-of-action-june-18.html

  1. Are you a youth advocate? Live outside of Montreal? Apply to participate in the CCR’s Youth Action Gathering!

Youth Action GatheringFrom 31 August to 2 September 2012, newcomer youth advocates from across Canada will be heading to Montreal for the FIRST National CCR Youth Action Gathering for a fun-filled weekend of participatory media and social change!

Applications for participants from outside of Montreal are due 11 June!

For those in Montreal, they are due July 1st.

Don’t miss out! For more information check out the CCR Youth Network webpage: ccrweb.ca/en/youth/meetings

  1. Federal government ends immigration agreements with BC and Manitoba: CCR comments

The CCR was taken aback by Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC)’s surprise announcement on 12 April that the devolution agreements allowing the provinces of Manitoba and British Columbia to manage their own immigration settlement programs would be terminated.

The CCR is deeply concerned about the way this decision was made: behind closed doors and without consulting the service providers or provincial governments involved, despite their expertise and the impacts this change may have on them. The announcement comes as a great surprise given that British Columbia and Manitoba have developed model settlement programming responsive to the needs of their particular newcomers and socio-economic contexts.

To read all of the CCR’s comments and recommendations, see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/ccr-statement-termination-immigration-agreements-bc-and-manitoba

  1. CCR Holds Successful Spring Consultation in Fredericton

Cents-ible Justice: Affordable solutions for refugees and immigrantsOver 225 participants were welcomed to Fredericton for the CCR Spring Consultation, held from 31 May - 2 June.

Resolutions adopted at the General Meeting are available at http://ccrweb.ca/en/resolutions-june-2012.

The Working Groups also proposed a number of actions, which members and other organizations are encouraged to follow up on: http://ccrweb.ca/en/action-spring-2012

Presentations from some of the consultation sessions will be available shortly to logged-in CCR members. More details to follow.

Interested in hearing more about the CCR Spring Consultation in Fredericton?  Here is a news article about the event:

Bowie, Adam. ‘Stakeholders concerned about immigration bill,’ The Daily Gleaner, 1 June 2012, p. A3. http://ccrweb.ca/sites/ccrweb.ca/files/dailygleaner01062012.pdf

  1. Faces of the CCR: Chloe Raxlen, CCR Youth Coordinator

CRaxlenAt the CCR, we are sad to see our Youth Coordinator, Cynthia Beaudry, leave. We are happy to announce that Chloe Raxlen is coming on board as Cynthia’s successor. We’re excited to welcome her as the CCR’s new Youth Coordinator. We sat down with Chloe to ask her a bit about herself and her hopes for the Youth Network.

As someone who is committed to supporting youth to be active and engaged in issues that affect them, Chloe first began working with refugee and newcomer youth at a summer camp on Thetis Island in British Columbia about 5 years ago. Since then, she has gone on to work on creative, skills-building projects with refugee youth and she’s excited about the opportunity to work with other like-minded people through the CCR. In Chloe’s words “the CCR is a place to revitalize and to gain inspiration. I’m excited, privileged and looking forward to facilitating connections between the Youth Network and the CCR as a whole, as well as continuing to support the amazing work that youth are doing in their own communities.”

While former Youth Coordinator, Cynthia Beaudry, pioneered much of what we know as the CCR Youth Network, Chloe is looking forward to building on the Youth Network as a space for connecting youth and learning: making it an important part of the CCR’s work in standing up for refugee and newcomer rights. “The CCR is a place to make change happen and youth and Youth Network members have so much to contribute.”

To meet this challenge, one of Chloe’s goals is to tackle the invisibility of youth issues, both within the CCR and within our wider communities. “As a youth with precarious status, a person is put at even greater risk if they speak out. This is why creating a safe space for all youth through the Youth Network, is so important.”

-----

Looking for other ways to stay in touch with the CCR and refugee and immigration issues?  Subscribe to receive updates from the CCR on Twitter and Facebook:

To join the CCR on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ccrweb
To follow the CCR on Twitter: http://twitter.com/ccrweb
To view CCR videos on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/ccrwebvideos

Chronique du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés vol. 7 no. 3, 8 juin 2012

Version imprimable

Pages des campagnes et des enjeux actuels:

Protéger les réfugiés du projet de loi C-31

Joignez-vous à la Journée d'action contre les coupures au Programme fédéral de santé intérimaire le 18 juin

Ce que nous voulons pour les réfugiés : quatre visages, quatre valeurs

Événements du CCR en 2012 :

Rencontres d'été des groupes de travail, Vendredi, 7 septembre et samedi, 8 septembre, Montréal

Consultation d'automne, Jeudi, 29 novembre - Samedi, 1 décembre, Toronto

Chronique du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés vol. 7 no. 3, 8 juin 2012

CONTENU :

a) Mise-à-jour sur le projet de loi C-31 : commentaires du CCR sur les modifications au projet de loi, retour du C-31 à la Chambre des communes
b) Les informations du gouvernement sur les changements de la santé des réfugiés sont trompeuses, peuvent être fatales
c) Êtes-vous défenseur ou défenseuse des droits des jeunes? Habitez-vous à l’extérieur de Montréal? Faites une demande pour participer au Rassemblement Action Jeunesse!
d) Le gouvernement fédéral met fin aux accords sur l’immigration avec la Colombie-Britannique et le Manitoba : déclaration du CCR
e) Le CCR organise sa Consultation du printemps avec succès à Fredericton
f) Visages du CCR : Chloé Raxlen, coordinatrice jeunesse au CCR

-----

a) Mise-à-jour sur le projet de loi C-31 : commentaires du CCR sur les modifications au projet de loi, retour du C-31 à la Chambre des communes

Non au projet de loi C-31Le projet de loi C-31 a été renvoyé à la Chambre des communes le 14 mai 2012 après que le Comité parlementaire sur la citoyenneté et l’immigration y ait approuvé des modifications. Pour le texte révisé du projet de loi C-31, voir : http://bit.ly/JSt8ih. Pour lire les modifications adoptées, voir : http://bit.ly/LjZ8P1.

Le 9 mai 2012, le ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l'Immigration a annoncé des modifications au projet de loi C-31, Loi visant à protéger le système d’immigration au Canada. Alors que le CCR apprécie des changements qui améliorent la protection des réfugiés au Canada, la majorité des préoccupations clés du CCR persistent :

  • L’introduction des « arrivées irrégulières » (aussi appelés des « arrivées désignés ») et des « pays sûrs » (aussi appelés des « pays d’origine désignés ») qui discrimine en fonction de l’origine ou de la méthode d’arrivée
  • Des échéances courtes et strictes qui empêchent des témoignages efficaces
  • Une interdiction sur une demande de résidence permanente ou pour la réunification familiale pendant 5 ans, même si la personne est reconnue comme réfugié
  • La détention obligatoire pour certains demandeurs du statut de réfugié.

Même avec les changements proposés par le ministre, le projet de loi C-31 rend la protection des réfugiés au Canada dangereusement vulnérable aux considérations politiques, plutôt que d’assurer une décision équitable et indépendante afin de décider qui est un réfugié.

Les changements annoncés prévoient :

  • Des contrôles de détention des « arrivées irrégulières » désignées dans 2 semaines et puis après 6 mois. Même si ces délais sont plus courts que le contrôle d’un an originalement prévu dans le projet de loi C-31, ceci impliquera toujours que les demandeurs d'asile, y compris des mineurs, qui n'ont rien fait contre la loi, seront détenus avec des conséquences coûteuses en termes financières et de santé mentale. Les experts juridiques ont également indiqué que ce changement ne passera pas les contestations devant les tribunaux vis-à-vis la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.
  • Pas de perte automatique de statut de résidence permanente pour les réfugiés acceptés à cause des changements des circonstances dans leurs pays d’origine, ce qui éliminent des prévisions décrites en tant que « résidence permanente conditionnelle ».

Malheureusement, d’autres modifications représentent un pas en arrière concernant les restrictions pour les demandeurs d’asile des « pays d’origine désignés » qui souhaitent faire une demande d’Examen des Risques avant Renvoi (ERAR). La version originale du projet de loi C-31 met en place une interdiction de 12 mois. La nouvelle version augmente cette attente à 36 mois. Ce changement rendra l’ERAR inefficace.

Contactez les sénateurs membres du Comité Affaires sociales, sciences et technologie

Le prochain arrêt pour le projet de loi C-31 est au Sénat. Les sénateurs, tout comme les députés, ont la responsabilité d’adopter des lois qui sont conformes avec la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et le droit international. Contactez les membres du comité pour leurs dire que vous êtes préoccupé-e par le projet de loi et leur demander de voter contre et de l’opposer publiquement.

Agissez! : Discutez des impactes du projet de loi C-31 avec vos voisine-e-s, vos ami-e-s et d’autres personnes de votre communauté :

Démontrer les impactes humains de ce projet de loi, c’est une des meilleures façons de l’opposer. Parlez des impactes possibles sur les demandeurs d’asile à titre individuel. Démontrez votre opposition à ce projet de loi lors des manifestations publiques. Racontez des histoires des individus quand vous parlez aux médias. Chaque histoire, chaque cas peut servir à convaincre le monde que le projet de loi est une mauvaise politique autant pour les réfugiés que les Canadiens.

Plusieurs groupes dans des villes à travers le Canada et le Québec organisent la tenue des vigiles hebdomadaires à propos du projet de loi C-31 et ses impacts. Pour voir des modèles de certaines villes et pour des ressources pour ce faire, suivez : https://www.facebook.com/stopbillc31

Parlez à vive voix contre le projet de loi C-31 dans vos réseaux de médias sociaux :

Si vous êtes adepte de Facebook et Twitter, utilisez vos réseaux de médias sociaux pour dénoncer le projet de loi.  Pour plus de renseignements (et pour des tweets suggérés!), voir : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/medias-sociaux-c31

Contexte :
Le CCR se préoccupe gravement du fait que le projet de loi C-31 créera un système de protection des réfugiés canadien à deux vitesses. Il rendra la protection des réfugiés au Canada dangereusement vulnérable aux considérations politiques, plutôt que d’assurer une décision équitable et indépendante afin de décider qui est un réfugié. Le projet inclut aussi des mesures coûteuses pour détenir les demandeurs d’asile et révoquer le statut de certains réfugiés qui sont maintenant résidents permanents.

Le projet de loi C-31 doit être retiré et remplacé par une loi qui est équitable, abordable, indépendante et conforme à la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et aux obligations internationales du Canada.

Malgré les efforts des partis en opposition à faire adopter des amendements, le gouvernement veut voir le C-31 passé à travers le Parlement rapidement. Le gouvernement a déposé une motion afin de limiter le débat sur le projet de loi C-31et forcer un vote et à l’envoyer à un comité parlementaire pour une étude rapidement. Le gouvernement voudrait que le projet de loi soit adopté avant le 30 juin.

Pour plus de renseignements et pour passer à l’action, consultez : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/la-reforme-refugies

b) Les informations du gouvernement sur les changements de la santé des réfugiés sont trompeuses, peuvent être fatales

L'annonce du gouvernement fédéral sur les changements au Programme fédéral de santé intérimaire (PFSI) est basée sur des informations trompeuses. Cela est d'autant plus déplorable, car les enjeux sont une question de vie ou de mort pour de nombreux demandeurs d'asile, réfugiés réinstallés (parrainés ou pris en charge par le gouvernement) et d'autres personnes protégées au Canada.

Dans les informations publiées, Citoyenneté et immigration Canada (CIC) présente les modifications comme un effort pour réduire la couverture « supplémentaire » de soins de santé prétendument fournie aux demandeurs d'asile, par rapport à ce que les Canadiens reçoivent. En fait les chiffres du gouvernement démontrent que le coût par demandeur d'asile dans le cadre du PFSI est seulement d'environ 10% de la moyenne du coût par Canadien. En réponse à une demande d’accès à l’information en 2010, CIC a fourni le chiffre de 46 $ par mois (552 $ par année) pour les coûts du PFSI par demandeur d'asile. Par contre, selon les propres chiffres de CIC, le coût global actuel par personne pour la santé et des services sociaux pour les Canadiens est 6 141 $.

Toutefois, les demandeurs d'asile n'ont pas accès à ces régimes provinciaux car ils et elles doivent avoir été accordé le statut de réfugié ou de résident permanent afin d’y être admissible. Les demandeurs d'asile seront alors laissés sans couverture pharmaceutique, ni par le biais du PFSI ni par des régimes provinciaux. Il n'y a eu aucune consultation préalable avec les organisations non-gouvernementales sur ces changements radicaux et, paraît-il, aucune consultation préalable avec les gouvernements provinciaux.

L'annonce du ministre retirera aussi ces services essentiels aux réfugiés sélectionnés à l'étranger par le gouvernement et qui sont référés au Canada - dont certains sont réinstallés au Canada pour la protection en raison de leurs besoins médicaux. Quand le Canada sélectionne des réfugiés avec d'importants besoins médicaux et les amène au Canada, ce que le gouvernement fédéral fait depuis un certain nombre d'années, le gouvernement porte aussi une responsabilité de s'assurer que ces besoins médicaux soient pris en charge une fois les réfugiés arrivent ici.

Le CCR demande au gouvernement canadien de suspendre immédiatement ces changements, qui enteront en vigueur le 30 juin 2012, et à tenir des consultations avec tous les intervenants concernés.

Passez à l’action ce 18 juin contre les coupures aux soins de santé!

Joignez-vous aux professionnels dans les domaines de la santé pour une Journée d’action pancanadienne contre les coupures au PFSI ce 18 juin. Renseignez-vous sur les activités qui se passent dans une ville près de chez vous : http://www.doctorsforrefugeecare.ca/day-of-action-june-18.html

c) Êtes-vous défenseur ou défenseuse des droits des jeunes? Habitez-vous à l’extérieur de Montréal? Faites une demande pour participer au Rassemblement Action Jeunesse!

Rassemblement action jeunesseDu 31 août au 2 septembre 2012, des défenseurs des droits des jeunes nouveaux arrivants de partout au Canada se rassembleront à Montréal pour le PREMIER Rassemblement Action Jeunesse national du CCR pour une fin semaine de medias participatifs et de changement social! La date limite pour les candidats à l'extérieur de Montréal est le 11 juin! Pour ceux et celles à Montréal, c’est le 1er juillet.

Ne manquez pas votre chance!  Pour plus d’information consultez le page web du réseau des  jeunes : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/jeunes/reunions
 

d) Le gouvernement fédéral met fin aux accords sur l’immigration avec la Colombie-Britannique et le Manitoba : déclaration du CCR

Le CCR a été surpris du communiqué de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC) le 12 avril annonçant la fin des accords permettant aux provinces du Manitoba et de la Colombie-Britannique de gérer leurs propres programmes d’établissement d’immigrants. 

Le CCR est très préoccupé par la façon dont cette décision a été prise : derrière des portes closes sans consulter les organismes ou les gouvernements provinciaux concernés malgré leur expertise et l’impact que cette décision pouvait avoir sur eux. L’annonce est inattendue puisque que la Colombie-Britannique et le Manitoba ont développé des modèles de programmes d’établissement répondant aux besoins des nouveaux arrivants et aux contextes socioéconomiques particuliers à chacune des provinces. 

Pour lire l’ensemble des commentaires et des recommandations du CCR, consultez : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/declaration-ccr-fin-accords-sur-limmigration-avec-colombie-britannique-et-manitoba

e) Le CCR organise sa Consultation du printemps avec succès à Fredericton

Justice cents-ible : des solutions abordables pour les réfugiés et les immigrantsLe CCR a accueilli plus de 225 participants à Fredericton lors de sa Consultation du printemps du 31 mai au 2 juin.

Les résolutions adoptées lors de l’assemblée générale sont maintenant disponibles à : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/resolutions-juin-2012.

Les Groupes de travail du CCR ont également proposé une série d’actions.  Nous encourageons les membres du CCR et d’autres organisations à leur donner suite : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/actions-printemps-2012

Certaines des présentations livrées aux séances de la Consultation seront disponibles, aux membres du CCR connectés, sur le site web du CCR. Plus de détails viendront.

Vous intéressez-vous à lire plus à propos de la Consultation du printemps à Fredericton?  Voici une coupure de presse de l’événement (en anglais) :

Bowie, Adam. ‘Stakeholders concerned about immigration bill,’ The Daily Gleaner, 1 June 2012, p. A3. http://ccrweb.ca/sites/ccrweb.ca/files/dailygleaner01062012.pdf

f) Visages du CCR : Chloé Raxlen, coordinatrice jeunesse au CCR

CRaxlenAu CCR, nous sommes tristes de voir partir notre coordinatrice jeunesse, Cynthia Beaudry, mais nous sommes heureux d'annoncer que Chloé Raxlen succédera à Cynthia. Nous sommes ravis de l'accueillir en tant que nouvelle coordinatrice jeunesse du CCR. Nous nous sommes assis avec Chloé pour lui poser quelques questions à propos de ses espoirs pour le Réseau des jeunes.

Une personne engagée et qui soutient les jeunes à s’engager eux-mêmes dans les questions qui les touchent, Chloé a commencé à travailler avec les jeunes réfugiés et nouveaux arrivants à un camp d'été sur l'île Thetis en Colombie-Britannique il y a 5 ans. Depuis ce temps, elle a continué à travailler sur des projets créatifs qui renforcent des compétences auprès des jeunes réfugiés et elle est très encouragée par la possibilité de travailler avec des gens du CCR ayant les mêmes motivations. Selon Chloé « le CCR est un lieu pour reprendre des forces et pour s’inspirer. Je suis privilégiée et j’ai hâte à faciliter le tissage des liens entre le Réseau des jeunes et le CCR dans son ensemble, tout en continuant le travail incroyable des jeunes au sein de leurs propres communautés. »

Alors que notre coordinatrice des jeunes précédente, Cynthia Beaudry, a mis en place beaucoup d’aspects de ce que nous connaissons aujourd’hui comme le Réseau des jeunes du CCR, Chloé se réjouit de continuer à bâtir le Réseau des jeunes en lieu de création des connexions entre les jeunes et l'apprentissage. C’est une partie intégrale du travail du CCR en ce qui concerne la promotion des droits des réfugiés et des nouveaux arrivants. « Le CCR, c’est un endroit pour créer des changements. Les jeunes et les membres du Réseau des jeunes y ont beaucoup à contribuer. »

Pour relever ce défi, l'un des objectifs de Chloé est de lutter contre l'invisibilité des questions touchant les jeunes, non seulement au sein du CCR mais aussi au sein de nos communautés plus larges. « En tant que jeune ayant un statut précaire, une personne est mis à un risque encore une plus grande si elle s’exprime ouvertement. C'est pourquoi il est si important de créer un espace sûre et de confiance pour tous les jeunes à travers le Réseau des jeunes. »

-----

Voulez-vous lire ce bulletin en ligne? Voir : ccrweb.ca/fr/chronique

Vous cherchez d’autres moyens de rester en contact avec le CCR et les enjeux touchant les réfugiés et les immigrants? Abonnez-vous aux mises à jour du CCR sur Twitter et Facebook:

Pour joindre le CCR sur Facebook : http://facebook.com/ccrweb
Pour joindre le CCR sur Twitter : http://twitter.com/ccrweb
Pour voir des vidéos du CCR sur YouTube : http://www.youtube.com/ccrwebvideos