Migrant workers in Canada face deteriorating conditions

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionSend by emailSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees
Media Release

    For immediate release
18 December 2012

Migrant workers in Canada face deteriorating conditions

Today, International Migrants Day, the Canadian Council for Refugees expressed its concern about a series of changes over the past year that reduce migrant workers’ rights.  As a result many migrant workers in Canada are worse off than they were a year ago.

‘Things are going from bad to worse for the over 100,000 “low-skilled” migrant workers in Canada', said Loly Rico, CCR President. “The Canadian Council for Refugees has deep concerns over the government’s approach to migrant workers as disposable, short-term labour with fewer rights and protections than Canadian workers.”

Migrant workers in Canada’s Temporary Foreign Worker Program are vulnerable to exploitation because of their temporary status and restrictions on their work permits. While the transition to permanent residence for “high-skilled” temporary foreign workers is being made faster and more flexible, “low-skilled” migrant workers still don’t have access to permanent residence.

Changes of concern over the past year:

  • In March 2012 the government announced that migrant workers could now legally be paid up to 15% less than their Canadian counterparts, for the same work.
  • Starting in July 2012, migrant workers applying for permanent residence through the Provincial Nominee Program must satisfy minimum language requirements that are often difficult for “low-skilled” workers to obtain during the time allowed. For most “low-skilled” migrant workers, this change closes the only door to permanent residence previously open to them.
  • As of 6 December 2012, migrant workers will have their access to Employment Insurance benefits stripped away, despite the fact that these same workers and their employers contribute as much as $303 million annually into Canada’s Employment Insurance scheme.

In November, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development Diane Finley announced that the government would conduct a review of the Temporary Foreign Worker Program. The CCR welcomes this initiative, but more details are needed about who will be consulted and the criteria of the review.

The CCR is conducting its own review and performance evaluations of each provincial government, as well as of the federal government, on the protection of migrant workers’ rights. The report is scheduled to be released on 1 May 2013, International Workers’ Day.

Contact

Colleen French. Communication and Networking Coordinator, cfrench@ccrweb.ca, 514-277-7223, ext. 1, 514-476-3971 (cell)

Background information

For more information about migrant workers’ vulnerability to exploitation, abuse and even trafficking in persons, see Used and Abused: Migrant Workers in Canada at: http://ccrweb.ca/sites/ccrweb.ca/files/migrantworkers4pager.pdf

http://ccrweb.ca/en/migrant-workers

Détérioration des conditions pour les travailleurs migrants au Canada

Version imprimable

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés
Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

Détérioration des conditions pour les travailleurs migrants au Canada

18 décembre 2012 - Aujourd’hui, Journée internationale des migrants, le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés a exprimé sa préoccupation à propos d’une série de changements survenus au cours de l’année dernière qui réduisent les droits des travailleurs migrants. Ainsi, de nombreux travailleurs migrants au Canada sont moins bien lotis qu’ils ne l’étaient il y a un an.

« Les choses vont de mal en pis pour les plus de 100 000 travailleurs migrants ‘peu qualifiés’ au Canada », dit Loly Rico, présidente du CCR. « Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés est vivement préoccupé par rapport à l’approche du gouvernement face aux travailleurs migrants les qualifiant comme étant de la main-d’œuvre jetable, à court terme, ayant moins de droits et protections que les travailleurs canadiens. »

Les travailleurs migrants dans le cadre du Programme des travailleurs étrangers temporaires sont vulnérables à l’exploitation en raison de leur statut temporaire et des restrictions rattachées à leurs permis de travail. Alors que la transition vers la résidence permanente pour les travailleurs étrangers temporaires « hautement qualifiés » est devenue plus rapide et plus souple, les migrants « peu qualifiés » n’ont toujours pas accès à la résidence permanente.

Changements préoccupants de l’année dernière :

  • En mars 2012, le gouvernement a annoncé que les travailleurs migrants pouvaient désormais être payés jusqu’à 15% de moins que les travailleurs canadiens pour effectuer le même travail.

  • À partir de juillet 2012, les travailleurs migrants qui déposent une demande par le biais du Programme des candidats des provinces doivent satisfaire aux exigences linguistiques minimales que les travailleurs « peu qualifiés » peuvent difficilement obtenir pendant le délai imparti. Pour la majorité des travailleurs migrants « peu qualifiés », ce changement ferme la seule porte à la résidence permanente qui leur était disponible.

  • Depuis le 6 décembre 2012, les travailleurs migrants verront leurs accès aux prestations d’assurance-emploi supprimés, malgré le fait que ces mêmes travailleurs et leurs employeurs contribuent jusqu’à 303 millions $ annuellement au régime d’assurance-emploi du Canada.

En novembre, la ministre de Ressources humaines et développement des compétences Diane Finley a annoncé que le gouvernement procéderait à l’examen du programme des travailleurs étrangers temporaires. Le CCR félicite cette initiative, mais plus de détails sont nécessaires au sujet de qui sera consulté et des critères de l’évaluation.

Le CCR effectue sa propre révision et évaluation de la performance de chacun des gouvernements provinciaux, ainsi que du gouvernement fédéral, sur la protection des droits des travailleurs migrants. Il est prévu que le rapport soit diffusé le 1er mai 2013 lors de la Journée internationale des travailleurs.

Contact :
Colleen French, Coordinatrice de la communication, cfrench@ccrweb.ca, 514-277-7223, poste 1, 514-476-3971 (cell)

Documents d'information :
Pour plus d’informations concernant la vulnérabilité face à l’exploitation, l’abus et même la traite des personnes des travailleurs migrants, voir Travailleurs migrants au Canada : main d'oeuvre bon marché, facilement abusée ccrweb.ca/files/travailleursmigrants4pages.pdf

ccrweb.ca/fr/travailleurs-migrants