CCR welcomes Ezokola decision clarifying refugee exclusion

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees

Media Release
For immediate release
19 July 2013

CCR welcomes Ezokola decision clarifying refugee exclusion


The Canadian Council for Refugees welcomes the Supreme Court’s decision today in Ezokola, which brings Canada into line with international standards on when people can be excluded from refugee protection.
 
“We are pleased to see the Supreme Court clarify that people should not be excluded based on guilt by association,” said Loly Rico, President. “Many refugees have been excluded from refugee protection in Canada not because they committed any crimes themselves, but because of a group they were considered to be associated with.”
 
The Ezokola decision corrects Canadian jurisprudence that had overextended the interpretation of exclusion based on war crimes, resulting in innocent people being denied protection and wrongly labelled “war criminals”. It will mean that refugees will no longer be excluded from protection based on simple suspicion of crimes or based on the criminal acts of a group they belong to, without them personally being guilty of any crime.
 
Refugee decisions affect individual human lives and, as the Court recognized, give life to the Refugee Convention which has an “overarching and clear human rights purpose”. Wrongly excluding people from refugee protection can mean sending them back to serious human rights abuses.
 
The CCR intervened in this case, represented by Pia Zambelli, Angus Grant and Catherine Dauvergne.
 
The decision is available at http://scc.lexum.org/decisia-scc-csc/scc-csc/scc-csc/en/item/13184/index.do

Contact:
Janet Dench, 514-277-7223 (ext 2) jdench@ccrweb.ca

Le CCR accueille favorablement l’arrêt Ezokola

Version imprimable

Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

Le CCR accueille favorablement l’arrêt Ezokola qui clarifie l'exclusion du statut de réfugié

Le 19 juillet 2013 - Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés se félicite de la décision de la Cour suprême rendue aujourd'hui dans l’affaire Ezokola, qui permettra au Canada de se conformer aux normes internationales concernant l’exclusion de la protection des réfugiés.
 
« Nous sommes heureux de voir que la Cour suprême précise qu’une personne ne devrait pas être exclue sur la base de la complicité par association », a déclaré Loly Rico, présidente. « De nombreux réfugiés ont été exclus de la protection des réfugiés au Canada non pas parce qu'ils ont commis des crimes eux-mêmes, mais à cause du groupe auquel ils seraient associés. »
 
L’arrêt Ezokola corrige la jurisprudence canadienne qui avait élargi indûment l'interprétation de l'exclusion fondée sur des crimes de guerre, privant ainsi des innocents de la protection et les étiquetant à tort « des criminels de guerre ». Cela veut dire que les réfugiés ne seront plus exclus de la protection en raison d’un simple soupçon ou des actions criminelles livrées par un groupe auquel ils appartiennent, sans qu'ils soient personnellement coupables d'aucun crime.
 
Les décisions sur une demande de statut de réfugié touchent des vies humaines et, comme la Cour l'a reconnu, donnent vie à la Convention sur les réfugiés, dont les buts avancent les droits de la personne. L'exclusion erronée des personnes de la protection des réfugiés peut signifier qu’elles sont refoulées vers de graves violations des droits de la personne.
 
Le CCR est intervenu dans cette affaire, représenté par Pia Zambelli, Angus Grant et Catherine Dauvergne.
 
La décision est disponible à http://scc.lexum.org/decisia-scc-csc/scc-csc/scc-csc/fr/item/13184/index.do
 

- 30 -
Contact:
Janet Dench, 514-277-7223 (poste 2) jdench@ccrweb.ca