Reintroduction of anti-refugee bill deplored

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees

Media Release

For immediate release

16 June 2011

Reintroduction of anti-refugee bill deplored

 

The Canadian Council for Refugees today expressed its profound disappointment at the reintroduction of a bill that has been widely condemned as violating the basic rights of refugees. Despite the government’s claims that the bill targets smugglers, the people who will be punished if it is passed are the people fleeing persecution, including children.

“We are celebrating this year the 60th anniversary of the Refugee Convention, but instead of honouring this treaty, the government is proposing to violate it,” said Wanda Yamamoto, President. “Let’s not forget that the Convention was adopted because many countries, including Canada, had closed their doors on Jewish refugees fleeing the Nazis, and we said ‘Never again!’”

Among others, the bill proposes the following unacceptable measures:

  • The mandatory detention of some refugees, without independent review. This is arbitrary detention, which is contrary to the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and to international law. Children will be among those jailed.
  • Long-term limbo for some recognized refugees, by denying them the right for five years to apply for permanent residence, and blocking reunification with their children, in violation of the Convention on the Rights of the Child. Children left behind overseas are at risk while waiting to be reunited with their parents who are refugees in Canada.

The bill is a reintroduction of Bill C-49 from the previous Parliament. C-49 was overwhelming condemned:

The CCR notes that the proposed legislation is likely to have little or no deterrent effect on the organizers of human smuggling operations who already face penalties of up to life in prison and a one-million dollar fine.

 

Contact:
Colleen French, Communication and Networking Co-ordinator, tel. (514) 277-7223 ext. 1, email: cfrench@ccrweb.ca

For further information on the earlier version of the legislation, Bill C-49, see http://ccrweb.ca/en/c49

La réintroduction d’un projet de loi anti-réfugiés est déplorée

Version imprimable

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés

Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

La réintroduction d’un projet de loi anti-réfugiés est déplorée

Le 16 juin 2011 - Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés a exprimé aujourd’hui sa profonde déception devant la réintroduction d’un projet de loi qui a été  largement condamné parce qu’il viole les droits des réfugiés. Le gouvernement affirme que le projet de loi vise les passeurs, mais ce sont les personnes fuyant la persécution, dont des enfants, qui seront punis si le projet de loi est adopté.

« Nous marquons cette année le 60e anniversaire de la Convention sur les réfugiés, mais plutôt d’honorer ce traité, on propose de le violer », a déclaré Wanda Yamamoto, présidente. « N’oublions pas que la Convention a été adoptée parce que de nombreux pays, dont le Canada, avaient fermé la porte aux réfugiés juifs qui fuyaient le régime nazi, et après on s’est dit ‘plus jamais ça!’ »

Le projet de loi propose entre autres les mesures inacceptables suivantes :

  • La détention obligatoire pour certains réfugiés, sans possibilité de révision par les tribunaux. Ceci constitue de la détention arbitraire, ce qui est contraire à la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et au droit international. Des enfants seront parmi les personnes emprisonnées. 
  • Un vide juridique à long terme pour certains réfugiés reconnus, en leur refusant le droit de demander la résidence permanente, et en bloquant la réunification avec leurs enfants, en violation de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant. Les enfants laissés à l’étranger seront confrontés à des risques en attendant d’être réunis avec leurs parents qui sont des réfugiés au Canada.

Le projet de loi reprend les dispositions du projet de loi C-49 de l’ancien Parlement. Le C-49 a été massivement condamné :

Le CCR note que la législation proposée aura vraisemblablement peu d’effets dissuasifs, voire aucun, sur les passeurs, qui font déjà face à des peines allant jusqu’à l’emprisonnement à perpétuité et une amende de un million de dollars. 

Contact :

Colleen French, coordinatrice de la communication, 514-277-7223 poste 1, 514-476-3971 (cell), courriel cfrench@ccrweb.ca

Pour de plus amples informations sur la version précédente, le projet de loi C-49, voir http://ccrweb.ca/fr/c49