Humanitarian crisis in Horn of Africa needs strong Canadian response

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees
Media Release

For immediate release
13 July 2011

Humanitarian crisis in Horn of Africa needs strong Canadian response

The Canadian Council for Refugees today added its voice to calls by Somali Canadians for Canada to show strong leadership in responding to the humanitarian crisis in the Horn of Africa.

Thousands of people have fled conflict and famine in Somalia. Children are dying from starvation before they can reach safety.

“We are counting on Canadians responding generously, as we have to other recent appeals for aid, in line with our best traditions,” said Wanda Yamamoto, CCR President. “We are conscious of the distress of Somali Canadians, many of whom have family among the refugees fleeing and in the overwhelmed Dadaab camp in Kenya. The crisis facing Somalia has being going on for twenty years – we need it to be resolved.”

Shortcomings in Canadian refugee policy are highlighted by the current acute crisis. Canada’s Nairobi visa office, which covers the Horn of Africa, has excruciatingly slow processing times for refugees (37 months for government-assisted refugees, 51 months for privately sponsored refugees). Because the backlog at Nairobi of refugees awaiting resettlement is so large, the Canadian government has asked the UNHCR to stop referring refugees to Nairobi and has required private sponsors to reduce the numbers of refugee applications they submit to Nairobi.

This means that Canada is not able to help relieve the pressure on the Dadaab refugee camp through resettlement or respond effectively to newly arrived refugees in the region who need urgent protection.

Further, when after years of waiting the Nairobi office finally makes a decision on Somali refugee applicants, they unaccountably reject some, despite the gravity of the human rights situation in Somalia that they have fled.

Even applications for reunification of immediate families, including children with their parents, take an unacceptably long time to process at Nairobi (40 months for dependants of refugees). Somali applicants also face many barriers in the process, including frequent demands for DNA testing.

Canadians with displaced family in the region are left feeling powerless and despairing, because they are unable to reach out to help their relatives.

The Canadian Council for Refugees calls on the Canadian government to meet with the Somali communities in Canada to discuss how they can work together to find solutions to the humanitarian crisis in Somalia.

The CCR also asks the government to address the barriers and delays facing Somalis, as well as refugees from other countries, at the Nairobi visa office, and to respond quickly to particular resettlement needs arising out of the current crisis, as it has done in other similar situations, including the unrest in Libya.

Finally, the CCR reiterates its request that the Canadian government impose a Temporary Suspension of Removals to Somalia. The longstanding situation of generalized insecurity in Somalia makes such an action long overdue. The current acute crisis only heightens the need for this measure, which would give Somalis in Canada basic protection from deportation.

Contact:
Janet Dench, tel. (514) 277-7223 ext. 2, email: jdench@ccrweb.ca

More information

For an example of one baby's separation from her mother, see http://ccrweb.ca/en/zeynab-timeline.

For more information on the long delays at Canada’s Nairobi visa office, see http://ccrweb.ca/en/nairobi.

La crise humanitaire dans la Corne de l’Afrique nécessite une forte réponse de la part du Canada

Version imprimable

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés
Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

La crise humanitaire dans la Corne de l’Afrique nécessite une forte réponse de la part du Canada

Le 13 juillet 2011 - Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés a ajouté aujourd’hui sa voix aux appels lancés par les Canadiens d’origine somalienne pour que le Canada fasse preuve de leadership ferme dans la réponse à la crise humanitaire qui sévit dans la Corne de l’Afrique.

Des milliers de personnes ont fui les conflits et la famine en Somalie. Les enfants meurent de faim avant de pouvoir trouver refuge.

« Nous comptons sur une réponse généreuse de la part des Canadiens, comme nous avons répondu à d’autres demandes d’aide récentes, fidèlement à nos meilleures traditions », a déclaré Wanda Yamamoto, présidente du CCR. « Nous sommes conscients de la détresse des Canadiens d’origine somalienne, dont beaucoup ont de la famille parmi les réfugiés qui fuient et dans le camp débordé de Dadaab au Kenya. La crise que connaît la Somalie dure déjà vingt ans – il faut qu’elle soit résolue. »

La crise actuelle aiguë met en évidence les lacunes dans les politiques canadiennes en matière de réfugiés. Les délais de traitement au bureau canadien des visas à Nairobi, qui couvre la Corne de l’Afrique, sont extrêmement longs pour les réfugiés (37 mois pour les réfugiés aidés par le gouvernement, 51 mois pour les réfugiés parrainés par le secteur privé). En raison de l’importance de l’arriéré à Nairobi des réfugiés en attente de réinstallation, le gouvernement canadien a demandé au HCR de cesser de recommander des réfugiés au bureau de Nairobi et a imposé aux groupes de parrainage des réductions dans le nombre de demandes qu’ils peuvent soumettre à Nairobi.

Cela signifie que le Canada n’est pas en mesure d’aider à soulager par la réinstallation les pressions sur le camp de réfugiés de Dadaab ni de répondre efficacement aux réfugiés nouvellement arrivés dans la région qui ont besoin d’une protection urgente.

En outre, quand, après des années d’attente le bureau de Nairobi procède enfin au traitement des demandeurs somaliens, il refuse inexplicablement le statut de réfugié à certains d’entre eux, malgré la gravité de la situation en matière des droits humains en Somalie.

Même les demandes de réunification des familles immédiates, y compris des enfants avec leurs parents, prennent beaucoup trop de temps à traiter à Nairobi (40 mois pour les personnes à charge des réfugiés). Les demandeurs somaliens font également face à de nombreux obstacles dans le processus, y compris les demandes fréquentes pour des tests ADN.

Les Canadiens qui ont de la famille déplacée dans la région se retrouvent avec un sentiment d’impuissance et de désespoir, parce qu’ils sont incapables d’aider leurs proches.

Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés demande au gouvernement canadien de rencontrer les communautés somaliennes au Canada pour discuter de la façon dont ils peuvent collaborer sur la recherche de solutions à la crise humanitaire en Somalie.

Le CCR demande également au gouvernement de s’attaquer aux obstacles et aux retards auxquels font face les Somaliens, ainsi que les réfugiés d’autres pays, au bureau des visas de Nairobi, et de répondre rapidement aux besoins de réinstallation particuliers découlant de la crise actuelle, comme il l’a fait dans d’autres situations similaires, y compris le conflit en Libye.

Finalement, le CCR réitère sa demande au gouvernement canadien d’imposer une suspension temporaire des renvois vers la Somalie. La situation de longue date d’insécurité généralisée en Somalie fait que cette mesure aurait dû être prise il y a longtemps. La crise actuelle aiguë ne fait qu’accentuer la nécessité de cette mesure, qui protégerait les Somaliens se trouvant au Canada de la déportation.

Contact : Janet Dench, tél. (514) 277-7223 poste 2, courriel jdench@ccrweb.ca

En savoir plus

Pour un exemple de la séparation d’un bébé de sa mère, voir http://ccrweb.ca/fr/parcours-zeynab
Pour de plus amples informations sur les longs délais de traitement au bureau canadien des visas à Nairobi, voir http://ccrweb.ca/fr/nairobi.