CCR urges government to drop plans to break up families

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees
Media Release

    For immediate release
2 July 2013


CCR urges government to drop plans to break up families

The Canadian Council for Refugees today called on the government to abandon proposed changes to the immigration regulations that would undermine families. Background documents reveal that the government’s purely economic rationale for breaking up families is very weak.

“Newcomers have always relied heavily on their families to get ahead in their adopted country,” said Loly Rico, President. “We are asking the government to recognize refugees and immigrants as members of families, not just individual economic units. We believe Canada is stronger when families are valued and supported.”

The government is proposing to narrow the definition of a dependent child in the immigration regulations by reducing the maximum age from 21 to 18 years and eliminating the exception for full-time students.

The reason given for dropping young adult children is that dependants who arrive in Canada at a younger age earn more in the long term than those who are slightly older. However, the government’s own documents show that the difference in earnings is small, and older dependants actually earn more than the average Canadian.

Concerns include:

  • Unmarried children aged 19, 20 or 21 years, are usually still part of the family (economically, socially and psychologically) and need their parents’ support.
  • In many societies it is difficult and even dangerous for single young women to live alone.
  • Refugees are forced to flee danger and face multiple losses and disruptions. Forcing refugees to leave their young adult children behind exposes them to risk, as well as causing hardship for all the family.

The government is also proposing dramatic restrictions on sponsorship of parents and grandparents. Sponsorships will be increased from 10 years to 20 years and sponsors will need to have a higher income over a longer period before they can sponsor. If adopted, these changes will mean that only the wealthy can sponsor their parents.

The CCR questions the government’s over-emphasis of economic objectives: Canada’s immigration program is also about protecting refugees and reuniting families. Refugees and immigrants contribute more than just economically. Separating families also has economic costs, which have not been evaluated in the government’s analysis.

The CCR calls on the government to abandon the proposed changes and to give higher priority to removing the existing painful barriers to speedy family reunification.

For more information, see the CCR's backgrounder on the proposed changes.

- 30 -

Contact

Colleen French, Communication and Networking Coordinator, cfrench@ccrweb.ca, 514-277-7223, ext. 1, 514-476-3971 (cell)

Le CCR demande au gouvernement d'abandonner ses projets de séparer les familles

Version imprimable

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés
Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

Le CCR demande au gouvernement d'abandonner ses projets de séparer les familles

Le 2 juillet 2013 - Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés (CCR) a demandé aujourd'hui au gouvernement d’abandonner les modifications proposées au règlement d'immigration qui nuiraient aux familles. Des documents d'information révèlent la faiblesse de la logique purement économique qui motiverait la décision du gouvernement de briser les familles.

« Les nouveaux arrivants ont toujours compté sur leur famille pour réussir dans leur pays d'adoption », a déclaré Loly Rico, présidente. « Nous demandons au gouvernement de reconnaître les réfugiés et les immigrants en tant que membres de familles, et pas seulement des unités économiques individuelles. Nous croyons que le Canada est plus fort lorsque les familles sont valorisées et soutenues. »

Le gouvernement propose de restreindre la définition d'enfant à charge dans les règlements d'immigration en réduisant la limite d'âge de 21 à 18 ans, et en éliminant l’exception prévue pour les étudiants à temps plein.

La raison invoquée pour laisser tomber les enfants jeunes adultes est que les personnes à charge qui arrivent au Canada à un plus jeune âge gagnent plus à long terme que celles qui sont un peu plus âgées. Or, selon les documents du gouvernement, la différence entre les catégories est mince, et les enfants à charge plus âgés gagnent en fait plus que le Canadien moyen.

Parmi les préoccupations :

  • Les enfants célibataires âgés de 19, 20 ou 21 ans font toujours partie intégrante de l’unité familiale et ont besoin du soutien de leurs parents.
  • Dans plusieurs sociétés, les jeunes femmes célibataires ne peuvent vivre seules en sécurité.
  • Les réfugiés ont dû fuir le danger et subissent de multiples pertes et perturbations. Leurs enfants jeunes adultes seraient exposés à des risques s'ils sont laissés de côté, et la séparation créerait des difficultés pour toute la famille.

Le gouvernement propose également d’imposer des restrictions majeures au parrainage des parents et des grands-parents. La période de parrainage sera prolongée de 10 ans à 20 ans, et les répondants devront avoir un revenu plus élevé, sur une période plus longue, avant de pouvoir déposer un parrainage. Si adoptées, ces modifications feront en sorte que seuls les riches puissent parrainer leurs parents.

Le CCR remet en cause l'accent mis par le gouvernement sur des objectifs purement économiques : le programme d'immigration du Canada vise également à protéger les réfugiés et à réunir les familles. Les réfugiés et les immigrés apportent des contributions bien plus qu’économiques. La séparation des familles implique aussi des coûts économiques, qui n'ont pas été évalués dans l'analyse du gouvernement.

Le CCR demande au gouvernement d'abandonner les modifications proposées et de donner la priorité à l'élimination des douloureux obstacles existants à la réunification familiale.

Pour plus d'informations, voir le document d'informations.

Contact :
Colleen French, coordinatrice de la communication, Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés, cfrench@ccrweb.ca, (514) 277-7223, poste 1, (514) 476-3971 (cellulaire)