Changes to healthcare for refugee claimants and protected persons inhumane

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Media release

For immediate release

27 April 2012

Changes to healthcare for refugee claimants and protected persons inhumane

On 25 April 2012, Citizenship and Immigration Canada announced changes in Interim Federal Health Program coverage for refugee claimants and protected persons. The Canadian Council for Refugees (CCR) is concerned that these proposed changes unjustly discriminate against people in need and, worse, leave some people to suffer debilitating illnesses or to die without treatment.

“These changes are mean-spirited, denying essential care to individuals and families because of their country of origin or technical mistakes made during the refugee claim process,” said Wanda Yamamoto, CCR President. “Some people in need of urgent medical attention will be forced to live with chronic, untreated conditions.”

While the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration claims that the announced changes will only deny services that are not included in basic care for Canadians, in fact they cut much deeper.

The announced changes will:

1.     Create a two-tier system of refugee care in Canada, discriminating between refugee claimants on the basis of their country of origin

The new rules will create serious differences in treatment available to certain refugee claimants, based on their country of origin. For example, a person from a designated ‘safe’ country[1] needing emergency care after being hit by a car or some other traumatic incident will be refused coverage because he does not meet the test of “having a disease posing a risk to public health or a condition of public safety concern.” Those from other countries will still be eligible.

2.     Deny necessary medical care on arrival in Canada to resettled refugees or accepted refugee claimants with acute health needs

Since 2002, Canada has made it a priority to resettle vulnerable refugees and those in need of urgent protection, lowering the threshold for medical admissibility to do so. While this measure helps more refugees in desperate circumstances[2], the announced changes will shift the costs and responsibility for this federal commitment to provincial health care services (if they agree), to volunteer private sponsors, or to the resettled refugees themselves. After resettling an amputee from a refugee camp, the federal government will deny this refugee access to a prosthetic limb, a wheel chair or life-saving medications. These changes, made without consultation, will reduce short-term costs but will incur long-term consequences by impeding successful integration.

3.     Institutionalize gender discrimination

Emergency treatment will no longer be guaranteed for all. It will exclude women from designated ‘safe’ countries who have suffered domestic violence or sexual assault. Similarly, a pregnant refugee claimant will not be covered for delivery or pre- or post-natal care. The new provisions will only cover costs to prevent or treat a disease posing a risk to public health or public safety for women from countries not designated as ‘safe.’

4.     Deny long-term, essential medical coverage to individuals who are living in Canada in limbo

Some individuals who cannot be removed to their country of origin (because the Canadian government has recognized that conditions are too dangerous) or who are stateless will not have access to treatment for illnesses that pose a threat to their lives or to public health.  For example,  persons with a life-threatening and communicable disease, who have been declared ineligible to claim asylum or who withdrew their claim following bad advice, will be eligible for no treatment whatsoever, regardless of the risks to them or to Canadian public health.

5.     Offload costs to provinces

Hospitals cannot deny emergency medical care. People with no means to pay will be billed. Instead of patients being covered by the Interim Federal Health program as was previously the case, provinces will on the hook for unpaid costs. In addition, the costs for emergency care will be greater than the savings gained through routine medical treatment.

The Canadian Council for Refugees has called for solutions to the systemic, policy and operational barriers and limitations existing for refugees and health service providers in the Interim Federal Health Program. These new measures are exclusionary and dangerous.

Contact:

Colleen French, Communication and Networking Coordinator, Canadian Council for Refugees, 514-277-7223, ext.1, 514-476-3971 (cell), cfrench@ccrweb.ca


[1] The provision for “designated countries of origin” is included in Bill C-31, which must be passed by June 29th.   For more information, see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/refugee-reform.

[2] In March 2010, Citizenship and Immigration Canada wrote, “Providing such support for resettled refugees clearly demonstrates Canada’s ongoing humanitarian and compassionate commitment and affirms our long-standing tradition as a leader in international refugee protection and helping some of the world’s most vulnerable people.”

Les changements dans les soins de santé offerts aux demandeurs du statut de réfugié et aux personnes protégées sont inhumains

Version imprimable

Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

Les changements dans les soins de santé offerts aux demandeurs du statut de réfugié et aux personnes protégées sont inhumains

Le 27 avril - Le 25 avril 2012, Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada a annoncé des changements au Programme fédérale de santé intérimaire destiné aux demandeurs du statut de réfugié et aux personnes protégées. Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés (CCR) est préoccupé que les changements proposés sont discriminatoires envers les personnes dans le besoin et, pire encore, laissent certaines personnes souffrir de maladies débilitantes ou mourir sans traitement.

« Ces changements sont mesquins, refusant les soins essentiels aux personnes et aux familles en raison de leur pays d'origine ou d’erreurs techniques faites au cours du processus de demande d'asile », a déclaré Wanda Yamamoto, présidente du CCR. « Certaines personnes dans le besoin urgent de soins médicaux seront obligées de vivre avec des conditions chroniques, non traités. »

Alors que le ministre de la Citoyenneté et l'Immigration prétend que les changements annoncés ne refusent que les services qui ne sont pas inclus dans les soins de base pour les Canadiens, en fait, ils représentent des coupures beaucoup plus profondes.

Les changements annoncés :

1.     Créeront un système de soins de réfugiés au Canada à deux vitesses, discriminant entre les demandeurs d'asile sur la base de leur pays d'origine

Les nouvelles règles créent des différences graves dans les traitements disponibles à certains demandeurs d'asile, basées sur de leur pays d'origine. Par exemple, une personne originaire d'un pays désigné « sûr »[1] qui a besoin de soins d'urgence après avoir été heurté par une voiture ou un autre incident traumatique, sera refusé une couverture parce qu'il ne répondra pas à l'épreuve « d'avoir une maladie qui pose un risque à la santé publique ou d'un état de santé préoccupant pour la sécurité publique ». Ceux en provenance de pays non désignés comme « sûr » seront toujours admissibles.

2.     Refuseront les soins médicaux nécessaires à l’arrivée au Canada aux réfugiés réinstallés ou demandeurs d’asile reconnus ayant des besoins de santé aigus

Depuis 2002, le Canada a accordé une priorité à la réinstallation des réfugiés vulnérables ayant des besoins médicaux plus élevés, abaissant le seuil d’admissibilité médicale pour ce faire. Bien que cette mesure assiste plus de réfugiés dans des circonstances désespérées[2], les mesures annoncées transféreront les coûts et la responsabilité de cet engagement fédéral aux services provinciaux de soins de santé (s'ils sont d'accord), aux parrains de réfugiés bénévoles, ou aux réfugiés réinstallés eux-mêmes. Après la réinstallation au Canada d’une personne amputée d'un camp de réfugiés, le gouvernement fédéral niera accès à ce réfugié à une prothèse, à un fauteuil roulant ou aux médicaments qui peuvent lui sauver la vie. Ces changements, effectués sans consultations, permettront la réduction des coûts à court terme mais ajouteront aux conséquences à long terme en empêchant une intégration réussie.

3.     Institutionnaliseront la discrimination entre les sexes

Le traitement d'urgence ne sera plus garanti pour tous. Il exclura des femmes des pays désignés « sûrs » qui ont souffert la violence domestique ou d'agression sexuelle. De même, une demandeuse d'asile enceinte ne sera pas couvert pour son accouchement ou pour les soins pré- ou post-nataux. Les nouvelles dispositions ne couvrent que les coûts pour prévenir ou traiter une maladie qui pose un risque pour la santé ou la sécurité publique pour les femmes originaires des pays non désignés comme « sûrs ».

4.     Refuseront la couverture des soins médicaux à long terme essentiels aux personnes qui vivent au Canada dans les limbes.

Certaines personnes quine peuvent être expulsées à leur pays d'origine (parce que le gouvernement canadien a reconnu que les conditions sont trop dangereuses) ou qui sont apatrides n'auront pas accès aux traitements pour les maladies qui constituent une menace à leur vie ou à la santé publique. Par exemple, des personnes, atteintes d'une maladie mortelle et contagieuse, qui ont été déclarés inéligibles à demander l'asile ou qui ont retiré leur demande à la suite de mauvais conseils, ne seront admissibles à aucun traitement, malgré les risques à eux ou à la santé publique des Canadiens.

5.     Déchargeront des coûts

Les hôpitaux ne peuvent refuser les soins médicaux d'urgence. Les gens qui n'ont pas les moyens de payer seront facturés. Au lieu de couvrir les patients par le Programme fédéral de santé intérimaire comme c'était le cas auparavant, les provinces seront tenues au paiement des frais non-payés. En outre, les coûts pour les soins d'urgence seront beaucoup plus élevés que les économies réalisées par des traitements médicaux de routine.

Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés a demandé des solutions aux obstacles systémiques, politiques et opérationnels et aux limitations existantes pour les réfugiés et les fournisseurs de services de santé dans le Programme fédéral de santé intérimaire. Ces nouvelles mesures sont exclusives et dangereuses.

Contact :

Colleen French, Coordonnatrice de la communication et du réseautage, 514-277-7223, poste 1, 514-476-3971 (cellulaire), cfrench@ccrweb.ca


 [1]La provision des « pays d’origine désignés » est prévue par le projet de loi C-31, qui doit être approuvé avant le 29 juin. Pour plus d’informations consultez : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/la-reforme-refugies

 [2]En mars 2012, Citoyenneté et immigration Canada a dit « Le fait de soutenir ainsi les réfugiés rétablis souligne clairement l’engagement humanitaire continu du Canada et réaffirme son rôle traditionnel de chef de file en matière de protection des réfugiés à l’échelle internationale et d’aide accordée à certaines des personnes les plus vulnérables du monde.» http://bit.ly/I81xtK