Citizenship language requirements mean extra burdens for refugees

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees
Media release

For immediate release
1 October 2012

Citizenship language requirements mean extra burdens for refugees

 

The Canadian Council for Refugees today expressed its concern that the new citizenship language requirements will place additional burdens on refugees and other vulnerable newcomers.

Starting November 1, applicants for citizenship will have to provide proof of their English or French skills, at their own expense. Currently the Government of Canada assesses applicants’ language competencies.

“Refugees applying for citizenship often speak good English or French, but they have learned it along the way and don’t have a piece of paper to prove it,” said Loly Rico, President. “They are struggling to get by and support their families: they want to become citizens, but they don’t have money to pay for an expensive language test.”

The government estimates that 27% of applicants will need to pay for testing, because they lack documentary proof of their language competency, and that collectively they will pay $2.2 million annually for language testing.

The CCR notes that many newcomers come to Canada already speaking English or French, but without documentary proof such as high school certificates. This is particularly the case for refugees, who are often forced to travel without their personal documents or who may have learned languages informally.

Other newcomers learn English or French after arrival in Canada, but not in a formal language training course, so they do not have documents proving their language ability.  This may include resettled refugees who must forego language training in order to work to pay back their transportation loan to the government. It also includes many refugees who arrived as refugee claimants: since claimants are not eligible for newcomer language training, they often find alternative ways on their own to learn English or French.

The CCR is also concerned that language testing may not be equally available in all regions of Canada, putting at a disadvantage people in smaller centres or rural areas. They will likely need to pay for travel to centres where language testing is offered.

For more information, see CCR comments: http://ccrweb.ca/en/proposed-change-citizenship-proof-language-proficiency

Contact:

Colleen French, Communication and Networking Coordinator, (514) 277-7223, ext. 1, (514) 476-3971 (cell), cfrench@ccrweb.ca

Demandes de citoyenneté : les exigences linguistiques signifieront un fardeau additionnel pour les réfugiés

Version imprimable

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés
Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

Demandes de citoyenneté : les exigences linguistiques signifieront un fardeau additionnel pour les réfugiés

Le 1er octobre 2012 – Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés a exprimé aujourd'hui ses préoccupations à l’égard des nouvelles exigences linguistiques pour les demandes de citoyenneté. Elles constitueront un fardeau supplémentaire pour les réfugiés et pour d’autres nouveaux arrivants vulnérables.

À partir du 1er novembre, les candidats à la citoyenneté devront fournir, à leurs propres frais, des preuves de leurs compétences en français ou en anglais. Actuellement, le gouvernement du Canada évalue les compétences linguistiques des demandeurs.

« Les réfugiés qui demandent la citoyenneté parlent souvent bien l'anglais ou le français, mais ils l'ont appris en cours de route et n’ont pas de papiers pour le prouver » a déclaré Loly Rico, présidente. « Ils ont du mal à s'en sortir et à soutenir leurs familles : ils veulent devenir citoyens, mais ils n'ont pas d'argent pour payer un examen de langue, qui coûte cher. »

Le gouvernement estime que 27 % des demandeurs devront payer pour un examen, car ils n'ont pas déjà une preuve documentaire de leurs compétences linguistiques, et que, ensemble, ils vont payer 2,2 millions de dollars par année pour les examens de langue.

Le CCR note que de nombreux nouveaux arrivants parlent déjà le français ou l’anglais au moment de leur arrivée au Canada, sans avoir de preuves documentaires tels les certificats d'études secondaires. C’est notamment le cas des réfugiés, qui sont souvent contraints de voyager sans leurs documents personnels ou qui peuvent avoir appris la langue de façon informelle.

D'autres nouveaux arrivants apprennent le français ou l'anglais après leur arrivée au Canada, mais sans assister à des cours de formation linguistique formelle, de sorte qu'ils n'ont pas de document pour prouver leur connaissance de la langue. Il peut s'agir de réfugiés réinstallés qui doivent renoncer aux cours de langue afin de travailler pour rembourser au gouvernement leur prêt de transport. C’est le cas également de nombreux réfugiés arrivés comme demandeurs d'asile : puisqu’ils ne sont pas admissibles aux cours de langue gouvernementaux, ils se débrouillent autrement pour apprendre le français ou l'anglais.

Le CCR se préoccupe également du fait que les examens de langue pourraient ne pas être accessibles dans toutes les régions du Canada, ce qui imposerait un fardeau supplémentaire aux personnes se trouvant en milieu rural. Ils auront probablement besoin de payer pour leur déplacement vers un centre plus grand où l’examen de langue est offert.

Pour des informations complémentaires, voir les commentaires du CCR (en anglais): http://ccrweb.ca/fr/proposed-change-citizenship-proof-language-proficiency

Contact :

Colleen French, Coordonnatrice de la communication et du réseautage, 514-277-7223 poste 1, 514-476-3971 (cellulaire), cfrench@ccrweb.ca