New bill further undermines refugees

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

 

Canadian Council for Refugees

Media release

For immediate release

16 February 2012

New bill further undermines refugees

The Canadian Council for Refugees is seriously concerned with the proposed legislation to reform Canada’s refugee determination system, the Protecting Canada’s Immigration System Act.

“The bill is discriminatory and creates a two-tier system of refugee protection in Canada,” said Wanda Yamamoto, CCR President.  “It also makes it dangerously vulnerable to political considerations, rather than ensuring a fair and independent decision about who is a refugee. Our refugee system needs to give everyone a fair hearing, based on the facts of their case and regardless of their country of origin.”

As with Bill C-11 in 2010, the CCR is concerned that the reforms the government proposes will particularly hurt certain claimants including women making gender-based claims, persons making refugee claims on the basis of sexual orientation or sexual identity, and members of particular minority groups.  In many countries that otherwise seem fairly peaceful and “safe”, there can be serious problems of persecution, discrimination and violence against such individuals often with the participation of state officials. Furthermore, the elimination of a proposed oversight mechanism for designated countries of origin under Bill C-11 renders Canada’s system of independent decision-making for refugees vulnerable to politicization.

Another concern is that the timelines imposed by the bill for the preparation of refugee hearings and for processing refugee claims overall will be too short to allow adequate preparation. While many refugees will welcome an early hearing, for some it will represent a serious disadvantage, notably refugees who have experienced serious trauma such as torture, refugees who cannot have relevant documentation sent to Canada quickly enough and refugees who need to build trust in order to be able to testify freely (such as women and persons claiming on the basis of sexual orientation who have experienced sexual assault).

The CCR regrets the further limits on the proposed Refugee Appeal Division, making it inaccessible to many. While Bill C-11 proposed an appeal to counterbalance possible mistakes in a faster system, Bill C-31’s new combination of further accelerated timelines with more restrictive access to an appeal will mean that many mistakes will go uncorrected, risking the lives of refugees.

The CCR also deplores the proposal to limit access to applications for permanent residence on humanitarian and compassionate (H & C) grounds.  This eliminates yet another avenue for refugees to correct wrong decisions.  It is discriminatory (where people are excluded for their country of origin) and will potentially generate enormous quantities of litigation.

The CCR regrets the continuing use of language such as “bogus claims”, which is extremely damaging. Not everyone who makes a claim needs protection but that doesn’t make them “abusers”. They may have compelling reasons for leaving their country, even though they may not meet the narrow refugee definition.

Refugees are among the most vulnerable people in society and, as non-citizens in a foreign country, are easy targets for attack. Disparaging labels, especially coming from government, profoundly damage public perception of refugees, and non-citizens in general.

Canada is a model for countries around the world, known for welcoming people fleeing persecution. This important asset would be lost under the government’s new proposal, which emphasizes speed and categorizations over fairness and individual protection.

Contact:

Colleen French, Communication and Networking Coordinator, (514) 277-7223, ext. 1

Le nouveau projet de loi va à l’encontre des intérêts des réfugiés

Version imprimableEnvoyer par courriel

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés

Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

Le nouveau projet de loi va à l’encontre des intérêts des réfugiés

Le 16 février 2012 - Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés est gravement préoccupé par le projet de loi visant à réformer le système canadien de détermination du statut de réfugié, la Loi visant à protéger le système d’immigration du Canada.

« Le projet de loi est discriminatoire et crée un système de protection des réfugiés à deux vitesses au Canada », a déclaré Wanda Yamamoto, présidente du CCR. «Il rend le système vulnérable à des considérations politiques plutôt que d'assurer une décision juste et indépendante afin de décider qui est un réfugié. Notre système de protection des réfugiés se doit de donner à chacun un processus équitable, fondé sur les faits de leur cause et ce quelque soit leur pays d'origine. »

Comme avec le projet de loi C-11 en 2010, le CCR est préoccupé du fait que les personnes qui seront affectées négativement comprendront les femmes qui font une demande fondée sur le genre, les personnes qui font une demande sur la base de l’orientation ou de l’identité sexuelle, ainsi que les membres de groupes minoritaires. Dans de nombreux pays considérés comme « sûrs » par le gouvernement fédéral, on constate des problèmes sérieux de persécution, de discrimination et de violence contre des individus, souvent avec la participation des représentants de l’état. En outre, l'élimination d'un mécanisme de surveillance tel que proposé pour les pays d'origine désignés « sûrs » dans le projet de loi C-11, transforme la prise de décision indépendante pour les réfugiés vulnérables en geste politique.

Une autre préoccupation est que les délais prévus par ce projet de loi pour la préparation des audiences et le traitement des demandes d'asile sont beaucoup trop courts pour permettre une préparation adéquate. Alors que de nombreux réfugiés se réjouiront de la tenue rapide de leur audience, certains seront nettement désavantagés, notamment les réfugiés qui ont subi des traumatismes graves comme la torture, les réfugiés qui ne peuvent pas se faire envoyer les documents pertinents au Canada assez rapidement et les réfugiés qui ont besoin d’établir une confiance avant de témoigner librement (comme les femmes et les personnes faisant une demande sur la base de l’orientation sexuelle qui ont subi une agression sexuelle).

Le CCR regrette les limites supplémentaires proposées au niveau de la Section d'appel des réfugiés, qui la rendront inaccessible à plusieurs. Alors que le projet de loi C-11 a proposé un appel en tant que contrepoids aux erreurs dû à un système plus rapide, la nouvelle combinaison que propose le projet de loi C-31 - de délais plus courts avec un accès plus restrictif à un appel - signifie que de nombreuses erreurs ne seront pas corrigées et mettront la vie des réfugiés en danger.

Le CCR déplore également la proposition visant à interdire l'accès aux demandes de résidence permanente pour considérations humanitaires (CH). Ceci élimine encore une autre avenue pour les réfugiés pour corriger de mauvaises décisions. Ce changement est discriminatoire (là où les gens sont exclus à raison de leur pays d'origine) et va potentiellement générer une grande quantité de litiges.

Le CCR regrette que le gouvernement continue d’utiliser des termes tels que « faux demandeurs » qui sont extrêmement nuisibles. Bien que toutes les personnes qui font une demande d’asile n’aient pas besoin de protection, cela ne fait pas des demandeurs d’asile des « abuseurs potentiels ». Ces personnes peuvent avoir des raisons convaincantes de quitter leur pays, même si ces raisons ne correspondent pas à la définition étroite de réfugié.

Les réfugiés sont parmi les personnes les plus vulnérables d’une société et, en tant que non-citoyens dans un pays étranger, sont des cibles faciles à attaquer. Les étiquettes dénigrantes, surtout de la part du gouvernement, entravent profondément la perception du public envers les réfugiés, et les non-citoyens en général.

Le Canada est un modèle pour les pays du monde entier, connu pour son accueil des personnes fuyant la persécution. Cet atout important serait perdu à cause de cette nouvelle proposition du gouvernement qui met l'accent sur la vitesse et les catégorisations au dépit de l'équité et la protection de l’individu.

Contact :

Colleen French, Coordinatrice de la communication, (514) 277-7223, poste 1