Honouring Refugee Rights: CCR Spring Consultation on 60th anniversary of the Refugee Convention

Printer-friendly versionSend by email
Canadian Council for Refugees
Media Advisory

For Immediate Release

Canadian Council for Refugees Spring Consultation

‘Honouring Refugee Rights: 60th anniversary of the Refugee Convention’

18 May 2011 - Members of the media are invited to a national consultation on refugee and immigration issues taking place in Hamilton from 26-28 May 2011.  The theme of the Consultation is ‘Honouring Refugee Rights: 60th anniversary of the Refugee Convention’.

Consultation sessions will include themes such as:

  • Canada’s compliance with the Refugee Convention
  • Sponsoring LGBTQ refugees
  • Economic exploitation of migrant workers
  • Responding to the needs of trafficked persons
  • Changing the national narrative on immigration, integration and inclusion
  • The impacts of lost or mistaken identity documents for youth
  • Settlement services for French speakers

...and many more

 

The CCR Consultation will bring together leaders in the promotion of refugee and immigrant rights from across Canada and this is an opportunity to meet them.  Participants will include senior representatives of local and national refugee and immigrant-serving organizations, representatives of faith-based organizations, government representatives, academics, lawyers, youth activists and refugees.

 

Most of the Consultation sessions are open to the media and we encourage media representatives to contact us beforehand to discuss what you would like to cover.  Please check in at the CCR registration desk on site.  Opportunities will be available to interview participants.

 

The consultation is made possible through funding from Citizenship and Immigration Canada.

 

When: 26 - 28 May 2011

Location: Crown Plaza Hamilton, 150 King Street East, Hamilton

Consultation program, workshop descriptions and other details: available at ccrweb.ca/meetings

 

Contact:

 

Colleen French, Communications and Networking Co-ordinator, tel. (514) 277-7223 ext. 1 (on or before 25 May), (514) 476-3971 (cell phone from 25-28 May), email: cfrench@ccrweb.ca

 

The Canadian Council for Refugees is a non-profit umbrella organization committed to the rights and protection of refugees in Canada and around the world and to the settlement of refugees and immigrants in Canada. The membership is made up of over 180 organizations involved in refugee sponsorship and protection and in newcomer settlement. The CCR serves the networking, information-exchange and advocacy needs of its membership.

Consultation du printemps du CCR sur le 60e anniversaire de la Convention sur les réfugiés

Version imprimable
Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés
Avis aux médias

Pour diffusion immédiate

La Consultation du printemps du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés

‘Les droits des réfugiés à l’honneur : 60 ans de la Convention sur les réfugiés’

18 mai 2011 – Les membres des médias sont invités à une consultation pancanadienne sur les enjeux touchant les réfugiés et les immigrants à Hamilton du 26 au 28 mai 2011.  Le thème de la Consultation est ‘Les droits des réfugiés à l’honneur : 60 ans de la Convention sur les réfugiés’.

Parmi les ateliers proposés, notons:

  • Les services francophones en établissement et en intégration
  • La Convention sur les réfugiés : le Canada s’y conforme-t-il?
  • L’exploitation économique des travailleurs migrants
  • Comment répondre aux personnes ayant subi la traite
  • Le parrainage des réfugiés LGBTQ
  • Changer le discours sur l’immigration, l’intégration et l’inclusion
  • L’impact des documents d’identité perdus ou fautifs sur les jeunes

...ainsi que beaucoup d’autres

La Consultation du CCR rassemblera des leaders dans le domaine de la promotion des droits des réfugiés et des immigrants provenant de tout le Canada. Il s’agit donc d’une occasion de les rencontrer. Parmi les participants, au niveau local et national, on retrouve des représentants seniors d’organismes au service des réfugiés et des immigrants, des représentants d’organismes confessionnels, des représentants du gouvernement, des universitaires, des avocats, des jeunes militants, et des réfugiés. 

La plupart des sessions de la Consultation sont ouvertes aux médias et nous encourageons les représentants des medias à nous contacter à l’avance pour discuter des sujets qu’ils veulent couvrir, et à s’inscrire à la table du CCR sur le site. Il sera possible de faire des entrevues avec certains participants.

La consultation est rendue possible grâce à un financement de la part de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.

Date : du 26 au 28 mai 2011

Lieu : Crowne Plaza Hotel, 150 King Street East, Hamilton

Programme de la Consultation, des descriptions des ateliers et d’autres détails: Disponible sur le site Internet du CCR à : ccrweb.ca/reunions

Contact :

Colleen French, Coordonnatrice de la communication et du réseautage, tel. (514) 277-7223 poste 1 (avant le 25 mai) ; (514) 476-3971 (du 25 au 28 mai), courriel : cfrench@ccrweb.ca

Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés est un organisme de regroupement sans but lucratif qui se voue à la défense des droits et à la protection des réfugiés au Canada et dans le monde, et à l'établissement des réfugiés et des immigrants au Canada.Ses plus de 180 membres sont des organismes impliqués dans le parrainage et la protection des réfugiés et dans l’établissement des nouveaux arrivants. Le CCR est au service de ses membres pour leurs besoins en matière d'échange d'informations et d'expériences et de défense des droits.