On International Workers Day migrant workers in Canada can look forward to discriminatory treatment

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees 

Media advisory
 
For immediate release
1 May 2012
 
On International Workers Day Migrant Workers in Canada can Look Forward to Discriminatory Treatment
 
This International Worker’s Day, the Canadian Council for Refugees decries the recent announcement by Human Resources and Skills Development Canada introducing unequal wages through the Temporary Foreign Worker Program. HRSDC is fast-tracking processing for employers to bring temporary foreign workers to Canada, and allowing them to pay them 15% below the average wage paid to Canadian workers.
 
This change will mean that Temporary Foreign Workers with the same skills as Canadian workers will routinely be paid below average wages for doing the same work. The Canadian Council for Refugees believes that Canadians support principles of fairness and equality, and that the new rules breach those values.
 
There are already many documented cases of abuse and exploitation of workers under the Temporary Foreign Worker Program. The announced changes will allow workers to be officially taken advantage of and will set a precedent of inequality.
 
“Paying workers less because of their nationality or temporary status is discriminatory and unfair. These new rules will institutionalize exploitation,” said Wanda Yamamoto, CCR President. 
 
In addition to concerns over discrimination, there is also the worry that offering lower wages to foreign workers will make them more competitive than Canadians, and thus push wages down for all workers. 
 
“This move will not only result in a more unequal society, but it will mean a race to the bottom for wages that will harm Canadian workers as well. This is not what we want for Canada’s workers,” Ms. Yamamoto added.
 
The Canadian Council for Refugees’ migrant workers campaign has three central demands: protection of workers’ rights, access to permanent residence, and access to services (including settlement services).
 
Contact 
Colleen French, Communication and Networking Coordinator, 514-277-7223, ext. 1, cfrench@ccrweb.ca

Lors de la Journée internationale des travailleurs, les travailleurs et travailleuses migrant-e-s au Canada peuvent s'attendre à un traitement discriminatoire

Version imprimable

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés 

Communiqué
 
Pour diffusion immédiate
 
Lors de la Journée internationale des travailleurs, les travailleurs et travailleuses migrant-e-s au Canada peuvent s'attendre à un traitement discriminatoire
 
Le 1er mai 2012 - À l’occasion de la Journée internationale des travailleurs, le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés dénonce l’annonce récente de Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDSC) qui introduit une inégalité de salaire dans le Programme des travailleurs étrangers temporaires. RHDSC permettra aux employeurs d’amener des travailleurs étrangers temporaires plus rapidement au Canada, et de payer ces travailleurs jusqu'à 15% en dessous du salaire moyen versé aux travailleurs canadiens.
 
Ce changement signifie que les travailleurs étrangers temporaires ayant les mêmes compétences que les travailleurs canadiens seront régulièrement payés en dessous du salaire moyen pour faire le même travail. Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés estime que les Canadiens appuient les principes d'équité et d'égalité, et que les nouvelles règles violent ces valeurs. 
 
Il existe déjà de nombreux cas documentés d'abus et d'exploitation des travailleurs dans le cadre du Programme des travailleurs étrangers temporaires. Les modifications annoncées officialiseront l’exploitation des travailleurs et créeront ainsi un précédent d’inégalité.
 
« Moins payer les travailleurs en raison de leur nationalité ou de leur statut temporaire, c’est discriminatoire et injuste. Ces nouvelles règles vont institutionnaliser l'exploitation, » a déclaré Wanda Yamamoto, présidente du CCR.
 
En plus des préoccupations liées à la discrimination, on se préoccupe du fait qu’offrir des salaires plus bas aux travailleurs étrangers les rendra plus compétitifs que les Canadiens, et ainsi baissera les salaires de tous les travailleurs.
 
« Cette initiative résultera non seulement en une société plus inégale, mais aussi en un nivellement des salaires par le bas qui nuira aussi aux travailleurs canadiens. Ce n'est pas ce que nous voulons pour les travailleurs canadiens, » a ajouté Mme Yamamoto.
 
La campagne du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés pour les droits des travailleurs migrants a trois revendications centrales: la protection des droits des travailleurs, l'accès à la résidence permanente et l'accès aux services (y compris les services d'établissement). 
 
Contact :
 
Colleen French, Coordinatrice de la communication et du réseautage, 514-277-7223 poste 1, cfrench@ccrweb.ca