Proud to Protect Refugees’ campaign launched across Canada this Refugee Rights Day

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Canadian Council for Refugees
Press Release

For immediate release

4 April 2013

‘Proud to Protect Refugees’ campaign launched across Canada this Refugee Rights Day

 

Today the Canadian Council for Refugees and other organizations announced the launch of a campaign designed to transform the conversation about refugees in Canada. Under the banner ‘Proud to Protect Refugees’, 4 April (Refugee Rights Day) will see the launch of new efforts to promote a positive vision of what we want for refugees and of the important contributions refugees make to our  communities.

“At its best, Canada’s response to refugees makes us all proud,” said Loly Rico, President of the Canadian Council for Refugees. “Twenty-three years ago, I came to Canada as a refugee with my family and we were welcomed. I want to make sure that Canada’s tradition of a warm welcome and protection remains strong. ”

“Refugees suffer human rights abuses because of who they are, or what they believe.  Amnesty International is proud to endorse a campaign to protect refugee rights to life, liberty and security of the person,” said Gloria Nafziger of Amnesty International Canada.

The Most Reverend Fred Hiltz, Archbishop and Primate of the Anglican Church of Canada stated, “This campaign is a wonderful opportunity to learn and spread the word about the gospel imperative to reach out to millions of the most vulnerable and at risk people in the world, to respond to their hope for new beginnings, to welcome and be transformed by their presence, voice and heart in our midst.”

The Canadian Council for Refugees and other groups across Canada are calling on all Canadians to show their pride in protecting refugees. This is important to ensure that Canada remains welcoming.

Recent changes to Canada's refugee system and increased negative rhetoric about newcomers may make it tougher for refugees to find protection and to feel welcome in Canada.

“Faith communities in Canada have long been Proud to Protect Refugees. We are also proud of our universal healthcare system. For this tradition to continue, we need to ensure that everyone in Canada receives adequate healthcare. Providing this same healthcare to refugees and others seeking Canada's protection is the right thing to do and it makes good financial sense,” said Joe Gunn, Executive Director of Citizens for Public Justice.

4 April is the anniversary of the Supreme Court’s 1985 Singh decision and has been celebrated as Refugee Rights Day in Canada since then. In this decision the Supreme Court found that the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms protects the fundamental rights of refugees. The Court decided that ‘everyone’ includes refugee claimants in the sentence: ‘Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of the person and the right not to be deprived thereof except in accordance with the principles of fundamental justice.’ 

For more information on the Proud to Protect Refugees campaign, visit: ccrweb.ca/en/proud-to-protect-refugees

Contacts:

Colleen French, Communication and Networking Coordinator, Canadian Council for Refugees, (514) 277-7223, ext. 1, (514) 476-3971 (cell), cfrench@ccrweb.ca

Sarah Shepherd, Communications Coordinator, Citizens for Public Justice, (613) 232-0275 ext. 225, sarah@cpj.ca

Simon Chambers, Communications Coordinator, Primate’s World Relief and Development Fund (PWRDF), (416) 924-9192, ext. 366, schambers@pwrdf.org

Campagne ‘Fiers de protéger les réfugiés’ lancée cette Journée des droits des réfugiés

Version imprimableEnvoyer par courriel

Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés

Communiqué

Pour diffusion immédiate

Campagne ‘Fiers de protéger les réfugiés’ lancée cette Journée des droits des réfugiés

Le 4 avril 2013 – Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés annonce aujourd’hui le lancement d’une campagne qui vise à transformer le discours concernant les réfugiés. Ce 4 avril, la Journée des droits des réfugiés donne le coup d’envoi à de nouveaux efforts, sous la devise ‘Fiers de protéger les réfugiés’, afin de promouvoir une vision positive de ce qu’on veut pour les réfugiés et des contributions importantes qu’offrent les réfugiés à nos communautés.

« À son meilleur, nous pouvons tous être fiers de la réponse canadienne aux réfugiés », a dit Loly Rico, présidente du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés. « Il y a vingt-trois ans, je suis venue au Canada en tant que réfugiée avec ma famille et nous avons été bien accueillis. Je veux m’assurer du maintien de la tradition canadienne d’offrir une protection et un accueil chaleureux. »

« Les réfugiés subissent des violations de leurs droits humains à cause de leur identité ou de leurs croyances. Amnistie internationale est fière d’endosser une campagne qui protège les droits des réfugiés à la vie, à la liberté et à la sécurité de la personne » a dit Gloria Nafziger d’Amnesty International Canada.

Le révérendissime Fred Hiltz, archevêque et primat de l’Église anglicane du Canada a dit : « Cette campagne est une merveilleuse occasion d’apprendre et de communiquer l’impératif évangélique de tendre la main à des millions de personnes les plus vulnérables et les plus à risque dans le monde, de répondre à leur espérance d’un nouveau départ, d’accueillir et d’être transformés par leur présence, leur voix et leur cœur parmi nous. »

Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés et d’autres groupes à travers le Canada invitent tout le monde à démontrer leur fierté de protéger les réfugiés. Il s’agit d’un geste important afin d’assurer que le Canada reste une terre d’accueil.

De récents changements au système d’asile et un discours de plus en plus négatif à propos des nouveaux arrivants pourraient faire en sorte que les réfugiés aient plus de difficulté à trouver la protection et à se sentir les bienvenus au Canada.

« Des communautés de foi au Canada sont fières de protéger les réfugiés depuis longtemps. Nous sommes également fiers de notre système de santé universel. Pour que cette tradition continue, il faut s’assurer que toute personne au Canada reçoit un traitement adéquat. Offrir ce même traitement aux réfugiés et à d’autres personnes qui cherchent la protection au Canada est la bonne chose à faire, tant sur le plan moral que financier », a dit Joe Gunn, directeur de Citoyens pour une politique juste.

Le 4 avril marque l'anniversaire de la décision Singh de la Cour suprême en 1985. Depuis cette date, il est connu comme la Journée des droits des réfugiés au Canada. Dans cette décision, la Cour suprême a conclu que la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés protège les droits fondamentaux des réfugiés. La Cour suprême a décidé que les demandeurs d’asile font partie du terme « chacun » dans la phrase : « Chacun a droit à la vie, à la liberté et à la sécurité de sa personne; il ne peut être porté atteinte à ce droit qu’en conformité avec les principes de justice fondamentale. »

Pour plus d’informations à propos de la campagne Fiers de protéger les réfugiés, consultez : ccrweb.ca/fr/fiers-de-proteger-refugies

Contacts :

Colleen French, Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés, (514) 277-7223, poste 1, (514) 476-3971 (cell), cfrench@ccrweb.ca

Sarah Shepherd, Citoyens pour une Politique Juste (bilingue), (613) 232-0275 poste 225, sarah@cpj.ca