Canadian Council for Refugees E-Chronicle Vol. 5 #11, 8 March 2011

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

CONTENTS:

a) Refugees unfairly kept in detention

b) Refugee Rights Day, April 4th: Honouring refugee rights in Canada

c) Reactions to Minister Kenney’s speech criticizing the Federal Court

d) Coming soon to Hamilton: CCR Spring Consultation 2011 – Register now!

e) Faces of the CCR: Christina Harrison-Baird, Trafficking Project Coordinator

f) New from the CCR

  • Nairobi: Long delays webpage
  • Youth Network online forum

g) Other new resources on the CCR website

  • 2010 Refugee Claim Data & IRB Member Grant Rates

-----

a) Refugees unfairly kept in detention

 

In February, the Canadian Council for Refugees together with a number of other groups expressed dismay at the government’s aggressive efforts to keep the passengers of the MV Sun Sea in detention.  As a result, men, women and children seeking Canada’s protection have spent months deprived of their freedom, at significant cost to the taxpayer.

Most refugee claimants are not detained on arrival in Canada, and those that are detained are usually released within a matter of days or weeks.  In the case of the MV Sun Sea passengers, however, the government has been demanding more proofs of identity than usual, investing significant energy and resources in a search for adverse information about the passengers, advancing weak arguments for inadmissibility based on tenuous alleged connections with the LTTE, vigorously opposing release by the Immigration and Refugee Board, and contesting orders of release in the Federal Court, even in cases involving children.

Supplementary estimates tabled in Parliament earlier in the month revealed the huge cost of the government’s chosen response to the MV Sun Sea arrivals.  The Canada Border Services Agency expenses for the MV Sun Sea, which include the direct detention costs, come to over $22 million.  The costs for the Immigration and Refugee Board, largely for the detention reviews, come to $900,000. 

These costs would be dramatically lower if the MV Sun Sea passengers had been treated by the government the same as other refugee claimants, and released as soon as their identity was reasonably established.

The Federal Court has recently issued a strong condemnation of the tactics used by the government to try to keep the Sun Sea passengers in detention, describing them as potentially an “abuse of process.”
 
For the related media story, see: Judge slams 'abuse of process' in Tamil detentions at: http://bit.ly/exette
 
To read the full media release and the accompanying backgrounder from the CCR and allies, see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/bulletin/11/02/10
 

For more information to counter common myths about refugee claimants, see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/myths-and-facts-2011

 

b) Refugee Rights Day, April 4th: Honouring refugee rights in Canada

 

Honouring Refugee RightsApril 4th is Refugee Rights Day – the anniversary of the Supreme Court’s 1985 Singh decision, and a key opportunity to celebrate the fact that refugee rights are human rights.

In the Singh decision the Supreme Court found that the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms protects the fundamental rights of refugees. The Court decided that ‘everyone’ includes refugee claimants in the sentence: ‘Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of the person and the right not to be deprived thereof except in accordance with the principles of fundamental justice.’

2011 is the 60th anniversary of the Refugee Convention.  It’s a good time to reflect on its meaning for Canada as a country and for refugees and refugee claimants in our community and elsewhere in the world.  How are we honouring refugee rights 60 years later?

We would like to hear about events being planned across the country to celebrate Refugee Rights Day.  Submit information about your event on the Refugee Rights Day webpage so that we can help spread the word. 

Check the Take Action! section for action ideas and current campaign activities to raise awareness of refugee rights in your community.

For more information about Refugee Rights Day and what it means in Canada, see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/refugee-rights-day

c) Reactions to Minister Kenney’s speech criticizing the Federal Court

 

There have been strong reactions from the legal community to a speech delivered by Minister Kenney to the University of Western Ontario on February 11. In the speech, Kenney criticized decisions of the Federal Court and called for a dialogue with judges so that they can better understand the government’s policies.

The Refugee Lawyers’ Association of Ontario (RLA) issued a media release February 18 calling the remarks inappropriate. “The independence of the judiciary is an essential element of democracy,” said RLA President Geraldine MacDonald. “The Minister’s comments are an attack on the independence of the Federal Court.”

The Canadian Bar Association wrote a public letter to Minister Kenney strongly condemning his public criticism of judges “as an affront to our democracy and freedoms.”

In an opinion piece published in the Globe and Mail, law professor Audrey Macklin and lawyer Lorne Waldman outlined why government ministers need to respect the independence of judges, by refraining from any public criticism. They note that forthcoming changes to the refugee system mean that decision-makers in refugee cases will soon be public servants, with less independence than judges. “Based on this government’s practices, criticism (or even the threat of criticism) by the minister may well cause these decision makers to reasonably fear for their livelihoods if they make decisions that the minister finds politically unpalatable. All Canadians have reason to be concerned whether these decision makers will be genuinely independent.”

For more information:

Canadian Bar Association letter: http://www.cba.org/CBA/submissions/pdf/11-12-eng.pdf

Canadian Bar Association release, CBA criticizes Immigration Minister’s comments about judges, 22 February 2011, http://www.cba.org/CBA/News/2011_Releases/2011-02-22-Kenney.aspx

Globe and Mail, When cabinet ministers attack judges, they attack democracy, op ed, Audrey Macklin and Lorne Waldman, http://bit.ly/guNZxY

Letter from the Barreau du Québec (Quebec Bar)

http://www.barreau.qc.ca/pdf/medias/positions/2011/20110225-ministre-kenney2.pdf

Minister Kenney’s speech: http://bit.ly/ejBtOB

d) Coming soon to Hamilton: CCR Spring Consultation 2011 – Register now!

 

Consultation participantsFrom 26 to 28 May 2010, people concerned for refugees and immigrants from across Canada will be gathering in Hamilton for the Canadian Council for Refugees 2011 (CCR) Spring Consultation on the themeHonouring Refugee Rights: 60th anniversary of the Refugee Convention

Discussions will address issues that challenge refugees, immigrants, advocates and community workers.

Information about the Consultation and online registration forms are available at: http://ccrweb.ca/meetings  Register before 6 May for reduced fees!

 

e) Faces of the CCR: Christina Harrison-Baird, Trafficking Project Coordinator

 

Christina Harrison-BairdChristina Harrison-Baird is the Chair of Persons Against the Crime of Trafficking in Humans (PACT-Ottawa), an organization concerned with all forms of trafficking which focuses on advocacy, education, networking and support services.  Christina is also the coordinator of a small CCR trafficking project.

A lawyer by training and a long-time advocate for trafficked persons in Canada, Christina summed up the present challenges this way: “Criminalizing traffickers has been a greater priority in Canada over protecting the human rights of trafficked persons.  Canada’s adoption of the Temporary Residence Permit (TRP) was a welcome step in the right direction, but it is not entrenched in law.  TRPs are a part of a ministerial guideline that can be revoked at any time. And while TRPs have helped a small number of people, they are not an adequate response.  I would like to see protection for trafficked persons enacted in law.”

The CCR’s Canada-wide trafficking project, which Christina leads, is gathering information about support across the country for trafficked persons and working to expand a pan-Canadian network of non-governmental organizations concerned about trafficking for labour, sex and other forms of exploitation. “The network will promote and guide outreach and awareness-raising about trafficking in all regions, and the development of best practices in services to trafficked persons.  We believe that it is vital to consolidate the response to trafficked persons to better protect them,” says Christina.

And how can others become involved in this project?

Christina: “Write to me!  Share with me your current activities and the tools you have been using.  Tell me what gaps you see in the protection of trafficked persons.  I will put you in touch with others that are addressing similar concerns and let you know whether I have come across a resource that can help you in your work.” 

You can reach Christina by email at: charrisonbaird@ccrweb.ca

For more information about the CCR’s efforts to protection trafficked persons in Canada, see: http://www.trafficking.ca

 

f) New from the CCR

 

- Nairobi: Long delays webpage

Nairobi: Long delaysThe CCR has created a new page to highlight our campaign to address the long delays at Nairobi, particularly as they affect privately sponsored refugees and family members of refugees.

You can find the webpage at: http://ccrweb.ca/en/nairobi

Please promote this page in whatever ways you can (circulating the link, linking to it from your website, etc). We also welcome suggestions for further developing it, including other stories to profile.

 

- Youth Network online forum

Youth Network online forumThe Youth Network is launching a NEW forum platform to build a more effective online social network.  To stay in touch with us, please register!  Non-youth are also welcome to join.

On this forum, you can subscribe to your favourite topics to receive email notifications, create your own profile, view who is online, write messages directly to other members, add attachments to your messages, and much more!  Thanks to Adama Diop (CCR Youth Network member in Montreal) for his creative ideas and efforts.

Check out this new virtual space for newcomer youth advocates at: forum.ccrweb.ca

 

g) Other new resources on the CCR website

 

- 2010 Refugee Claim Data and IRB Member Grant Rates

As in the past few years, assistant professor Sean Rehaag has compiled the rates of acceptance of refugee claims by members of the Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB) for the past year. 

You can now find the statistics for 2010, together with links to data from previous years, at: http://ccrweb.ca/en/2010-refugee-claim-data

-----

Looking for other ways to stay in touch with the CCR and refugee and immigration issues?  Subscribe to receive updates from the CCR on Twitter and Facebook:

To join the CCR on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ccrweb

To follow the CCR on Twitter: http://twitter.com/ccrweb

To view CCR videos on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/ccrwebvideos

Chronique du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés Vol. 5 #11, 8 mars 2011

Version imprimableEnvoyer par courriel

CONTENU :

a) La détention injuste des demandeurs d’asile dénoncée

b) La Journée des droits des réfugiés ce 4 avril : les droits des réfugiés à l’honneur au Canada

c) Des réactions au discours du Ministre Kenney qui critiquait la Cour fédérale

d) Bientôt à Hamilton : la Consultation du printemps du CCR – Inscrivez-vous dès maintenant!

e) Les visages du CCR : Christina Harrison-Baird, Coordinatrice du projet sur la traite

f)  Nouveautés CCR

  • Page web - Nairobi: longs délais
  • Forum de discussion du Réseau des jeunes

g) Autres nouveautés sur le site web du CCR

  •  Données relatives aux demandes du statut de réfugié et taux d'acceptation des commissaires de la CISR en 2010

-----

a)      La détention injuste des demandeurs d’asile dénoncée

 

Au mois de février, le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés s’est joint à d’autres organismes pour exprimer sa consternation devant l’acharnement du gouvernement à garder les passagers du MV Sun Sea en détention. En conséquence, des hommes, des femmes et des enfants qui cherchaient la protection au Canada ont passé des mois privés de leur liberté, à un coût considérable pour le contribuable.

La plupart des demandeurs d’asile ne sont pas détenus à leur arrivée au Canada, et ceux qui le sont, sont généralement libérés après quelques jours ou semaines. Or, dans le cas des passagers du MV Sea Sun, le gouvernement exige des preuves de l’identité plus nombreuses que d’habitude, investit de l’énergie et des ressources considérables à la recherche de renseignements défavorables aux passagers, présente des arguments peu convaincants à l’égard de l’inadmissibilité fondés sur des liens tenus supposés avec les LTTE, s’oppose vigoureusement à ce que la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié libère la personne, et conteste les ordonnances de mise en liberté à la Cour fédérale, même dans des cas impliquant des enfants.

Le budget supplémentaire des dépenses déposé au Parlement plus tôt au mois de février révèle le coût énorme de la réponse choisie par le gouvernement aux personnes arrivées sur le MV Sea Sun. Les dépenses de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada pour le MV Sun Sea, dont les coûts directs de détention, s’élèvent à plus de 22 millions $. Les coûts encourus par la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié, notamment pour le contrôle de la détention, sont de l’ordre de 900 000 $.

Ces coûts seraient nettement moins élevés si les passagers du MV Sun Sea avaient été traités par le gouvernement de la même façon que d’autres demandeurs d’asile, et libérés dès que leur identité a été raisonnablement établie.

Récemment, la Cour Fédérale a vigoureusement condamné les méthodes utilisées par le gouvernement pour maintenir les passagers du Sun Sea en détention, allant jusqu’à les qualifier de potentiel « abus de procédure ».

Lire un article de presse à ce sujet (en anglais seulement) : ‘Judge slams 'abuse of process' in Tamil detentions’, http://bit.ly/exette

Lire le communiqué de presse intégral et le document d’informations accompagnateur du CCR et ses alliés : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/bulletin/11/02/10-0

Pour plus d’informations qui servent à répondre aux mythes à propos des demandeurs d’asile, voir : http://ccrweb.ca/en/myths-and-facts-2011 (en anglais)

 

b)     La Journée des droits des réfugiés ce 4 avril: les droits des réfugiés à l’honneur au Canada

 

Les droits des réfugiés à l'honneurLe 4 avril – la Journée des droits des réfugiés – marque l'anniversaire de la décision Singh de la Cour suprême livrée en 1985. Il s’agit d’une excellente occasion pour marquer le fait que les droits des réfugiés sont aussi des droits humains.

Dans la décision Singh, la Cour suprême a conclu que la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés protège les droits fondamentaux des réfugiés. La Cour suprême a statué que les demandeurs d’asile font partie du terme « chacun » dans la phrase : « Chacun a droit à la vie, à la liberté et à la sécurité de sa personne; il ne peut être porté atteinte à ce droit qu’en conformité avec les principes de justice fondamentale. »

2011 est le 60e anniversaire de la Convention sur les réfugiés.  C’est un moment propice pour faire une réflexion sur l’importance de la Convention tant pour le Canada que pour les réfugiés et les demandeurs d’asile dans notre communauté et ailleurs dans le monde.  Comment est-ce qu’on met à l’honneur les droits des réfugiés 60 ans plus tard?

Nous aimerions rassembler toutes les informations sur des événements qui auront lieu à travers le Canada pour marquer la Journée des droits des réfugiés.  Soumettez les informations à propos de votre événement en ligne à la page web de la Journée des droits des réfugiés pour le promouvoir. 

Consultez la section 'Passez à l'action!' pour des campagnes à soutenir et des activités à mener pour sensibiliser les membres de votre communauté par rapport aux droits des réfugiés et les réalités auxquelles ils font face.

Pour plus d'informations à propos de la Journée des droits des réfugiés et sa signification au Canada, consultez : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/journee-droits-refugies

c)      Des réactions au discours du ministre Kenney qui critiquait la Cour fédérale

 

Le monde juridique a fortement réagi au discours tenu par le ministre Kenney le 11 février à l’université Western Ontario. Dans son discours, Kenney critiquait les décisions prises par la Cour fédérale et proposait aux juges un dialogue afin de leur permettre de mieux comprendre les politiques du gouvernement.

Le 18 février, The Refugee Lawyers Association of Ontario (RLA) a publié un communiqué qualifiant les remarques du ministre d’inappropriées.

« L’indépendance du pouvoir judiciaire est un des fondements de notre démocratie » a affirmé Geraldine Macdonald, présidente de la RLA. « Les propos tenus par le ministre sont une atteinte à l’indépendance de la Cour fédérale »

L’Association du Barreau canadien a adressé une lettre ouverte au Ministre Kenney qualifiant ses critiques publiques envers les juges d’ « atteinte à notre démocratie et à nos libertés ».

Dans une tribune libre publiée dans le Global and Mail, Audrey Macklin, professeure de droit et Lorne Waldman, avocat, expliquent pourquoi les ministres ont le devoir de respecter l’indépendance des juges en s’abstenant de toute critique publique. Ils notent que suite aux changements qui seront apportés prochainement au système de détermination du statut de réfugié, les décideurs seront des fonctionnaires, qui disposeront d’une moins grande indépendance que les juges. «  En se fondant sur les pratiques du gouvernement actuel, les critiques publiques (ou même la menace de critiques) du ministre risque de susciter chez les décideurs des craintes pour leur gagne pain s’ils prennent des décisions que le ministre ne trouve pas à son goût. Tout Canadien peut à raison s’interroger sur la réelle indépendance de ces décideurs. »

Pour plus d'informations :

Communiqué de l’Association du Barreau canadien, L'ABC critique les propos du ministre de l'Immigration faits envers les juges, 22 février 2011 : http://www.cba.org/ABC/Nouvelles/2011_Communiques/2011-02-22-Kenney-FR.aspx

Lettre de l’Association du Barreau canadien au ministre Kenney : http://www.cba.org/ABC/Memoires/pdf/11-12-fr.pdf

Globe and Mail, When cabinet ministers attack judges, they attack democracy, opinion, Audrey Macklin et Lorne Waldman : http://bit.ly/guNZxY

Lettre du Barreau du Québec :

http://www.barreau.qc.ca/pdf/medias/positions/2011/20110225-ministre-kenney2.pdf

Discours du ministre Kenney : http://bit.ly/ejBtOB

 

d)     Bientôt à Hamilton : la Consultation du printemps du CCR – Inscrivez-vous dès maintenant!

 

Consultation2Du 26 au 28 mai les personnes qui se préoccupent défenseurs des droits des réfugiés et des immigrants des quatre coins du Québec et du Canada se réuniront à Hamilton, pour la Consultation du printemps 2011 du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés (CCR) sur le thème Les droits des réfugiés à l’honneur : 60 ans de la Convention sur les réfugiés

Le contenu de la conférence sera axé sur les défis auxquels sont confrontés les réfugiés, les immigrants, les militants et les travailleurs communautaires au Canada.

Des informations et le formulaire d’inscription sont disponibles à : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/reunionsInscrivez-vous avant le 6 mai pour profiter du tarif réduit!

 

e)      Les visages du CCR : Christina Harrison-Baird, Coordinatrice du projet sur la traite

 

CHarrisonBairdChristina Harrison-Baird est la présidente de Personnes en Action contre la Traite des Personnes (PACT-Ottawa), association de lutte contre toutes formes de traite d’être humain, dont les actions se concentrent sur les plaidoyers, l’information, le travail en réseau et les services d’aide. Christina est aussi coordinatrice d’un petit projet du CCR sur la traite.

Formatrice en droit et avocate durant de longues années pour les victimes de la traite au Canada, Christina résume le défi actuel de cette manière « La priorité au Canada a été la lutte contre les auteurs de la traite avant même la protection des droits humains des victimes. L’adoption du permis de séjour temporaire (PST) est un premier pas dans la bonne direction mais il n’est pas inscrit dans la loi. Le PST est une directive ministérielle qui peut être révoquée à tout moment. Et bien que le PST ait aidé un petit nombre de personne, il ne constitue pas une solution satisfaisante. J’aimerais voir la protection des victimes de la traite inscrite dans la loi. »

Le projet pancanadien du CCR sur la traite dirigé par Christina a pour objectif de rassembler les informations sur les outils de soutien aux personnes ayant vécu la traite et de travailler au développement d’un réseau d’organisations non gouvernementales pancanadien qui se préoccupent des cas de traite impliquant le travail, le sexe ou toute autre forme d’exploitation. Selon Christina « Le travail en réseau permettra de promouvoir et de guider la sensibilisation sur la traite dans toutes les régions et permettra le développement de bonnes pratiques envers les victimes de la traite  Nous croyons qu’il est essentiel de consolider la réponse donnée aux personnes ayant vécu la traite pour mieux les protéger. »

Et comment peut-on s’impliquer au sein de ce projet?

Christina: « Écrivez-moi! Partagez avec moi vos activités en cours et les outils dont vous vous servez. Dites-moi quelles lacunes vous voyez dans la protection des victimes de la traite. Je vous mettrai en contact avec d’autres personnes travaillant sur les mêmes problématiques et vous ferai savoir si je suis tombée sur une information qui pourrait vous être utile. »

Vous pouvez joindre Christina par courriel à: charrisonbaird@ccrweb.ca

Pour plus d’informations sur les actions du CCR à l’égard du problème de la traite au Canada, voir http://www.trafficking.ca

f)       Nouveautés CCR

            - Page web - Nairobi: longs délais

Nairobi : longs délaisLe CCR a créé une nouvelle page pour attirer l'attention sur les longs délais de traitement à Nairobi, notamment pour les réfugiés parrainés par le secteur privé et les membres de la famille de réfugiés au Canada:

Vous pouvez consulter la page web à : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/nairobi

Nous vous invitons à promouvoir cette page selon vos moyens (par exemple, en diffusant le lien ou en créant un lien à partir de votre site web). Les suggestions pour le développement de la page sont également les bienvenues, incluant d'autres d'autres histoires humaines qu'on pourrait mettre en lumière.

 

            - Forum de discussion du Réseau des jeunes

Réseau des jeunesLe Réseau des jeunes du CCR lance un NOUVEAU forum de discussion pour créer un réseau social virtuel plus efficace.  Pour garder contact avec nous, inscrivez-vous! Les non-jeunes sont les bienvenus.

Sur cette nouvelle plateforme vous pouvez vous inscrire à certains forums de discussion pour recevoir des avis par courriel, créer un profil, voir qui est en ligne, envoyer des messages aux autres membres directement, ajouter des pièces jointes à vos messages, et plus encore! Un gros merci à Adama Diop (membre du Réseau des jeunes du CCR à Montréal) pour ses idées et efforts créatifs.

 

Visitez ce nouvel espace virtuel conçu pour les défenseurs des droits des jeunes nouveaux arrivants au : forum.ccrweb.ca

g)      Autres nouveautés sur le site web du CCR

 

- 2010 données sur la demande d’asile et les taux d’admission des membres de la CISR :

Comme lors des années précédentes, Sean Rehaag, professeur, a rassemblé les taux d’acceptation des demandes d’asile pour chaque commissaire de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié pour l’an 2010.

Vous pouvez consulter les statistiques pour 2010 (et trouver  les liens vers les données des années antérieures) à : http://ccrweb.ca/en/2010-refugee-claim-data (en anglais seulement)

-----

Vous cherchez d’autres moyens de rester en contact avec le CCRet les enjeux touchant les réfugiés et les immigrants? Abonnez-vous aux mises à jour du CCR sur Twitter et Facebook:
Pour joindre le CCR sur Facebook : http://facebook.com/ccrweb
Pour joindre le CCR sur Twitter : http://twitter.com/ccrweb

Pour voir des vidéos du CCR sur YouTube : http://www.youtube.com/ccrwebvideos