More Changes needed to Protect Migrant Workers

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees
Media Release

    For immediate release
30 April 2013


More Changes needed to Protect Migrant Workers

 

The Canadian Council for Refugees welcomed some of the changes to the Temporary Foreign Worker Program announced yesterday by the federal government, notably the withdrawal of the rule allowing migrant workers to be paid 15% less than Canadians.

However, the CCR regrets that the announcement did not address the rights abuses suffered by migrant workers, who are vulnerable to exploitation because of their precarious status.

“There is widespread mistreatment of migrant workers in the low-skilled streams,” said Loly Rico, CCR President. “The Canadian Council for Refugees has deep concerns over the government’s approach to migrant workers as disposable, short-term labour with fewer rights and protections than Canadian workers.”

The number of migrant workers in Canada has increased by 70% in the last five years, as Canada has shifted towards a reliance on migrant labour to fill non-temporary jobs in sectors such as food processing and hospitality.

Factors that make Temporary Foreign Workers particularly vulnerable include closed work permits, lack of information on their rights and recourses, and a lack of monitoring.  In some cases, Temporary Foreign Workers have become victims of human trafficking.

Some of the changes announced yesterday could have negative impacts on workers – the CCR will be closely following these. The new power to revoke work permits could result in the deportation of workers through no fault of their own. Without adequate monitoring and enforcement, the new user fee for employers may simply be downloaded to workers (as happens currently in some cases with recruitment fees).

The Canadian Council for Refugees is calling for protection of migrant workers’ rights, access to permanent residence, and access to services, including newcomer settlement services.

Contact

Colleen French. Communication and Networking Coordinator, cfrench@ccrweb.ca, 514-277-7223, ext. 1, 514-476-3971 (cell)

Background information

For more information about migrant workers’ vulnerability to exploitation, abuse and even trafficking in persons, see Used and Abused: Migrant Workers in Canada at: http://ccrweb.ca/sites/ccrweb.ca/files/migrantworkers4pager.pdf

http://ccrweb.ca/en/migrant-workers

Des modifications supplémentaires s’imposent afin de protéger les travailleurs migrants

Version imprimableEnvoyer par courriel

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés
Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

Des modifications supplémentaires s’imposent afin de protéger les travailleurs migrants

Le 30 avril 2013 – Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés a salué certaines des modifications au Programme des travailleurs étrangers temporaires annoncées hier par le gouvernement fédéral, notamment le retrait de la règle qui permettait que les travailleurs migrants soient payés 15% de moins que les Canadiens. Toutefois, le CCR regrette que l’annonce n’ait pas abordé les violations des droits subies par les travailleurs migrants, qui sont vulnérables à l’exploitation en raison de leur statut précaire.

« Il y a un mauvais traitement généralisé des travailleurs du volet peu qualifié », a dit Loly Rico, présidente du CCR. « Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés est vivement préoccupé par rapport à l’approche du gouvernement face aux travailleurs migrants les qualifiant comme étant de la main-d’œuvre jetable, à court terme, ayant moins de droits et protections que les travailleurs canadiens. »

Le nombre de travailleurs migrants au Canada a augmenté de 70% au cours des cinq dernières années, alors que le Canada fait un virage vers le travail des migrants pour combler des postes non temporaires dans des secteurs tels que l’agroalimentaire, l’hôtellerie et la restauration.

Les facteurs qui rendent les Travailleurs étrangers temporaires particulièrement à l’exploitation incluent les permis de travail fermés, leur manque d’accès à l’information à propos de leurs droits et des recours, et un manque de surveillance du programme.  Dans certains cas, des Travailleurs étrangers temporaires sont victimes de la traite humaine.

Certains des changements annoncés hier pourraient avoir des impacts négatifs sur les travailleurs – le CCR les suivra de près. Le nouveau pouvoir de révocation des permis de travail pourrait se traduire par l’expulsion de travailleurs qui n’ont commis aucune faute. Sans un suivi et une application adéquats, les nouveaux frais imposés aux employeurs pourraient être simplement transférés aux travailleurs (comme il se produit parfois déjà dans le cas des frais de recrutement).

Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés réclame la protection des droits des travailleurs migrants, l’accès à la résidence permanente et l’accès aux services, incluant les services d’accueil pour nouveaux arrivants.

Contact :
Colleen French, Coordinatrice de la communication, cfrench@ccrweb.ca, 514-277-7223, poste 1, 514-476-3971 (cell)

Documents d'information :
Pour plus d’informations concernant la vulnérabilité face à l’exploitation, l’abus et même la traite des personnes des travailleurs migrants, voir Travailleurs migrants au Canada : main d'oeuvre bon marché, facilement abusée ccrweb.ca/files/travailleursmigrants4pages.pdf

ccrweb.ca/fr/travailleurs-migrants