New report cards evaluate protections for migrant workers across Canada

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees
Media Release

    For immediate release
16 May 2013


New report cards evaluate protections for migrant workers across Canada

The Canadian Council for Refugees (CCR) issued today a series of report cards, summarizing the approaches of the provincial and federal governments on protecting the rights of migrant workers in the “low-skilled” streams of the Temporary Foreign Worker Program.

“We hope these report cards will be a useful tool for decision makers to identify areas for improvement and to raise awareness among the public and those concerned about migrant workers,” said Loly Rico, CCR President.

Migrant workers are particularly vulnerable to exploitation and abuse because of their precarious status, work permits tied to a single employer and factors such as isolation, lack of access to support services and lack of access to information on their rights.  These report cards examine progress, province by province, in introducing protections and supports for migrant workers.

Recently the federal government announced certain changes aimed at giving Canadians priority for job openings. However, none of the changes are designed to protect migrant workers from abuses.

The CCR welcomes the measures being adopted by some provinces to address the vulnerability of migrant workers, and urges other provinces and the federal government to do more to fill gaps in protection.

Nevertheless, the CCR believes that temporary migrant worker programs are not the answer. Governments need to return to policies of permanent immigration. Long-term temporary labour migration has negative impacts on both migrant workers and Canadian society.

The Canadian Council for Refugees is calling for protection of migrant workers’ rights, access to permanent residence, and access to services, including newcomer settlement services.

To read the report cards: http://ccrweb.ca/en/migrant-workers-report-cards


For more information on migrant workers in Canada and the CCR’s concerns: http://ccrweb.ca/en/migrant-workers

- 30 -

De nouveaux bulletins évaluent la protection des travailleurs migrants à travers le Canada

Version imprimable

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés
Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

De nouveaux bulletins évaluent la protection des travailleurs migrants à travers le Canada

Le 16 mai 2013 - Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés (CCR) a publié aujourd'hui une série de bulletins (http://ccrweb.ca/fr/travailleurs-migrants-bulletins) résumant les approches des gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral à l’égard de la protection des droits des travailleurs migrants dans les volets "peu qualifiés" du Programme des travailleurs étrangers temporaires.

« Nous espérons que ces bulletins serviront à identifier ce qui pourrait être amélioré et à sensibiliser la population et les gens préoccupés par les travailleurs migrants », a déclaré Loly Rico, présidente du CCR.

Les travailleurs migrants sont particulièrement vulnérables à l'exploitation et aux mauvais traitements en raison de leur statut précaire, du permis de travail lié à un seul employeur et des facteurs tels que l'isolement, le manque d'accès aux services de soutien et le manque d'accès à l'information sur leurs droits. Ces bulletins examinent les progrès, province par province, dans l'introduction de mesures de protection et de soutien pour les travailleurs migrants.

Le gouvernement fédéral vient d’annoncer certaines modifications visant à donner la priorité aux Canadiens dans les offres d'emploi. Cependant, aucun de ces changements n’est conçu pour protéger les travailleurs migrants contre les mauvais traitements.

Le CCR se félicite des mesures adoptées par certaines provinces pour remédier à la vulnérabilité des travailleurs migrants, et exhorte les autres provinces et le gouvernement fédéral à faire de plus grands efforts pour combler les lacunes en matière de protection.

Néanmoins, le CCR estime que les programmes de travailleurs migrants temporaires ne sont pas la bonne réponse. Les gouvernements doivent revenir à des politiques d'immigration permanente. La migration de main-d'œuvre temporaire mais à long terme est néfaste tant pour les travailleurs migrants que pour la société canadienne.

Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés recommande la protection des droits des travailleurs migrants, l'accès à la résidence permanente et l'accès aux services, notamment les services d'accueil des nouveaux arrivants.

Pour lire les bulletins : ccrweb.ca/fr/travailleurs-migrants-bulletins

Plus plus d’amples informations à propos des travailleurs migrants au Canada et les preoccupations du CCR : ccrweb.ca/fr/travailleurs-migrants

Contacts :
Janet Dench, directrice, Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés, jdench@ccrweb.ca, (514) 277-7223, poste 2
Colleen French, coordinatrice de la communication, Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés, cfrench@ccrweb.ca, (514) 277-7223, poste 1, (514) 476-3971 (cellulaire)