Huge costs of government bill highlighted

Printer-friendly versionSend by email
Canadian Council for Refugees
Media Release
For immediate release
10 November 2010
 
Huge costs of government bill highlighted
 
The Canadian Council for Refugees today called on parliamentarians to reject Bill C-49, a bill that would be extremely costly both to Canadians and to people seeking refugee protection in Canada.
 
Key provisions of Bill C-49 include mandatory detention for a year without review and the denial of permanent status for five years to some recognized refugees.
 
“These measures would be extremely costly, in terms of tax dollars, in terms of human suffering and in terms of Canada’s credibility internationally,” said Wanda Yamamoto, CCR President. “We don’t believe that Canadians want their tax dollars spent on locking up innocent children. And we know that keeping refugees in limbo leads only to disastrous consequences.”
 
According to the Auditor General, keeping a person in detention costs between $120 and $238 per day (2006-2007 figures). There were 49 children on the MV Sun Sea: keeping them in detention for a year would cost at a minimum over two million dollars. The cost of detaining everyone who arrived on the MV Sun Sea for a year would be over 21.5 million dollars.
 
“Many of the children on the Sun Sea have been living in a war zone – one little boy still has shrapnel in his head. They undertook a dangerous journey over the ocean, trying to save their lives and thinking that they would find safety in Canada,” said David Poopalapillai, spokesperson for the Canadian Tamil Congress. “It is tough for the children being in detention: physically the place is fine, but emotionally it affects the children.  The children cry for their fathers who are detained separately, and their mothers don’t know how to answer them.”
 
In the 1990s Canada had a policy that forced most Somali and Afghan refugees to wait in limbo for five years before becoming permanent residents, just as Bill C-49 would impose a five year limbo on some refugees. This policy had devastating consequences on the thousands affected and the wider community and resulted in the UNHCR requesting an opinion that found Canada in violation of the Refugee Convention. The policy was challenged in court as discriminatory and, in 2000, the government agreed to a settlement that eliminated the five-year limbo period.
 
“We are still seeing the consequences of this policy today in the Somali community,” said Mahad Yusuf, Executive Director, Midaynta Community Services, Toronto. “Families were kept separate for all those years. Young people were prevented from going to college or university, and some of them got onto the wrong path. Men who couldn’t bring their families or get a proper job fell into depression – some of them still have mental health problems. I believe that this problem of limbo in the 1990s may be partly responsible for the pattern of murders of Somali youth in Alberta and Ontario.”
 
Many legal scholars have underlined the numerous ways in which Bill C-49 violates Canada’s international obligations towards refugees. If the bill is adopted, Canada will lack the moral authority to play a leadership role internationally in efforts to find solutions to the problems faced by refugees. For example, this week over 15,000 Burmese are reported to have fled into Thailand. How can Canada credibly urge the Thai government to respect these refugees’ rights, when here at home we are denying refugees their rights?
 
The full costs of Bill C-49 are extensive and should lead Parliamentarians to dismiss this Bill at second reading.
 
70 organizations from across Canada have jointed the CCR in calling for Parliament to reject Bill C-49: http://ccrweb.ca/en/organizations-calling-defeat-bill-c-49.
 
Contacts:
Colleen French, CCR Communications Coordinator, 514-277-7223 ext. 1, email cfrench@ccrweb.ca
David Poopalapillai, Canadian Tamil Congress, (416) 240-0078
Mahad Yusuf, Midaynta, (416) 544-1992, ext. 229
 
 

 
Background on the limbo policy affecting Somalis and Afghans in the 1990s
In 1993, a change in Canadian law required accepted refugees to provide satisfactory identity documents in order to be granted permanent residence. Many Somali and Afghan refugees could not provide satisfactory identity documents, because of the lack of a functioning government in their country of origin. By 1996, the government estimated that approximately 7,500 Somali and Afghan refugees were in limbo. In 1997, the government introduced the Undocumented Convention Refugees in Canada Class that allowed these refugees to be granted permanent residence following a 5-year wait, during which time they could not reunite with family members and could not travel outside Canada. In 2000, the government agreed to a legal settlement, which allowed refugees to become permanent residents without waiting 5 years in limbo. The terms of the agreement were written into the 2002 regulations (Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations, s. 178).
 
For more information, see Caledon Institute, What’s In A Name: Identity Documents and Convention Refugees, 1999, http://www.caledoninst.org/Publications/PDF/whats.pdf

Les coûts phénoménaux d’un projet de loi

Version imprimable
Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés
Pour diffusion immédiate
 
Les coûts phénoménaux d’un projet de loi
 

10 novembre 2010 - Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés a appelé aujourd'hui les députés à rejeter le projet de loi C-49, un projet de loi qui serait extrêmement coûteux à la fois pour les Canadiens et pour les personnes qui cherchent l’asile au Canada.

Les principales dispositions du projet de loi C-49 comprennent la détention obligatoire pour un an sans examen et l’impossibilité pour certains réfugiés reconnus d’obtenir le statut de résident permanent pendant cinq ans.

« Ces mesures seraient extrêmement coûteuses, sur le plan de l’argent des contribuables, sur le des souffrances humaines et sur le plan de la crédibilité du Canada sur la scène internationale », a déclaré Wanda Yamamoto, présidente du CCR. « Selon nous, les Canadiens ne veulent pas que leurs impôts soient consacrés à enfermer des enfants innocents. Et nous savons déjà que le maintien de réfugiés dans un vide juridique ne peut mener qu'à des conséquences désastreuses. »
 
Selon la vérificatrice générale, maintenir une personne en détention coûte entre 120 $ et 238 $ par jour (chiffres de 2006-2007). Il y avait 49 enfants sur le MV Sun Sea : leur maintien en détention pendant un an coûterait au minimum plus de deux millions de dollars. Le coût de la détention pour un an de tous ceux qui sont arrivés sur le MV Sun Sea serait de plus de 21,5 millions de dollars.
 
« Plusieurs enfants sur le Sun Sea ont vécu dans une zone de guerre — un petit garçon a toujours des éclats d'obus dans la tête. Ils ont entrepris un voyage périlleux sur l'océan, tentant de sauver leur vie, pensant qu’ils trouveraient la sécurité au Canada », a déclaré David Poopalapillai, porte-parole du Congrès tamoul canadien. « La détention est difficile pour les enfants : physiquement, l'endroit est correct, mais les enfants sont affectés émotionnellement. Les enfants pleurent pour voir leurs pères, qui sont détenus séparément, et leurs mères ne savent pas quoi leur dire. »
 
Dans les années 1990, le Canada avait une politique imposant un vide juridique à la plupart des réfugiés somaliens et afghans pendant cinq ans avant qu’ils ne puissent obtenir la résidence permanente. De la même façon, le projet de loi C-49 imposerait un vide juridique de cinq ans à certains réfugiés. Cette politique a eu des conséquences dévastatrices sur les milliers de personnes touchées et sur l'ensemble de la communauté. En conséquence, le HCR avait demandé un avis dont la conclusion était que le Canada était en violation de la Convention sur les réfugiés. La politique a été contestée devant les tribunaux pour discrimination et, en 2000, le gouvernement a accepté un règlement qui a éliminé la période de vide juridique de cinq ans.
 
« Les conséquences de cette politique se font encore sentir aujourd'hui au sein de la communauté somalienne », a déclaré Yusuf Mahad, directeur général de Midaynta Community Services à Toronto. « Les familles ont été séparées pendant toutes ces années. Les jeunes ne pouvaient pas aller au collège ou à l’université, et certains d'entre eux ont pris un mauvais chemin. Les hommes qui ne pouvaient pas faire venir leur famille ou avoir un bon emploi ont fait une dépression – certains d'entre eux ont encore des problèmes de santé mentale. Je crois que ce problème de vide juridique dans les années 1990 peut être en partie responsable de la série de meurtres de jeunes Somaliens en Alberta et en Ontario. »
 
Plusieurs juristes ont souligné les nombreuses façons dont le projet de loi C-49 viole les obligations internationales du Canada envers les réfugiés. Si le projet de loi est adopté, le Canada n'aura pas l'autorité morale de jouer un rôle de leader international dans la recherche de solutions aux problèmes auxquels les réfugiés sont confrontés. Par exemple, cette semaine, plus de 15 000 Birmans auraient fui vers la Thaïlande. Comment le Canada peut-il demander de façon crédible au gouvernement thaïlandais de respecter les droits de ces réfugiés, alors qu'ici même, nous ne respectons pas les droits des réfugiés?

Le coût total du projet de loi C-49 est élevé et devrait inciter les députés à rejeter ce projet de loi en deuxième lecture.
 
70 organisations de toutes les régions du Canada se sont jointes au CCR pour demander le rejet par le Parlement du projet de loi C-49 : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/organisations-demandant-rejet-projet-loi-c49.
 
 
 
Contacts :
Colleen French, coordonnatrice de la communication du CCR, 514-277-7223 poste 1, courriel cfrench@ccrweb.ca
David Poopalapillai, Congrès tamoul canadien, (416) 240-0078
Mahad Yusuf, Midaynta, (416) 544-1992, poste 229
 
 

 
Contexte de la politique imposant un vide juridique aux Somaliens et aux Afghans dans les années 1990

En 1993, un changement dans la loi exigeait que les personnes reconnues réfugiées fournissent des documents d'identité acceptables afin d'obtenir la résidence permanente. De nombreux réfugiés somaliens et afghans n'ont pas pu fournir de documents d'identité acceptables, en raison de l'absence de gouvernement fonctionnel dans leur pays d'origine. En 1996, le gouvernement estime qu'environ 7 500 réfugiés somaliens et afghans sont dans un vide juridique. En 1997, le gouvernement a introduit la Catégorie des réfugiés au sens de la Convention se trouvant au Canada sans pièces d'identité. Cette catégorie permettait aux réfugiés d'obtenir la résidence permanente après 5 ans, période pendant laquelle ils ne pouvaient pas se réunir avec les membres de leur famille, ni voyager à l'étranger. En 2000, le gouvernement a accepté un règlement judiciaire, ce qui a permis aux réfugiés de devenir résidents permanents, sans attendre 5 ans dans un vide juridique. Les termes de l'accord ont été inscrits dans la réglementation de 2002 (Règlement sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés, art. 178).
 
Pour plus d’information, consulter le Caledon Institute, What's In A Name: Identity Documents and Convention Refugees, 1999, http://www.caledoninst.org/Publications/PDF/whats.pdf