Canadian Council for Refugees E-Chronicle Vol. 7 #1, 4 April 2012 (Refugee Rights Day edition)

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

 

 

Current issue and campaign pages:

Rolling Back Refugee Protection: At what cost?

Conditional permanent residence proposal

Demand protections for migrant workers in Canada

Canada has work to do: Respect non-citizen children and youth rights

What We Want for Refugees: Four faces, four values

Upcoming CCR meetings in 2012:

Spring Consultation, Thursday, May 31 - Saturday, June 2, Fredericton

Fall Consultation, Thursday, November 29 - Saturday, December 1, Toronto

CONTENTS:

  1. Protecting Refugees from Bill C-31: Time to take action
  2. How will you mark Refugee Rights Day this April 4th?
  3. Conditional Permanent Residence: Increasing vulnerability and violence
  4. Sponsoring Parents and Grandparents: Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) wants to hear from you
  5. Participate in the CCR Spring Consultation, Fredericton, 31 May – 2 June

---

  1. Protecting Refugees from Bill C-31: Time to take action

No to Bill C-31On 16 February 2012, the government issued Bill C-31 to reform Canada’s refugee determination system.

Since our last update we’ve learned that the final session of debate in the House of Commons on second reading of the bill will not take place until after 22 April. MPs are on a break and likely to be in their ridings between 6 and 22 April. It’s a good time to speak with them or meet them in person, so the time to act is NOW. Members of Parliament (MPs), friends, neighbours, colleagues and other members of the public need to know why this new legislation is bad for refugees and bad for Canadian communities.

Contact your Member of Parliament

Thanks to everyone who has been contacting Members of Parliament and speaking out about how Bill C-31 fails refugees and Canadians. Please continue to do so. You’ll find resources to contact your MP with your concerns on Bill C-31 and encourage others to do the same at: http://ccrweb.ca/en/write-your-member-parliament

Already contacted your local Member of Parliament? Contact MPs on the Parliamentary Standing Committee who will be studying the bill after second reading. You'll find their contact details at: http://ccrweb.ca/sites/ccrweb.ca/files/cimm2012.xls.

Go Public: Talk about the impacts of Bill C-31 with neighbours, friends and others in your community

Demonstrating the human impacts of this bill is one of the best ways to speak out against it. Talk to friends about the potential impacts on individual refugee claimants. Show your opposition to the Bill in public demonstrations. Use individual stories when talking to the media. Each story, each case can convince others that Bill C-31 is a bad policy for refugees and for Canadians.

Speak out against Bill C-31 through social media networks

If you use Facebook and Twitter, use your social networks to take part in a 'Twitter Action Day' against Bill C-31 on Refugee Rights Day, this April 4th (and beyond). For more information on how to get involved (and for model tweets!), see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/social-media-c31

Background:

The CCR is seriously concerned that Bill C-31 will create a two-tier system of refugee protection in Canada. It makes refugee protection in Canada dangerously vulnerable to political whims, rather than ensuring a fair and independent decision about who is a refugee. It also includes costly measures to detain refugee claimants and to revoke the status of refugees who are now permanent residents.

Bill C-31 must be withdrawn and replaced with legislation which is fair, affordable, and independent, and which complies with the Charter and Canada’s international obligations.

Despite efforts by the opposition to make amendments to the bill, the government is determined to push it through Parliament quickly. It has presented a motion to limit debate on Bill C-31, which will see the bill voted on and sent to a parliamentary standing committee for study very soon.

For more information, and all of the resources listed above, see: http://ccrweb.ca/en/refugee-reform

  1. How will you mark Refugee Rights Day this April 4th?

Mark Refugee Rights Day this April 4th!April 4th is the anniversary of the Supreme Court’s 1985 Singh decision, an important milestone for refugee rights in Canada. In 2012, a number of issues affecting refugees are in the spotlight.  Refugee Rights Day is a good time to reflect on the Singh decision and what it means for refugees today. Join the CCR is upholding non-citizen children’s rights, protecting refugees from Bill C-31 and in speaking out for what you want for refugees in Canada.

Take action and help raise awareness of refugee rights in your community at a local event. Are you in Toronto? Calgary?  Kitchener-Waterloo?  Montreal?  Check for Refugee Rights Day events taking place near you.  Are you planning an event?  Share the news on the CCR’s calendar at: http://ccrweb.ca/en/events-calendar

Or take action as an individual. Speak out using social media this Refugee Rights Day: http://ccrweb.ca/en/social-media-c31

There’s no shortage of ways you can speak out for refugee rights in Canada this April 4th. For additional activities, ideas, videos and other resources, go to: http://ccrweb.ca/en/refugee-rights-day

  1. Conditional Permanent Residence: Increasing vulnerability and violence

Conditional Permanent Residence: Increasing vulnerability and violenceIn March 2012, the federal government announced a revised proposal to introduce a conditional permanent residence period for sponsored spouses. In March 2011, the government originally proposed a period of conditional permanent residence of two years or more for sponsored spouses and partners who have been in a relationship of two years or less with their sponsors. If the sponsored spouse or partner does not remain in a conjugal relationship and cohabitate with their sponsor during the conditional period, their permanent residence could be revoked, and they could be deported.

In response to concerns expressed about the vulnerability of sponsored partners in abusive relationships, the revised proposal states that “the proposed condition would cease to apply in instances where there is evidence of abuse or neglect, or of a failure to protect from abuse or neglect by a person related to the sponsor”. CIC is developing guidelines for this.

While the modifications to the original proposal are welcome, the CCR is concerned that the exemption for abused partners will not be effective, due to obstacles including:

  • barriers to access of information (about the exemption), including language barriers
  • the burden of proof is all on the abused partner to provide evidence of abuse and evidence that the partners lived together until being separated due to abuse
  • there are costs associated with providing such evidence, which would be an additional burden to the abused person

The new proposal is open for public input until April 9th and we encourage you and/or your organization to:

  • submit comments to: Caroline Riverin Beaulieu at Caroline.RiverinBeaulieu@cic.gc.ca
  • speak with your Member of Parliament (MP)
  • write to the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration

In your communications, please share or draw from the CCR’s document Conditional Permanent Residence: Increasing vulnerability and violence. It includes facts about the proposal, key concerns, and personal stories illustrating impacts on sponsored spouses in abusive relationships.

Visit http://ccrweb.ca/en/conditional-permanent-residence for more information.

  1. Sponsoring Parents and Grandparents: Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) wants to hear from you

The CCR will be responding to CIC’s online questionnaire as part of the "Stakeholder and Public Consultations on a Redesigned Parent and Grandparent Immigration Program". The CCR encourages other organizations and individuals to submit their feedback. The deadline is May 25th.

In the coming weeks, we will also be producing a resource outlining concerns and possible responses to this issue. Write to Marisa Berry Mendez at mberrymendez@ccrweb.ca with concerns, positions, and proposals for a redesigned parent and grandparent immigration programs in Canada.

Some of the questions being addressed by CIC are:

  • How should application intake be managed?
  • Should we try to ease the economic impact of parents and grandparents?
  • Should we redefine the eligibility of family members who accompany parents and grandparents?
  • Should we emphasize a commitment to Canada on the part of sponsors?
  • Should we focus on special needs or exceptional cases?

The CIC backgrounder lists some of the options being considered, including:

  • Lifetime sponsorship (to reduce/eliminate social assistance costs)
  • fees (similar to the $40,000 fee per person charged by Australia to some sponsored parents)
  • raising the minimum necessary income
  • Adopting the “balance of family test” where parents and grandparents must have at least half of their children residing permanently in Canada to be eligible for sponsorship
  • Restricting eligibility to sponsors who are Canadian citizens; currently permanent residents are eligible to sponsor their parents and grandparents.
  • Limiting the applications to “exceptional cases” by, for example, requiring that the parent or grandparent “be widowed or have other exceptional needs.”

As there will be some in-person consultations, you may want to contact CIC to find out whether there will be one in your area, in order to participate. At least one consultation has already taken place in Vancouver.
For more information see: http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/department/media/releases/2012/2012-03-23.asp

  1. Have you registered for the CCR Spring Consultation on Cent-sible Justice: Affordable solutions for refugees and immigrants?

Cent-sible Justic e: Affordable solutions for refugees and immigrantsThe CCR is holding its national Spring Consultation Cent-sible Justice: Affordable solutions for refugees and immigrants in Fredericton from 31 May to 2 June. Discussions will address issues relating to newcomer settlement and integration, refugee resettlement and refugee protection.

In addition to the theme of Cent-sible Justice, workshop topics include:

  • Bill C-31: Canada’s refugee protection system and recent changes
  • Monitoring mental health: settlement workers, emerging issues, and deportation
  • Spotlight on Syria
  • Focus on francophone communities: refugee sponsorship and integration services
  • Addressing the root causes of displacement
  • Youth issues and the Convention on the Rights of the Child

…and much more.  

Information and online registration are available at: ccrweb.ca/meetings Register now! The early registration deadline is 11 May 2012.

-----

Want to read this newsletter online? Go to: ccrweb.ca/en/chronicle

Looking for other ways to stay in touch with the CCR and refugee and immigration issues? Subscribe to receive updates from the CCR on Twitter and Facebook:

To join the CCR on Facebook: facebook.com/ccrweb
To follow the CCR on Twitter: twitter.com/ccrweb
To view CCR videos on YouTube: youtube.com/ccrwebvideos

Chronique du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés Vol. 7 no. 1, 4 avril 2012 – numéro de la Journée des droits des réfugiés

Version imprimableEnvoyer par courriel

Pages des campagnes et des enjeux actuels:

Projet de loi C-31 - Réduction de la protection des réfugiés : à quel prix?

Proposition de résidence permanente conditionnelle pour les conjoints parrainés

Exigez des protections pour les travailleurs migrants au Canada

Le Canada a du travail à faire : défendez les droits des enfants et des jeunes non-citoyens

Ce que nous voulons pour les réfugiés : quatre visages, quatre valeurs

Événements du CCR en 2012 :

Consultation du printemps, Jeudi, 31 mai - Samedi, 2 juin, Fredericton

Consultation d'automne, Jeudi, 29 novembre - Samedi, 1 décembre, Toronto

CONTENU :

  1. Protéger les réfugiés du projet de loi C-31 : il est maintenant le temps d’agir
  2. Comment marquerez-vous la Journée des droits des réfugiés le 4 avril?
  3. Résidence permanente conditionnelle : vers la vulnérabilité et la violence
  4. Le parrainage des parents et des grands-parents : Citoyenneté et immigration Canada (CIC) veut vos commentaires
  5. Vous êtes-vous déjà inscrits à la Consultation sur la Justice cents-ible : des solutions abordables pour les réfugiés et les immigrants?

-----

a) Protéger les réfugiés du projet de loi C-31 : il est maintenant le temps d’agir

Non au projet de loi C-31Le 16 février 2012, le gouvernement a déposé le projet de loi C-31 pour réformer le système de protection des réfugiés canadien.

Depuis notre dernier mis-à-jour, nous avons appris que la dernière session de débat à la Chambre des communes en deuxième lecture aura lieu après le 22 avril et les député-e-s seront dans leurs circonscriptions entre le 6 et le 22 avril. C'est alors MAINTENANT qu’il faut agir. Nos député-e-s, nos ami-e-s, nos voisin-e-s, nos collègues et les autres membres du grand public doivent apprendre la vérité sur ce projet de loi et ses impacts sur les demandeurs d'asile, les réfugiés et nos communautés.

Contactez votre député-e :

Merci à tout le monde qui communique avec les député-e-s et qui parlent publiquement de comment le projet de loi C-31 est injuste pour les réfugiés et nos communautés. Veuillez continuer à ce faire. Vous trouverez des ressources afin d’agir auprès de votre deputé-e contre le projet de loi C-31 au : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/ecrivez-votre-depute-e Encouragez vos proches et d'autres personnes à faire de même.

Avez-vous déjà contacté votre député-e? Nous vous encourageons aussi à contacter les députés sur le comité parlementaire qui examinera C-31 après sa deuxième lecture à la Chambre des communes.  Vous trouverez leurs coordonnées au : http://ccrweb.ca/sites/ccrweb.ca/files/cimm2012.xls

Agissez! : Discutez des impactes du projet de loi C-31 avec vos voisine-e-s, vos ami-e-s et d’autres personnes de votre communauté :

Démontrer les impactes humains de ce projet de loi, c’est une des meilleures façons de l’opposer. Parlez des impactes possibles sur les demandeurs d’asile à titre individuel. Démontrez votre opposition à ce projet de loi lors des manifestations publiques. Racontez des histoires des individus quand vous parlez aux médias. Chaque histoire, chaque cas peut servir à convaincre le monde que le projet de loi est une mauvaise politique autant pour les réfugiés que les Canadiens.

Parlez à vive voix contre le projet de loi C-31 dans vos réseaux de médias sociaux :

Si vous êtes adepte de Facebook et Twitter, participez à la 'Journée d'action Twitter' contre le projet de loi C-31 lors de la Journée des droits des réfugiés le 4 avril (et par la suite aussi). Pour plus de renseignements (et pour des tweets suggérés!), voir : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/medias-sociaux-c31

Contexte :

Le CCR se préoccupe gravement du fait que le projet de loi C-31 créera un système de protection des réfugiés canadien à deux vitesses. Il rendra la protection des réfugiés au Canada dangereusement vulnérable aux considérations politiques, plutôt que d’assurer une décision équitable et indépendante afin de décider qui est un réfugié. Le projet inclut aussi des mesures coûteuses pour détenir les demandeurs d’asile et révoquer le statut de certains réfugiés qui sont maintenant résidents permanents.

Le projet de loi C-31 doit être retiré et remplacé par une loi qui est équitable, abordable, indépendante et conforme à la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et aux obligations internationales du Canada.

Malgré les efforts des partis en opposition à faire adopter des amendements, le gouvernement veut voir le C-31 passé à travers la Chambre des communes rapidement. Le gouvernement a déposé une motion afin de limiter le débat sur le projet de loi C-31qui peut forcer un vote et à l’envoyer à un comité parlementaire pour une étude bientôt.

Pour plus de renseignements et pour passer à l’action, consultez : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/la-reforme-refugies

b) Comment marquerez-vous la Journée des droits des réfugiés le 4 avril?

Marquez la Journée des droits des réfugiés ce 4 avrilLe 4 avril marque l’anniversaire de l’arrêt Singh, un moment d’histoire important pour les droits des réfugiés au Canada. La Journée des droits des réfugiés nous présente un moment propice pour faire une réflexion sur son importance et sa signification pour les réfugiés. Joignez-vous au CCR en soutenant les droits des enfants non-citoyens, en protégeant des réfugiées du projet de loi C-31 et en parlant de ce que nous voulons pour les réfugiés au Canada.

Passez à l’action et faites la promotion des droits des réfugiés à un événement près de chez vous. Habitez-vous à Montréal?  Toronto? Kitchener-Waterloo?  Calgary?  Consultez le calendrier d’événements dans votre communauté. Planifiez-vous un événement pour marquer cet anniversaire?  Partagez les informations sur le calendrier du CCR : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/calendrier

Ou passez à l’action en tant qu’individu. Parlez à vive voix des droits des réfugiés sur les ondes des médias sociaux : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/medias-sociaux-c31

Joignez-vous aux autres qui observent cet anniversaire et qui reconnaissent les droits des réfugiés au Canada ce 4 avril. Consultez http://ccrweb.ca/fr/journee-droits-refugies pour des activités, des idées d’action, des vidéos et d'autres ressources.

Que ferez-vous en 2012 pour souligner la Journée des droits des réfugiés? Avez-vous déjà choisi un thème pour vos événements et vos activités?

Cette année les Nations Unies vérifieront si le Canada se conforme à ses obligations en vertu de la Convention sur les droits de l’enfant.

Joignez-vous au CCR et au Réseau des jeunes du CCR et soulevez les voix en faveur des droits des enfants et des jeunes sous le système d'immigration canadien. Choisissez Soutenir les droits des enfants non-citoyens comme thème de vos activités pour la Journée des droits des réfugiés.

Vous pouvez également souligner les impacts que le projet de loi C-31 aura sur les demandeurs d’asile, les réfugiés et nos communautés. Pour plus d’idées et d’autres renseignements sur des événements planifiés près de chez vous : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/la-reforme-refugies

Pour des mises à jour du CCR concernant la Journée des droits des réfugiés ce 4 avril, voir : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/journee-droits-refugies

Cherchez-vous plus d’informations à propos du thème de cette année? Consultez la page web du Réseau des jeunes : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/les-droits-des-jeunes/accueil

c) Résidence permanente conditionnelle : vers la vulnérabilité et la violence

Résidence permanente conditionnelleEn mars 2012, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé une révision à sa proposition de créer une période de résidence permanente « conditionnelle »  pour les conjoints parrainés. La proposition originale publiée en mars 2011  a suggéré la création d'une période de résidence permanente conditionnelle de deux ans ou plus pour les conjoints parrainés dont la relation avec le parrain dure depuis deux ans ou moins. Si le conjoint ne cohabite pas avec son parrain, ou ne reste pas dans une relation conjugale avec son parrain, sa résidence permanente pourrait être révoquée, et il/elle pourrait être déporté-e.

Afin de répondre aux préoccupations manifestées par rapport à l'augmentation de la vulnérabilité des conjoint-e-s parrainé-e-s, la nouvelle proposition dit que « la condition proposée cesserait de s’appliquer quand il y a des preuves de violence ou de négligence, ou d’omission de protéger contre la violence ou la négligence de la part d’un membre », et que CIC s’affaire à élaborer des directives à cet égard.

Bien que ces modifications sont les bienvenues, le CCR se préoccupe toujours que l'exemption pour des conjoint-e-s abusé-e-s ne sera pas efficace, à cause des obstacles tels:

  • des barrières à l'accès à l'information (par rapport à l'exemption), incluant des barrières linguistiques
  • la charge de la preuve par rapport à l'abus, qui est sur le ou la conjoint-e abusé-e
  • des frais associés à l'apport des preuves requis, qui font un fardeau additionnel pour la personne abusée

La proposition révisée est ouverte aux commentaires jusqu'au 9 avril. Nous vous encourageons  (ou votre organisation) à :

Dans vos communications, nous vous encourageons à partager et à tirer des exemples du nouveau document du CCR Résidence permanente conditionnelle : vers la vulnérabilité et la violence. Il comprend des informations sur cette proposition, des préoccupations majeures et des  histoires qui illustrent l'impact que la mesure portera sur des conjoints parrainés qui se trouvent dans des relations abusives.

Pour plus d’informations : http://ccrweb.ca/fr/proposition-residence-permanente-conditionnelle

d) Le parrainage des parents et des grands-parents : Citoyenneté et immigration Canada (CIC) veut vos commentaires

Le CCR répondra à un sondage en ligne en lien avec des « Consultations auprès des intervenants et de la population sur la restructuration du programme d’immigration des parents et des grands-parents ». Nous encourageons les organismes et les individus à soumettre leurs avis. La date limite est le 25 mai.

Dans les semaines à venir, le CCR produira un résumé des commentaires, des options et des préoccupations liés à cet enjeu. Le CCR aimerait recueillir vos commentaires pour guider sa réponse. Veuillez écrire à Marisa Berry Mendez au mberrymendez@ccrweb.ca avec vos commentaires, vos positions et vos propositions pour « la restructuration du Programme d’immigration des parents et grands-parents du Canada ».

Quelques-unes des questions que CIC vise à aborder sont :

  • De quelle façon devrait?on gérer la réception des demandes?
  • Devrions?nous essayer d’atténuer l’impact économique des parents et des grands-parents?
  • Devrions?nous redéfinir l’admissibilité des membres de la famille qui accompagnent les parents et les grands-parents?
  • Devrions?nous insister sur l’attachement au Canada des répondants?
  • Devrions?nous mettre l’accent sur les besoins spéciaux et les situations exceptionnelles?

Le document d'information fourni par CIC fait la liste des options en considération, y compris :

  • Le parrainage permanent (afin de réduire/éliminer les coûtes de l'aide sociale)
  • Droits (à l’exemple des droits d’environ 40 000 $ par personne réclamés par l’Australie à certains parents parrainés)
  • Haussement du revenu vital minimum des parrains
  • « Critère du reste de la famille », qui exigerait qu’au moins la moitié ou la majorité des enfants des parents ou grands-parents habitent en permanence au Canada pour qu'ils puissent être parrainés
  • Limiter le parrainage de parents et de grands-parents aux répondants 'qui ont démontré leur attachement au Canada" en obtenant la citoyenneté canadienne
  • Limiter l’entrée à ceux qui satisfont aux critères d’une "situation exceptionnelle" et qui nécessitent la prise en compte de circonstances d’ordre humanitaire

Puisqu'il y aura des sessions ouvertes au public dans plusieurs villes, vous pouvez également contacter le CIC afin de savoir s'il y en aura dans votre ville, pour y participer. Une première consultation a déjà eu lieu à Vancouver.
Pour plus d’informations, voir : http://www.cic.gc.ca/francais/ministere/media/communiques/2012/2012-03-23.asp

e) Vous êtes-vous déjà inscrits à la Consultation sur la Justice cents-ible : des solutions abordables pour les réfugiés et les immigrants?

Justice cents-ible : des solutions abordables pour les réfugiés et les immigrantsDu 31 mai au 2 juin 2012, à Fredericton, le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés tiendra une consultation pancanadienne sur le thème de la Justice cents-ible : des solutions abordables pour les réfugiés et les immigrants. Nous aborderons les enjeux dans les domaines de l’accueil et l’intégration des nouveaux arrivants et la réinstallation et la protection des réfugiés.

En plus du thème Justice cents-ible, les ateliers de la Consultation aborderont des sujets tels que :

  • Le projet de loi C-31 : le système de protection des réfugiés au Canada et des changements récents
  • Surveiller la santé mentale : des travailleurs en établissement, des questions émergentes et la déportation
  • La Syrie : mise en vedette
  • L’accent sur les communautés francophones : le parrainage des réfugiés et les services en intégration
  • S’attaquer aux causes premières des déplacements
  • Des enjeux jeunesse et la Convention des droits de l’enfant

...et beaucoup plus

Plus d’informations et l’inscription en ligne sont disponibles à ccrweb.ca/reunions Inscrivez-vous dès maintenant et avant le 11 mai 2012 pour profiter des frais réduits.

-----

Voulez-vous lire ce bulletin en ligne? Voir : ccrweb.ca/fr/chronique
Vous cherchez d’autres moyens de rester en contact avec le CCR et les enjeux touchant les réfugiés et les immigrants? Abonnez-vous aux mises à jour du CCR sur Twitter et Facebook:

Pour joindre le CCR sur Facebook : http://facebook.com/ccrweb
Pour joindre le CCR sur Twitter : http://twitter.com/ccrweb
Pour voir des vidéos du CCR sur YouTube : http://www.youtube.com/ccrwebvideos