Government bill punishes refugees

Printer-friendly versionSend by email
Canadian Council for Refugees
Media Release
 
For immediate release
21 October 2010

 

Government Bill Punishes Refugees
 
The Canadian Council for Refugees today expressed its grave concern that many of the measures in Bill C-49 fail to honour our obligations towards refugees and would result in refugees being treated unfairly. Despite the government’s claims that it is targeting smugglers, the people who will suffer if this bill is passed are the people fleeing persecution, including children.
 
“Measures keeping some refugees longer in detention, denying them family reunification and restricting their freedom of movement are likely in violation of the Canadian Charter and of international human rights obligations,” said Wanda Yamamoto, President. “People who are forced to flee for their lives need to be offered asylum and a warm welcome, not punished.”
 
Among the measures that appear particularly unfair are the following:
 
  • Expanded powers to detain some refugee claimants for long periods. The CCR notes that children are among those affected by already existing powers of detention. Refugee children should not be detained.
  • Keeping some recognized refugees in long-term limbo, by denying them the right for five years to apply for permanent residence, and therefore for reunification with their children, in violation of the Convention on the Rights of the Child. Children left behind overseas are at risk while waiting to be reunited with their parents who are refugees in Canada.
  • Denial of freedom of movement for some refugees, in violation of the Refugee Convention. This provision would prevent, for example, a person from visiting family members who have taken refuge in third countries.
  • Denial of family reunification rights for some refugees. This provision would prevent, for example, a person from being able to sponsor a spouse they married after arrival in Canada.
These measures punish people who themselves are victims of persecution. The CCR calls on Parliament to respect international law which clearly states that refugees are not to be penalized for illegal entry (Refugee Convention, article 31).
 
The measures are also discriminatory, and potentially contrary to the Charter, in that they create two classes of refugees, with "designated" refugees denied basic rights.
 
The CCR rejects absolutely the government’s labelling of refugee claimants as “queue jumpers”. This characterization shows a total misunderstanding of the rights and realities of people fleeing persecution. International law recognizes that refugees cannot wait or follow immigration processes when they are seeking asylum.
 
Parliament has recently approved a comprehensive reform of the refugee process, through Bill C-11. Only a few months later, the government is seeking to re-open the compromise that was reached with all political parties, through legislation that radically reduces the rights of persons who have come to Canada seeking our protection.
 
The CCR also notes that the proposed harsh penalties will not deter people who are fleeing for their life. What they will do is gratuitously punish people who have fled persecution.
 
With respect to the offence of smuggling, the CCR notes that the current provision is already so broadly drafted that it covers not only smugglers who are exploiting people for profit, but also individuals who are acting purely on humanitarian motives, in order to help refugees. In 2007, smuggling charges were laid against a refugee worker from the US, Janet Hinshaw-Thomas. Although the charges were subsequently dropped, the law needs to be amended to make sure that people acting purely for humanitarian motives are never again prosecuted.
 
Contact:
Colleen French, Canadian Council for Refugees: 514-277-7223 ext. 1, 514-476-3971 (cell),  email cfrench@ccrweb.ca

Un projet de loi qui punit les réfugiés

Version imprimable
Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés
Pour diffusion immédiate

Un projet de loi qui punit les réfugiés

 
21 octobre 2010 - Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés a exprimé aujourd’hui sa vive préoccupation concernant le projet de loi C-49, dont de nombreuses mesures vont à l’encontre de nos obligations envers les réfugiés et se traduiraient par un traitement injuste des réfugiés.  Le gouvernement affirme que le projet de loi vise les passeurs, mais ce sont les personnes fuyant la persécution, dont des enfants, qui souffriront si le projet de loi est adopté.
 
« Des mesures qui prolongent la détention des réfugiés, empêchent la réunification familiale et limitent leur liberté de mouvement sont susceptibles de violer la Charte canadienne et les obligations internationales en matière de droits humains », a déclaré Wanda Yamamoto, présidente. « Les gens qui doivent fuir pour sauver leur vie ont besoin d’un asile et d’un accueil chaleureux, et non d’être punis. »
 
Les mesures suivantes semblent particulièrement injustes :
 
  • Des pouvoirs élargis de détenir certains demandeurs d’asile pendant de longues périodes. Le CCR note que les enfants sont déjà touchés par les pouvoirs de détention actuels. Les enfants réfugiés ne doivent pas être détenus.
  • Le maintien dans un vide juridique à long terme de certains réfugiés reconnus, en leur refusant le droit de demander la résidence permanente, incluant la réunification avec leurs enfants, en violation de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant. Les enfants laissés à l’étranger sont confrontés à des risques en attendant d’être réunis avec leurs parents qui sont des réfugiés au Canada.
  • Le déni de la liberté de circulation pour certains réfugiés, en violation de la Convention sur les réfugiés. Cette disposition empêcherait, par exemple, une personne de rendre visite aux membres de sa famille qui ont trouvé refuge dans un tiers pays.
  • Le déni du droit à la réunification familiale pour certains réfugiés. Cette disposition empêcherait par exemple, une personne de parrainer son conjoint s’ils se sont mariés après son arrivée au Canada.
Ces mesures punissent les gens qui sont eux-mêmes victimes de la persécution. Le CCR demande au Parlement de respecter le droit international qui stipule clairement que les réfugiés ne doivent pas être punis pour entrée illégale (Convention sur les réfugiés, article 31).
 
Les dispositions sont également discriminatoires, et possiblement contraire à la Charte, dans la mesure où elles créent deux catégories de réfugiés, dont une catégorie de réfugiés « désignés » qui seront privés de certains droits fondamentaux.
 
Le CCR rejette énergiquement l’étiquette que le gouvernement appose aux demandeurs d’asile en  disant que ceux-ci cherchent à passer avant leur tour. Cette interprétation démontre une incompréhension totale des droits et des réalités des personnes fuyant la persécution. Le droit international reconnaît que les réfugiés ne peuvent pas attendre ou suivre le processus d’immigration quand ils sont en quête d’asile.
 
Le Parlement a récemment approuvé une réforme globale du système de détermination du statut de réfugié, avec le projet de loi C-11. À peine quelques mois plus tard, le gouvernement cherche à rouvrir le compromis qui a été conclu avec tous les partis politiques, par une législation qui réduit drastiquement les droits des personnes qui sont venues au Canada en quête de protection.
 
Le CCR note également que les sanctions sévères proposées ne dissuaderont pas les personnes qui fuient pour leur vie. Elles ne feront que punir cruellement les gens qui ont fui la persécution.

En ce qui concerne le trafic des migrants, le CCR note que la disposition actuelle est rédigée de façon si large qu’elle couvre non seulement les trafiquants qui exploitent les gens pour le profit, mais aussi des personnes qui agissent pour des motifs purement humanitaires, afin d’aider les réfugiés. En 2007, des accusations de traffic ont été portées contre une travailleuse humanitaire des États-Unis, Janet Hinshaw-Thomas. Bien que les accusations aient été abandonnées, la loi doit être modifiée afin de s’assurer que les personnes agissant strictement pour des motifs humanitaires ne soient plus jamais poursuivies.
 
Contact :
 
Colleen French, coordinatrice de la communication, 514-277-7223 poste 1, 514-476-3971 (cell), courriel cfrench@ccrweb.ca