Canadian Council for Refugees E-Chronicle Vol. 7 #8, 10 December 2012

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Current issue and campaign pages:

Cuts to the Interim Federal Health Program

Refugee Reform - Bill C-31 changes to the refugee determination system

Migrant Workers - Canada's Disposible Workforce

Conditional Permanent Residence for Sponsored Spouses

What We Want for Refugees: Four faces, four values

Upcoming CCR meetings in 2012 and 2013:


Winter Working Group meetings, Friday, February 22 and Saturday, February 23 2013, Toronto

Spring Consultation, Thursday, May 30 - Saturday, June 1 2013, Vancouver

Upcoming CCR webinars:

Preparing for C-31, Wednesday 12 December 2012 

Canadian Council for Refugees E-Chronicle Vol. 7 #8, 10 December 2012

CONTENTS:

  1. Refugee reform: new refugee determination system takes effect 15 December
  2. Protection in Canada?: Mark International Migrants Day this 18 December
  3. Successful CCR Consultation maps out future actions
  4. Conclusions from the National Trafficking Forum, Toronto

---

  1. Refugee reform: new refugee determination system takes effect 15 December

Refugee ReformThe government has announced that important changes to Canada's refugee determination system will be implemented on 15 December.

The CCR is concerned that, under the new system some refugees will not have a fair chance to make their case, because of the extremely short timelines.  The tight timelines will particularly disadvantage the most vulnerable refugees, including survivors of torture and rape, women with claims based on gender persecution, and refugees fleeing persecution on the basis of their sexual orientation.

In addition, some claimants will have fewer rights than others because they come from a country that is designated by the Minister. This creates a two-tier system and increases the risk that mistakes will be made, without the opportunity for them to be corrected, leading to the deportation of refugees to a situation of persecution. 

More information about the changes is available at ccrweb.ca/refugee-reform.

Organizations serving refugees may be interested in participating in a webinar on Preparing for C-31 on Wednesday 12 December.

  1. Protection in Canada?: Mark International Migrants Day this 18 December

migrant workersOn 8 November, Human Resources and Skills Development Canada Minister Diane Finley announced that there would be a review the Temporary Foreign Worker Program. Since 2008, more migrant workers are in Canada on temporary work permits than the number of people coming yearly as permanent residents. While the CCR agrees that the Program must be reviewed and changes made, we are concerned that the evaluation criteria may focus more on short-term economic gains than on the protection of rights and access to services for vulnerable migrant workers.

Stay tuned for a related CCR announcement on International Migrants Day, 18 December!

For more information and resources from the CCR on the rights of migrant workers, see: ccrweb.ca/en/migrant-workers

  1. Successful CCR Fall Consultation maps out future actions

Our Vision: A fair and honourable future for refugee and immigrant familiesFrom 29 November - 1 December 2012, the CCR held its Fall Consultation in Toronto focusing on recent and upcoming policy changes affecting refugees and other newcomers to Canada.  Over 400 participants engaged in discussion on topics such as cuts to refugee health care, changes to the refugee determination system, access to benefits for migrant workers and new directions in refugee resettlement. We would like to thank everyone, especially local organizing committee members and volunteers, who contributed to its success! 

The CCR's Annual General Meeting concluded the Consultation. Several new members were elected to the CCR's Executive Committee, including a new President, Loly Rico. Ms Rico is co-director of the FCJ Refugee Centre in Toronto and takes over leadership of the CCR from Wanda Yamamoto, who stepped down as President earlier this year.

“This is a time when refugees – both claimants and resettled refugees – are facing important new realities in Canada,” said Ms Rico. “I am committed to leading the Canadian Council for Refugees in working for fair and honourable treatment of refugees and other vulnerable migrants.”

The resolutions adopted by the CCR membership are available at: ccrweb.ca/en/resolutions-dec2012

The summary report of the consultation will soon be available online under Recent Information at: ccrweb.ca/en/recent and ccrweb.ca/meetings

For Human Rights Day today, Loly Rico gave her first interview as CCR President on CBC Toronto's program Metro Monring. Listen to it here.

  1. Conclusions from the National Trafficking Forum, Toronto

Protecting trafficked persons in CanadaThe CCR also hosted, in conjunction with the Fall Consultation, a National Forum on Trafficking Issues, which provided an opportunity for non-governmental organizations to develop recommendations on policy priorities and to share ideas in assisting women, men and children who have been trafficked into Canada. A summary report of the Trafficking Forum will soon be available on the CCR trafficking page, http://trafficking.ca and on the CCR library page, http://ccrweb.ca/en/library.

We also invite you to browse through the CCR database of human trafficking resources available online at: http://ccrweb.ca/en/trafficking-resources.

For further information, please contact Samanta García-Fialdini, CCR Trafficking Project Coordinator by email at: sgarcia@ccrweb.ca.

Chronique du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés vol. 7 no. 8, 10 décembre 2012

Version imprimable

Pages des campagnes et des enjeux actuels

Des coupures au Programme fédéral de santé intérimaire

Changements au système de détermination du statut de réfugié (C-31)

Travailleurs migrants - la main d'oeuvre jetable du Canada

La résidence permanente conditionnelle pour les conjoints parrainés

Ce que nous voulons pour les réfugiés : quatre visages, quatre valeurs

Marquez vos calendriers! Événements du CCR en 2012 et 2013

Rencontres d'hiver des groupes de travail, vendredi 22 février et samedi 23 février 2013, Toronto

Consultation du printemps, jeudi 30 mai - samedi 1er juin 2013, Vancouver

Des webinaires du CCR à venir :

Se préparer pour le C-31, mercredi 12 décembre

Chronique du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés vol. 7 no. 8, 10 décembre 2012
 

CONTENU :

  1. Le nouveau système d'asile entre en vigueur le 15 décembre
  2. Protection au Canada? : marquez la Journée internationale des migrants ce 18 décembre
  3. Une consultation réussie vise des actions à venir
  4. Conclusions du Forum pancanadien sur la traite, Toronto

---

  1. Le nouveau système d'asile entre en vigueur le 15 décembre

La réforme des réfugiés

Le gouvernement vient d'annoncer que des changements importants au système d'asile entreront en vigueur le 15 décembre.
 
Le CCR s'inquiète du fait que le nouveau système n'offrira pas à tous les réfugiés la possibilité de bien présenter leur cause, en raison des délais extrêmement courts. Les délais serrés nuiront particulièrement aux réfugiés les plus vulnérables, y compris les personnes ayant subi la torture ou le viol, les femmes fuyant la persécution fondée sur le genre, et les réfugiés persécutés en raison de leur orientation sexuelle.
 
De plus certains demandeurs d'asile auront moins de droits que d'autres parce qu'ils sont des ressortissants d'un pays désigné par le ministre. Cela crée un système à deux vitesses et augmente les risques d'erreurs, sans possibilité de les corriger, avec comme conséquence le refoulement des réfugiés vers une situation de persécution.
 
Des informations supplémentaires à propos des changements sont disponibles à ccrweb.ca/fr/la-reforme-refugies
 
Des organisations au service des réfugiés pourraient s'intéresser également au webinaire du CCR Se préparer pour le C-31, le mercredi 12 décembre.
  1. Protection au Canada?: marquez la Journée internationale des migrants ce 18 décembre

Travailleurs migrants

Le 8 novembre, Diane Finley, ministre des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences, a annoncé que son ministère examine le Programme des travailleurs étrangers temporaires. Depuis 2008, le nombre de travailleurs migrants se trouvant au Canada grâce à un permis de travail temporaire est plus important que le nombre de personnes admis à titre de résidents permanents annuellement. Le CCR convient que le programme doit être revu et des modifications apportées, mais craint que les critères d'évaluation ne se concentrent sur des gains économiques à court terme plutôt que sur la protection des droits et l'accès aux services pour les travailleurs migrants vulnérables.
 
Restez à l'écoute pour une annonce du CCR à l'occasion de la Journée internationale des migrants, le 18 décembre!
 
Pour plus d'informations et de ressources du CCR sur les droits des travailleurs migrants, voir: ccrweb.ca/fr/travailleurs-migrants
  1. Une consultation réussie vise des actions à venir

Notre vision : un avenir équitable et honorable pour les familles réfugiées et immigrantes

Du 29 novembre au 1er décembre 2012, le CCR a tenu sa Consultation d'automne à Toronto en se concentrant sur les changements politiques récents et à venir touchant les réfugiés et d'autres nouveaux arrivants au Canada. Plus de 400 participants se sont engagés dans la discussion des sujets tels les coupures dans les soins de santé pour les réfugiés, les changements au système de protection des réfugiés, l'accès aux prestations pour les travailleurs migrants et les nouvelles orientations en matière de réinstallation des réfugiés. Nous tenons à remercier tous les participants, et en particulier  les membres du comité local organisateur et les bénévoles qui ont contribué au succès de la Consultation!
 
Le CCR assemblée générale annuelle a conclu la Consultation. Plusieurs nouveaux membres ont été élus au Comité exécutif du CCR, y compris une nouvelle présidente, Loly Rico. Mme Rico est co-directrice du FCJ Refugee Centre à Toronto et prend la relève de Wanda Yamamoto, qui a quitté son poste de présidente plus tôt cette année.
 

« C'est un moment où les réfugiés – tant les demandeurs d’asile que les réfugiés réinstallés – doivent faire face à d'importantes nouvelles réalités au Canada », a déclaré Mme Rico. « Je m’engage à guider le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés dans sa lutte en faveur d’un traitement juste et honorable des réfugiés et des autres migrants vulnérables. »

Les résolutions adoptées par les membres du CCR sont disponibles à : ccrweb.ca/fr/resolutions-dec2012
 
Le rapport de la consultation sera bientôt disponible en ligne sous la rubrique Information récente à l'adresse: ccrweb.ca/fr/recent et ccrweb.ca/réunions
  1. Conclusions du Forum pancanadien sur la traite, Toronto

La protection des personnes ayant subi la traite au CanadaLa veille de la Consultation, le CCR a organisé un Forum pancanadien sur la traite des personnes. Le forum a permis aux organismes non-gouvernementaux à développer des recommandations à propos des politiques prioritaires et à échanger des idées et des stratégies pour répondre aux besoins des personnes ayant subi la traite au Canada. Un rapport sommaire du forum sera disponible bientôt à la page à propos de la traite des personnes du CCR à http://trafficking.ca et à la page des documents du CCR à http://ccrweb.ca/fr/documents.

Nous vous invitons aussi à consulter la base des données du CCR des ressources relatives à la traite des personnes à : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/ressources-traite.

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez contacter Samanta
García-Fialdini, coordinatrice du projet sur la traite du CCR : sgarcia@ccrweb.ca.